skip navigation

Girls & Women

Girls and Women's Hockey

USA Hockey has nurtured the growth of female hockey since the 1970s, and today, girls hockey is among the fastest-growing youth sports in the United States. In the 2018-19 season, more girls and women participated in ice hockey than ever before with nearly 83,000 lacing up the skates. Over the past 10 years, girls and women's hockey participation has grown by 34%.


Girls National Championships

The 2021 Chipotle-USA Hockey Girls National Championships culminated in several champions being crowned on Monday, May 3. 

Girls Tier I
14U: Chicago Mission (IL)
16U: Detroit Little Caesars (MI)
19U: Chicago Mission (IL)

Girls Tier II
14U 1A: Detroit Honeybaked (MI)
14U 2A: Assabet Valley (MA)
16U 1A: RM Lady Roughriders (CO)
16U 2A: Minnesota Prep Orange (MN)
19U 1A: MCYH Edge (NY)
19U 2A: Minnesota Prep Black (MN)

Girls and Women's Hockey News

Gould has served as USA Hockey’s Girls/Women’s Section Director since 2015

Try Hockey for Free Helps Build Family Legacies

By Stephen Kerr 11/02/2021, 9:15am MDT

A Try Hockey event is frequently the first step in a lifetime love of the game

Endowment was founded by the Two-time Olympian and Wisconsin native in 2018.

Joanna Nagle excited to use her platform to grow the game

Senior at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota was also a finalist last season

Moore joined the league as vice president, hockey operations in February

Game On: Empowering Women in Hockey Together Concludes

By USA Hockey 02/26/2021, 6:30pm MST

Final day of summit included panel discussions and breakout sessions

Day One of Game On: Empowering Women in Hockey Together

By USA Hockey 02/20/2021, 7:30am MST

Seven influential speakers, more than 220 attendees, and one goal to grow the game



Resources & Downloads


Girls Hockey Contacts

Name District Phone Email
Don Gould Girls/Women's Section Director 908-528-6903 don.gould@cdjcon.com
Kristen Wright Staff Liaison 719-538-1518 kristenw@usahockey.org
Pete Rothman Atlantic 610-721-4378 pete@rothmancpa.com
Andy Bradford Central 920-676-8812 abradford@depere.k12.wi.us
Mark Lissner Massachusetts 781-910-9311 mlissner@mahockey.org
Jean Laxton Michigan 616-560-4419 2skaters1@msn.com
Ladd Wagner Mid-American 717-860-5881 lwagner@midamhockey.com
Doug Foster Minnesota 612-281-5732 dougfoster@mwpsales.com
Bill Leidt New England 860-575-9105 bill.leidt@gmail.com
Joe Eppolito New York District 315-783-1958 joe.eppolito@nysaha.com
Bob Gillen Northern Plains 701-740-5649 bgillen33@gmail.com
Kathy McGarrigle Pacific 714-342-7347 kathymc.pacificgw@gmail.com
Geoff Pashkowski Rocky Mountain 602-376-6722 pashkowskig@gmail.com
Jane Solverson Southeastern 407-252-8818 jsolverson@aol.com
Julie Chu Athlete Director
Kendall Coyne Schofield Athlete Director
Meghan Duggan Athlete Director

Youth Hockey News

  • Total Training

  • By Jessi Pierce - Special to USAHockey.com 11/29/2021, 4:00pm MST
  • Q&A with Brian Gallivan, USA Hockey Director of Sports Science
  • Read More