skip navigation

Girls & Women

Girls and Women's Hockey

USA Hockey has nurtured the growth of female hockey since the 1970s, and today, girls hockey is among the fastest-growing youth sports in the United States. In the 2018-19 season, more girls and women participated in ice hockey than ever before with nearly 83,000 lacing up the skates. Over the past 10 years, girls and women's hockey participation has grown by 34%.


2020 Girls Hockey Weekend

USA Hockey hosted Girls Hockey Weekend October 17-18, 2020, in an effort to grow the game and celebrate female players from coast to coast. Learn more about how players from all over the United States joined the celebration throughout the weekend here

Girls and Women's Hockey News

USA Hockey Hosts 8th Annual Girls Hockey Weekend

By USA Hockey 10/15/2020, 1:45pm MDT

Celebration for girls’ hockey will happen across the U.S. on October 17 and 18

Join in on the 8th Annual Girls Hockey Weekend

By USA Hockey 10/13/2020, 2:00pm MDT

On October 17 and 18, celebrate girls hockey players while continuing to help grow the game

Hockey is Back at Mississippi's Mid-South Ice House

By Greg Bates 09/24/2020, 3:00pm MDT

Building has come back to life since reopening in August

Lynn Olson To Receive 2020 Lester Patrick Trophy

By USA Hockey 09/24/2020, 9:00am MDT

Olson will be honored at the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Celebration in December 2021



Resources & Downloads


Girls Hockey Contacts

Name District Phone Email
Don Gould Girls/Women's Section Director 908-528-6903 don.gould@cdjcon.com
Kristen Wright Staff Liaison 719-538-1518 kristenw@usahockey.org
Pete Rothman Atlantic 610-721-4378 pete@rothmancpa.com
Andy Bradford Central 920-676-8812 abradford@depere.k12.wi.us
Mark Lissner Massachusetts 781-910-9311 mlissner@mahockey.org
Jean Laxton Michigan 616-560-4419 2skaters1@msn.com
Ladd Wagner Mid-American 717-860-5881 lwagner@midamhockey.com
Doug Foster Minnesota 612-281-5732 dougfoster@mwpsales.com
Bill Leidt New England 860-575-9105 bill.leidt@gmail.com
Joe Eppolito New York District 315-783-1958 joe.eppolito@nysaha.com
Bob Gillen Northern Plains 701-740-5649 bgillen33@gmail.com
Kathy McGarrigle Pacific 714-342-7347 kathymc.pacificgw@gmail.com
Geoff Pashkowski Rocky Mountain 602-376-6722 pashkowskig@gmail.com
Jane Solverson Southeastern 407-252-8818 jsolverson@aol.com
Julie Chu Athlete Director
Kendall Coyne Schofield Athlete Director
Meghan Duggan Athlete Director

Youth Hockey News