skip navigation

Officiating Program Awards


In June of 2000, USA Hockey established an award to recognize the achievement of a grassroots officiating volunteer. The Officiating Education Program presents the award each year at the President's Awards banquet during the USA Hockey Annual Congress. The Chet Stewart Award recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the officiating education program during many years of service as an official and volunteer. The recipient will have been a grassroots leader in officiating education and development and provided dedicated service throughout his/her career to both the officiating and hockey community.

2023 Chet Stewart Winner

Steve Stevens

A longtime official and volunteer with USA Hockey, Steve Stevens has dedicated nearly half a century to officiatingand officiating development in his home state of Washington. His passion and hard work has had an indelible impact on officiating not just inthe Pacific Northwest, but across USA Hockeyas a whole. 

An official himself since 1981, Stevens patrolled the ice for an impressive 38 years, prior to hanging up the skates in 2019. During that time, the Spokane, Washington, native served as the Pacific District Referee-In-Chief from 2004-2018.

During his time as referee-in-chief, Stevens was a passionate advocate for inclusion within the officiating ranks, initiating a district female officiating development camp, which helped the female officiating sector skyrocket during his time at the helm. Under Stevens, the Pacific District also was the first district to have a designated official who could communicate with deaf/hard of hearing players via sign language, and also was the first district to designate an official exclusively for the Disabled Hockey section.

Within the Pacific Northwest Amateur Hockey Association (PNAHA), Stevens was elected vice president from 2002-2006 and served as referee-in-chief of the association for 24 years until 2006. He also managed officials for the NorPac Junior Hockey League from 2000-2018, before being appointed an officiating advisor and evaluator of the USA Hockey officiating program.

 Additionally, Stevens earned an advanced level coaches card while serving as a house coach for the Spokane Amateur Youth Hockey Association (SAYHA) in the late 1970s, andin 1988 served as SAYHA board president.

 A mentor to many young officialsand playersthroughout the years, Stevens still assists with the recruitment and development of officials in both the Pacific Northwest and across the nation.


The Jamie Huntley-Park Award is named in honor of the late Jamie Huntley-Park, who was a long-time USA Hockey official, player, and coach. Jamie and her husband, Ryan Park were both Detectives for the San Diego Police Department who were tragically killed in an automobile accident on June 4, 2021.

Jamie led by example and was known for her teamwork, her perseverance and her ability to make everyone around her strive for excellence both on and off the ice. The Jamie Huntley-Park Award recognizes a female official who has made outstanding contributions to the growth of officiating and represents what it means to be a great teammate.


Kendall Hanley  -  Dallas, TX


In 2016, the Ben Allison Award was created to recognize deserving officials in the USA Hockey Officiating Development Program. The award is voted on by 150 members of the USA Hockey Officiating Development Program and is given to the official that best represents the characteristics that made Ben a special person and official, including always giving 100 percent on the ice and representing USA Hockey in the finest manner. The award will be presented on an annual basis. Allison was a level three USA Hockey certified official, who was tragically killed in January 2015 at the age of 20. A native of Royal Oak, Michigan and a student at Illinois State University, he had been officiating for eight years and was a part of the Officiating Development Program for three years at various levels, including the NAHL.

Jack McQuesten  -  Plainfield, VT


The Milt Kaufman Award is presented at both the Eastern and Western Instructor Training Camps to the individual that most exemplifies the qualities that made Milt Kaufman such a special part of the USA Hockey Officiating Program.

"Milt was the Massachusetts District Referee-in-Chief . He was one of the people who put together the original Instructor Training program for the USA Hockey Officiating Program in the mid-‘80s. He also served as the original Eastern Instructor Training Camp Director until his untimely passing in 1994." - Tony Mariconda, Former Atlantic District Referee-in-Chief

2022 Milt Kaufman Winner

Bianca Bartolomei
Warren, MI

Bianca Bartolomei (right) accepts the Milt K. Award from National Referee-in-Chief David LaBuda


As a token of recognition and gratitude for dedicated years of service*, the USA Hockey Officiating Program awards special gifts starting after ten years of service:

10 YEARS  -  Lapel Pin
15 YEARS  -  Money Clip
20 YEARS  -  Pen & Pencil Set
25 YEARS  -  Special Spiral-Bound 25-Year Rulebook**
30 YEARS  -  Equipment Bag Tag

*Awards are based on consecutive years of service, beginning with the first season registration was tracked at the USA Hockey National Office.

**A new 25-Year Rulebook will be awarded each Rule Change Season as long as the official continues registration.


Milt Kaufman Award Winners

2019 Western: Matt Wilhite - Eastern: Jeff Morrison
2018 Western: Jenna Janshen - Eastern: Zach Hughes
2017 Western: Stephanie Simon - Eastern: Chelsea Ward
2016 Western: Josh Burkart - Eastern: Michael Hickey
2015 Western: Mason Strom - Eastern: Brie Zdunkiewicz
2014 Western: Mackenzie Nelson - Eastern: Rob Lagler
2013 Western: Richard Ozaki - Eastern: Francis Bastone
2012 Western: Robin Baker - Eastern: Kevin Vena
2011 Western: Dominic Clements - Eastern: Lee Giobbie
2010 Western: Keisha Dunlevy - Eastern: Jeff Ning
2009 Western: Ryan Ourada - Eastern: Robert Navickas
2008 Western: Brett Lapham - Eastern: Keith Grooms
2007 Western: Douglas Durgin - Eastern: Gui Bradshaw
2006 Western: Hardy Woodward - Eastern: Nicholas Tochelli
2005 Western: Gary Anderson - Eastern: Bill Dickerson
2004 Western: Joe Manthei - Eastern: Michael Frank
2003 Western: Wendy Seronko - Eastern: Carol Mullins
2002 Western: Michael Patterson - Eastern: Mike McDevitt
2001 Western: Andy Hudson - Eastern: Mike Timoney
2000 Western: Matt Spivey - Eastern: Michael Campbell
1999 Western: Rob McKane - Eastern: George Flynn
1998 Western: Dan Hendrickson - Eastern: Rob Coggin
1997 Western: Brian Johnson
1996 Western: Paul Sollberger - Eastern: Derek Zuckerman

Ben Allison Award Winners

2022-23     Jack McQuesten     Plainfield, VT
2021-22     Tyler Hascall           Corona, CA
2020-21     Kendall Hanley        Minneapolis, MN
2019-20     Michael Miggans     Hurst, TX
2018-19     Bobby Esposito       Bridgewater, NJ
2017-18     Riley Yerkovich        Rock Springs, WY
2016-17     Sean MacFarlane    Otis Orchards, WA
2015-16     Shane Gustafson     Lake of the Hills, IL

Chet Stewart Award Winners

2020 John Helsdon Rapid City, SD
2019 Dave Kemp Apple Valley, MN
2018 Dick Haney Duluth, MN
2017 Gordie Lingel Billings, MT
2016 Pat Bush Raleigh, NC
2015 Gerald Moran Detroit, MI
2014 Harold "Skip" Trumble Chaska, MN
2013 Kevin Upton Silver Spring, MD
2012 Bruce "Buzz" Olson E. Grand Forks, MN
2011 Robert Keltie Sr. Boca Raton, FL
2010 Lyman Dimond Fort Mill, SC
2009 John Robinson Towson, MD
2008 Robert Klein Roswell, GA
2007 George Benson Anchorage, AK
2006 William Leslie White Bear Lake, MN
2005 Mike Martin Kalamazoo, MI
2004 Bill Reynolds Newington, CT
2003 K. Roy Chin Fort Wayne, IN
2002 John DePuydt Houghton, MI
2001 Robert Lilla Northbrook, IL
2000 Ken Sheeran Roanoke, VA