skip navigation

2018-19 ATO Season: Week 25

By USA Hockey, 02/22/19, 6:15AM MST


QUESTION: Can a major and a game misconduct be called for interference if a player is injured as a result of it? I cannot find a section in the rules or casebook for the interference rule that permits it being called.

ANSWER: While strictly speaking a major penalty cannot be assessed for Interference (no option listed within the playing rule) one could assume that any type of interference that results in an injury (generally the main reason for a 5+GM) could be penalized under Charging, Head Contact or some other type of playing rule.

QUESTION: Puck is shot on net. The official loses sight of the puck and whistles it dead. The goaltender than reaches into the net and removes the puck. The shot resulted in a clear goal but was ruled not a goal because the official whistled the puck dead. The official could not see the puck but it was in fact well inside the net. Should this be a goal?

ANSWER: A goal should be awarded any time the official is 100% certain the puck completely crossed the goal line prior to the play being ruled “dead”. This decision can occur after the whistle has been blown.

QUESTION: There is mention in the casebook pertaining to a player effecting a stoppage by intentionally touching the puck, but no mention to a player intentionally effecting play and if this also qualifies as intentional off sides. By effecting play I mean whilst knowingly off sides, this player angles the puck carrier towards the boards or cutting off his options to play or pass in any way during a delayed off sides in an intentional manner.

ANSWER: Rule 630(c)-Note in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,
“An intentional off-side is one which is made for the purpose of deliberately securing an immediate stoppage of play or when an off-side play is made under conditions where there is no effort made or possibility of completing a legal play.”
In the case of an attacking player applying pressure to a defender who is trying to move the puck out of the defending zone (during a delayed off-side), this would be interpreted as not completing a legal play. Once play is off-side, the attacking players are expected to immediately retreat from the end-zone.

QUESTION: Is it legal to attach a Go Pro Camera to a helmet during an adult league game?

ANSWER: These are not recognized or accepted pieces of equipment in the sport of ice hockey and therefore cannot be used by any participants (players, goalkeepers, officials, etc.) on the ice during a game.

QUESTION: During the shoot out, the player skated up to pick up the puck at center ice and missed it. He then circled back to center ice, picked up the puck, and scored. Or did he? Does it count if the player skates pass the puck initially and then circles back to pick up the puck at center ice? One could argue it made the goalie leave his crease prematurely, which he did. It seems to me that the official should have blown the shot dad, cited the goalie for leaving is crease early, and made the shooter shoot again.

ANSWER: If the forward scores a goal, then the goal should be allowed and play resumes. If the player misses the shot, the shot shall still be considered complete.

We could argue hypotheticals all night long. Did the player miss the puck on purpose, or was it an honest mistake? Did the goalkeeper leave the crease on purpose or was it a mistake due to the player's error?

In the end, the goalkeeper was in position when the shot started (which is the spirit and intent of the rule) and no real unfair competitive advantage was gained. If the shooting coach wants to argue the goalkeeper's position, one could argue the player missed the puck on purpose to buy insurance if the shot failed.

In the end, the "spirit and intent" of the penalty shot procedure was fulfilled.