skip navigation

Twenty-Eight Americans Chosen to Officiate IIHF Events During the 2018-19 Season

By USA Hockey, 12/04/18, 11:45AM MST


American officials will take part in 18 IIHF events

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – USA Hockey announced today that 28 American officials have been selected to serve as referees or linesmen for International Ice Hockey Federation events in 2018-19.

“We're thrilled to see so many American officials earn the opportunity to officiate at the highest level,” said Matt Leaf, USA Hockey officiating program director. “Each one of them has worked hard to get to this point and I'm confident that they will represent the U.S. well on the world stage.” 

American officials will take part in 18 IIHF events this season, including the IIHF World Junior Championship Dec. 26, 2018-Jan. 5, 2019, in Vancouver and Victoria, British Columbia, the IIHF Under-18 Women's World Championship Jan. 6-13, 2019, in Obihiro, Japan, the IIHF Women's World Championship April 4-14, 2019, in Espoo, Finland, and the IIHF Under-18 Men's World Championship April 18-28, 2019, in Ornskoldsvik and Umea, Sweden. 

Seven of the 28 Americans chosen to officiate during the upcoming season have previous experience working in top-level IIHF events, including two who officiated at the 2018 IIHF Men’s World Championship in Copenhagen and Herning, Denmark. Seven Americans have received their first IIHF assignment, while six will make their debut in IIHF pool A tournaments this season. 

Assignments for the IIHF Men's World Championship May 10-26, 2019, in Bratislava and Kosice, Slovakia, will be determined in late February.

For a full list of American officials and their assignments, please see below.

Riley Bowles WM18 Ornskoldsvik and Umea, Sweden Otis Orchards, Wash.
Sean McFarlane WM18 Ornskoldsvik and Umea, Sweden Otis Orchards, Wash.
Nicholas Briganti WM18IA Grenoble, France Newington, Conn.
Sean Fernandez WM18IIA Elektreai, Lithuania Novi, Mich.
Jonathan Sladek WM18IIIA Sofia, Bulgaria Naperville, Ill.
Andrew Bruggeman WM20 Vancouver and Victoria, British Columbia North Mankato, Mich.
Brian Oliver* WM20 Vancouver and Victoria, British Columbia Rochester, N.Y.
Kenneth Anderson* WM20 Vancouver and Victoria, British Columbia New Hope, Minn.
Patrick Richardson WM20IIA Tallinn, Estonia Syracuse, N.Y.
Kevin Briganti WM20III Reykjavik, Iceland Newington, Conn.
Jake Davis* WMIB Tallinn, Estonia Wyandotte, Mich.
Andy Thackaberry WMIIB Queretaro, Mexico Canton, Mich.
Justin Cornell WMIIB Queretaro, Mexico Sterling Heights, Mich.
Andrew Wilk WUG Krasnoyarsk, Russia Costa Mesa, Calif.
Erika Greenen WUG Krasnoyarsk, Russia Nashville, Tenn.
Laura White WUG Krasnoyarsk, Russia Runnemede, N.Y.
Jackie Spresser* WW Espoo, Finland Thornton, Colo.
Jamie Huntley-Park* WW Espoo, Finland La Jolla, Calif.
Jestina Vichorek WW18 Obihiro, Japan Carlton, Minn.
Kaylen Erchul WW18 Obihiro, Japan Duluth, Minn.
Kristin Moore WW18 Obihiro, Japan Broomfield, Colo.
Chelsea Rapin* WW18IA Radenthein, Austria Burlington, Vt.
Kendall Hanley WW18IA Radenthein, Austria Minneapolis, Minn.
Melissa Doyle WW18IB Dumfries, United Kingdom White Bear Lake, Minn.
Sara Strong WWIA Budapest, Hungary Chicago, Ill.
Kristine Langley* WWIB Beijing, China Hopkins, Minn.
Jennifer Cameron WWIIA Dumfries, United Kingdom Northborough, Mass.
Kelly Cooke WWIIB Brasov, Romania Brighton, Mass.

*have previous experience working top-level IIHF events

Officiating News