skip navigation


The fundamental purpose of a District Officiating Seminar is to bring the essentials of the USA Hockey National Development Program to local areas throughout the country. The DOS programs are targeted at officials with 2 - 3 years (or more) of experience at the grassroots level and possess an internal drive to constantly improve.

For some officials, the DOS Program serves as a springboard to advanced opportunities such as State and District Playoffs, USA Hockey National Tournaments, District Development Programs and Summer Development Camps.

For other officials, the DOS Program is a chance to dedicate themselves to a unique weekend of development, education and networking with other officials from around their district.

The seminar will feature both classroom and on-ice sessions that focus on both the basic fundamentals of USA Hockey Officiating and advanced techniques used by officials at higher levels.


  • Classroom
  • Ice Session
  • Lunch Break
  • Classroom
  • Ice Session
  • Classroom

All Level 2 and Level 3 applicant USA Hockey Officials are invited to attend. However, a minimum of 2 - 3 years of experience is preferred.

Attendance at this seminar will satisfy the USA Hockey Officiating Program's annual local classroom seminar attendance requirement for Level 2 and Level 3 Officials. The L2 and L3 Closed Book Exams will be administered as part of the seminar program.

NOTE 2: Participants are not required to take their Closed Book Exam at the DOS program. They may attend another local seminar to complete classroom seminar and Closed Book Exam requirements.

You must be a completely registered USA Hockey Official to attend this program.

There is a $50.00 per person registration fee to attend this program.

Cost includes all ice time, classroom facility rental, coordination of instruction, and program supplies and handouts. The registration fee is nonrefundable except in cases of injury or illness and the participant notifies their District Referee-in-Chief or USAH National Office Staff seven (7) days in advance of the program.

This fee does not count toward the annual USA Hockey Membership Registration fee.

Instructors will be selected by the USA Hockey Officiating Program.  Primary instructors will include top American officials who officiate at the highest levels of the game including,

  • International Ice Hockey Federation
  • National Hockey League
  • American Hockey League
  • NCAA Division I

Additional staff may be selected from top instructors in the host and adjoining districts.


PACIFIC Las Vegas, NV August 21 - 22, 2021 USA Hockey Courses
NORTHERN PLAINS Minot, ND September 18 - 19, 2021 USA Hockey Courses
NEW ENGLAND Hamden, CT TBD USA Hockey Courses

Registration for these programs is offered in the USA Hockey Courses system. Please sign into your profile and use the District and/or State search features to find these courses and register.


Charleston, SC   -   August 3-4, 2019

Kelly Cooke  -  Brighton, MA   (NCAA & NWHL)
Jud Ritter  -  Bethlehem, PA   (AHL & ECHL)
Jerry Folk  -  Summerville, SC   (USA Hockey)
Jim Dewhirst  -  Decatur, TN  (USA Hockey)
BJ Ringrose  -  Colorado Springs, CO  (USA Hockey)

Michael Adams  -  Midlothian, VA
John Barrett  -  Charlotte, NC
Steven Barton  -  Summerville, SC
Michael Cuggy  -  Summerville, SC
Jordan Johnson  -  N. Chesterfield, VA
Garrett Jones  -  Raleigh, NC
Maris Lazdins  -  Columbia, SC
Christopher Lenz  -  Goose Creek, SC
Jeff Morrison  -  Holly Ridge, NC
Hale Musgrove  -  Fort Mill, SC
Michael Norris  -  Winnsboro, SC
Zach Pettit  -  Midlothian, VA
Patrick Quarry  -  Cary, NC
Robert Ryan  -  Leland, NC
Daniel Sardegna  -  Clearwater, FL
Scott Schmidt  -  Bowie, MD
Christopher Shiflett  -  Chesterfield, VA
Matthew Smith  -  Summerville, SC
Parker Wells  -  Germantown, TN
Levonne Young  -  Hampton, VA

Salt Lake City, UT   -   August 10-11, 2019

Daniel Dreger  -  Denver, CO   (NCAA)
Jenna Janshen  -  Miles City, MT   (NWHL & NA3HL)
Chris Smith  -  Bluffdale, UT   (USA Hockey)
Ken Reinhard  -  Fort Worth, TX   (USA Hockey)
BJ Ringrose  -  Colorado Springs, CO   (USA Hockey)

Thomas Almeida  -  Denver, CO
Nolan Carpenter  -  Salt Lake City, UT
Richard Cota  -  Cerritos, CA
Joseph Edwards  -  West Jordan, UT
Zev Glass  -  Salt Lake City, UT
David Guimont  -  Bedford, NH
Zachary Gunderson  -  Magna, UT
Paul Harms  -  Whitefish, MT
Michael Hoban  -  Stansbury Park, UT
James Karlin  -  West Jordan, UT
Jared Karlin  -  West Jordan, UT
Henry Kuwahara  -  Salt Lake City, UT
Koby Leidholt  -  Bozeman, MT
Leslie Lowe  -  Whitefish, MT
William Miller  -  Murray, UT
Collin Morrill  -  West Haven, UT
Matthew Orr  -  Salt Lake City, UT
Stephen Picano  -  Salt Lake City, UT
Joseph Romero  -  Salt Lake City, UT
Jacob Smith  -  West Jordan, UT
Robert Taylor  -  El Paso, TX
Luke Terrill  -  West Jordan, UT
Austin Vanamen  -  Herriman, UT
Michael Vuich  -  West Jordan, UT
Taylor Wakefield  -  Orem, UT
Randall Wise  -  Sandy, UT

Oxford, OH   -   August 17-18, 2019

Mackenzie Welter  -  Rome, NY   (NCAA & NWHL)
Patrick Richardson  -  Dowagiac, MI   (AHL & ECHL)
Ken Handley  -  Cincinnati, OH   (USA Hockey)
BJ Ringrose  -  Colorado Springs, CO  (USA Hockey)

Eli Cagle  -  Cincinnati, OH
Frank Crowell  -  Thornville, OH
Joey Furuya  -  Oakland, MI
Spenser Greene  -  Lake Waynoka, OH
Thomas Harber  -  Fort Wayne, IN
Alec Lessner  -  Ann Arbor, MI
Nicholas Morelli  -  Chalfont, PA
Drew Morgan  -  Beavercreek, OH
David Pfeil  -  Maineville, OH
Jack Sabo  -  Bridgeville, PA
James Schwinne  -  Grove City, OH
Brian Siuda  -  Cincinnati, OH
Tyler Siuda  -  Cincinnati, OH
Logan Smith  -  Brighton, MI
Thomas Smith  -  Brighton, MI
Michael Snider  -  Springboro, OH
Trevor Tiemeyer  -  Mason, OH
Andrew Walter  -  Dublin, OH
Leon Walts  -  Dayton, OH
Nic Watson  -  Newark, OH
Andrew Webb  -  Florence, KY
Nathan Wilkie  -  N. Olmsted, OH
Jacob Wocks  -  Cincinnati, OH

Officiating News

  • A National View

  • By Brian Halverson 02/18/2021, 11:30am MST
  • Officials share their national tournament experience
  • Read More