skip navigation


The fundamental purpose of a District Officiating Seminar is to bring the essentials of the USA Hockey National Development Program to local areas throughout the country. The DOS programs are targeted at officials with 2 - 3 years (or more) of experience at the grassroots level and possess an internal drive to constantly improve.

For some officials, the DOS Program serves as a springboard to advanced opportunities such as State and District Playoffs, USA Hockey National Tournaments, District Development Programs and Summer Development Camps.

For other officials, the DOS Program is a chance to dedicate themselves to a unique weekend of development, education and networking with other officials from around their district.

The seminar will feature both classroom and on-ice sessions that focus on both the basic fundamentals of USA Hockey Officiating and advanced techniques used by officials at higher levels.


  • Classroom
  • Ice Session
  • Lunch Break
  • Classroom
  • Ice Session
  • Classroom

All Level 2 and Level 3 applicant USA Hockey Officials are invited to attend. However, a minimum of 2 - 3 years of experience is preferred.

Attendance at this seminar will satisfy the USA Hockey Officiating Program's annual local classroom seminar attendance requirement for Level 2 and Level 3 Officials. The L2 and L3 Closed Book Exams will be administered as part of the seminar program.

NOTE 2: Participants are not required to take their Closed Book Exam at the DOS program. They may attend another local seminar to complete classroom seminar and Closed Book Exam requirements.

You must be a completely registered USA Hockey Official to attend this program.

There is a $50.00 per person registration fee to attend this program.

Cost includes all ice time, classroom facility rental, coordination of instruction, and program supplies and handouts. The registration fee is nonrefundable except in cases of injury or illness and the participant notifies their District Referee-in-Chief or USAH National Office Staff seven (7) days in advance of the program.

This fee does not count toward the annual USA Hockey Membership Registration fee.

Instructors will be selected by the USA Hockey Officiating Program.  Primary instructors will include top American officials who officiate at the highest levels of the game including,

  • International Ice Hockey Federation
  • Premier Hockey Federation
  • American Hockey League
  • NCAA Division I

Additional staff may be selected from top instructors in the host and adjoining districts.


SOUTHEASTERN Huntsville, AL August 13 - 14, 2022 CLOSED
MID-AMERICAN Columbus, OH August 20 - 21, 2022 CLOSED
MINNESOTA Duluth, MN September 10 - 11, 2022 CLOSED

Registration for these programs is offered in the USA Hockey Courses system. Please sign into your profile and use the District and/or State search features to find these courses and register.


Huntsville, AL   -   August 13-14, 2022

Brion Au  -  Madison, AL   (USA Hockey)
Ken Radolinski  -  Sugar Hill, GA   (AHL & ECHL)
Melissa Szkola  -  St. Clair Shores, MI   (IIHF)
Jim Dewhirst  -  Decatur, TN  (Southeastern District Referee-in-Chief)
Matt Leaf  -  Colorado Springs, CO  (USA Hockey National Staff)

Jackson Baggett  -  Cullman, AL
William Biesanz  -  Madison, AL
Michael Brown  -  Huntsville, AL
Earl Campbell  -  Huntsville, AL
Will Caputo  -  Huntsville, AL
Drew Chapman  -  Murfreesboro, TN
Alexander Chevillot  -  Riverview, FL
Brandon Chrostowski  -  Cleveland, OH
Seven Cooper  -  Huntsville, AL
Rylee Dupree  -  Huntsville, AL
James Gately  -  Nashville, TN
Andrey Gerasimov  -  Bristol, TN
Justin Griffin  -  Nashville, TN
Colton Hagan  -  Huntsville, AL
James Aloysius Hogan  -  Chevy Chase, MD
Jeffrey Marcinek  -  Ooltewah, TN

Gregory Meisser  -  Madison, AL
Matthew Mitarotondo  -  Nolensville, TN

Zachary Nobrega  -  Madison, AL
Hayden Sisco  -  Smyrna, TN
Joe Zito  -  Arab, AL

Columbus, OH   -   August 20-21, 2022

Chris Binkley  -  Canal Winchester, OH   (USA Hockey)
Jenna Janshen  -  Miles City, MT   (IIHF & NA3HL)
Jason Lortie  -  Fort Myers, FL   (ECHL)
David LaBuda  -  Chicago, IL  (USA Hockey National Staff)

Joseph Bechtel  -  Marble Cliff, OH
Daniel Binzel  -  Columbus, OH

Scot Blair  -  Elkheart, IN
Garrett Bodnovich  -  North Royalton, OH
Nicholas Brown  -  Cincinnati, OH
Camron Cotton  -  Evansville, IN
Paul Dejarnett  -  Payne, OH

Nick Doud  -  Florence, KY
Addyson Eckstein  -  Hilliard, OH
Thomas Forbes  -  Poland, OH
Thomas Giles  -  Blacklick, OH
David Gorgias  -  Reynoldsburg, OH
Christopher Hartman  -  Columbus, OH
Kevin Hoyle  -  Pickerington, OH
Anthony Hoyles  -  Thornville, OH
Aaron Kozickie  -  Brooklyn, OH
Ryan Kristoff  -  Cleveland, OH
Victor Levasseur  -  Akron, OH
Hans Morscher  -  Rocky River, OH
Cory Mott  -  Cuyahoga, OH
Andrew Newton  -  Sunbury, OH
Wade Parsons  -  Charleston, WV
Chris Rahel  -  Solon, OH
Santo Scillia  -  Westerville, OH
Nathaniel Shemo  -  Erie, PA
Brian Siuda  -  Cincinnati, OH
Tyler Siuda  -  Cincinnati, OH
Ian Stegmaier  -  West Chester, OH

Duluth, MN   -   September 10-11, 2022

Nick Biondich  -  Hermantown, MN   (NCAA)
Tyler Loftus  -  Duryea, PA   (AHL & NCAA)
Laura White  -  Runnemede, NJ   (IIHF & AHL)
Steve Tatro  -  Two Harbors, MN  (Minnesota District Referee-in-Chief)
BJ Ringrose  -  Colorado Springs, CO  (USA Hockey National Staff)

Greyson Betzold  -  Eden Prairie, MN
William Boppre  -  Glendale, WI
Will Boppre  -  Glendale, WI
Jake Caneff  -  Hastings, MN
Benjamin Frisch  -  Eden Prairie, MN
Dominic Gutzman  -  Woodbury, MN
Austin Houska  -  Saint Charles, MN
Michael Hughes  -  Oakdale, MN
Rich Johnson  -  Detroit Lakes, MN
Cam Kofstad  -  East Grand Forks, MN
James Mattson  -  Saint Paul, MN
Katie Metzer-Korpela  -  Cloquet, MN
Kenneth Miller  -  Saint Cloud, MN
Steve Olson  -  Superior, WI
Christopher Rogers  -  Inner Grove Heights, MN
Sawyer Rust  -  Duluth, MN
Glen Skrivseth  -  Chanhassen, MN
Zachary Sprague  -  Duluth, MN
Reise Stoltenow  -  Delano, MN
Alan Vanloon  -  Hermantown, MN
Connor Wiese  -  Owatonna, MN

Officiating News

  • 2022-23 ATO | WEEK 11

  • By USA Hockey Officiating Program 11/11/2022, 6:15am MST
  • THIS WEEK: High-Sticking...serving goalkeeper more.
  • Read More