skip navigation

Girls & Women

Girls and Women's Hockey

USA Hockey has nurtured the growth of female hockey since the 1970s, and today, girls hockey is among the fastest-growing youth sports in the United States. In the 2018-19 season, more girls and women participated in ice hockey than ever before with nearly 83,000 lacing up the skates. Over the past 10 years, girls and women's hockey participation has grown by 34%.


Virtual Leadership Conference

USA Hockey is hosting a virtual leadership conference entitled Game On: Empowering Women in Hockey Together on Friday, Feb. 19 and Friday, Feb. 26. Building off the inaugural event that took place in Anaheim, Calif., in February 2020, the 2021 conference is intended for current and future leaders in youth hockey and will provide attendees an introspective look at how leadership can develop positive team dynamics and skills to apply at the grassroots level.

Time for the conference on both days is from 3:00-6:30 p.m. ET. To register for the 2021 event, click here. Please note, registration is limited and on a first-come, first-serve basis.

Girls and Women's Hockey News

Moore joined the league as vice president, hockey operations in February

Game On: Empowering Women in Hockey Together Concludes

By USA Hockey 02/26/2021, 6:30pm MST

Final day of summit included panel discussions and breakout sessions

Day One of Game On: Empowering Women in Hockey Together

By USA Hockey 02/20/2021, 7:30am MST

Seven influential speakers, more than 220 attendees, and one goal to grow the game

Updates to 2021-22 Tryout Start Dates

By USA Hockey 02/11/2021, 4:00pm MST

Changes follow Chipotle-USA Hockey National Championships dates

Hirshland, Baird, Cohig, Tappen & Olympians Granato, Ruggiero, Chu Among Featured Speakers

NWHL Places Season Hopes Inside A Bubble

By Harry Thompson, Editor-In-Chief, USA Hockey Magazine 01/21/2021, 12:20pm MST

Isobel Cup Semifinals (Feb. 4) and Final (Feb. 5) will be broadcast live on NBCSN

Abby Roque Represents Native American Culture With Pride

By Dan Scifo 01/07/2021, 11:15am MST

Michigan native grew up as part of the Wahnapitae First Nation community

Enter The Future Goals Virtual Science Fair

By USA Hockey 01/06/2021, 11:45am MST

Use your STEM skills and you could win big with the NHL and NHLPA



Resources & Downloads


Girls Hockey Contacts

Name District Phone Email
Don Gould Girls/Women's Section Director 908-528-6903 don.gould@cdjcon.com
Kristen Wright Staff Liaison 719-538-1518 kristenw@usahockey.org
Pete Rothman Atlantic 610-721-4378 pete@rothmancpa.com
Andy Bradford Central 920-676-8812 abradford@depere.k12.wi.us
Mark Lissner Massachusetts 781-910-9311 mlissner@mahockey.org
Jean Laxton Michigan 616-560-4419 2skaters1@msn.com
Ladd Wagner Mid-American 717-860-5881 lwagner@midamhockey.com
Doug Foster Minnesota 612-281-5732 dougfoster@mwpsales.com
Bill Leidt New England 860-575-9105 bill.leidt@gmail.com
Joe Eppolito New York District 315-783-1958 joe.eppolito@nysaha.com
Bob Gillen Northern Plains 701-740-5649 bgillen33@gmail.com
Kathy McGarrigle Pacific 714-342-7347 kathymc.pacificgw@gmail.com
Geoff Pashkowski Rocky Mountain 602-376-6722 pashkowskig@gmail.com
Jane Solverson Southeastern 407-252-8818 jsolverson@aol.com
Julie Chu Athlete Director
Kendall Coyne Schofield Athlete Director
Meghan Duggan Athlete Director

Youth Hockey News