skip navigation

Sled Hockey Classic, Presented by the National Hockey League

About The Tournament

First staged in 2010, the USA Hockey Sled Classic is an annual round-robin format tournament between NHL-affiliated sled hockey teams. Participating teams in the tournament must have an official affiliation with an NHL member club and must represent their affiliated NHL club by wearing official NHL licensed jerseys with local club marks and logos.

Last year, the event featured a record 28 teams that competed in five divisions as the event took place in Plymouth, Minn., with the Minnesota Wild serving as hosts.  The Chicago Blackhawks program claimed both the Tier I and Tier V divisions while the Pittsburgh Penguins were crowned Tier II champions, the Edmonton Oilers won the Tier III division and the Colorado Avalanche claimed the Tier IV division.

The 2018-19 USA Hockey Sled Classic, presented by the NHL, will be hosted by the Chicago Blackhawks in Chicago. The ninth edition of the event will take place Feb. 7-10, 2019, at MB Ice Arena, the practice facility and community rink of the Blackhawks.

2019 Sled Classic

Past Sled Classics

Year Host NHL Team Champion(s) (Division)
2017 Minnesota Wild Chicago Blackhawks (Tier I)
Pittsburgh Penguins (Tier II)
Edmonton Oilers (Tier III)
Colorado Avalanche (Tier IV)
Chicago Blackhawks (Tier V)
2016 Nashville Predators Colorado Avalanche (Tier I)
Pittsburgh Penguins (Tier II)
Nashville Predators (Tier III)
Colorado Avalanche (Tier IV)
Carolina Hurricanes (Tier V)
2015 Florida Panthers Florida Panthers (Tier I)
Columbus Blue Jackets (Tier II)
Arizona Coyotes (Tier III)
Buffalo Sabres (Tier IV)
2014 Washington Capitals Chicago Blackhawks (Tier I)
Philadelphia Flyers (Tier II)
Minnesota Wild (Tier III)
2013 Pittsburgh Penguins Buffalo Sabres (A)
Washington Capitals (B)
Nashville Predators (C)
2012 Buffalo Sabres Dallas Stars (A)
Washington Capitals (B)
2011 Philadelphia Flyers Buffalo Sabres
2010 Colorado Avalanche Colorado Avalanche

2017 Sled Classic

2016 Sled Classic

Hosted by the Nashville Predators

2015 Sled Classic

Hosted by the Florida Panthers

2014 Sled Classic

Hosted by the Washington Capitals

2013 Sled Classic

Hosted by the Pittsburgh Penguins

Sled Classic News

Ninth Annual Four-Day Event To Be Held Feb. 7-10 At MB Ice Arena