skip navigation

2018-19 ATO Season: Week 23

By USA Hockey, 02/08/19, 6:15AM MST


QUESTION: A team receives a major penalty. Then 10 seconds later receives a minor penalty, so they are shorthanded 5 on 3.  The other team scores. Does the player with the minor come out? I argue no, since it was not the player with the minor who caused them to be shorthanded.

ANSWER: If a team is shorthanded 5 vs. 3 due to two penalties (one major followed by one minor) and the opposing team scores a goal, the minor penalty is terminated and play resumes 5 vs. 4 with the major still being served. The general rule is the minor penalty being served with the least amount of time left is terminated.

QUESTION: The Home Team receives a penalty. While the Home Team is short handed a delayed penalty is called on the Away Team. During the delayed penalty call the Home Team scores. Does the Away Team still serve the penalty (4 vs. 4) or does the Home Team stay shorthanded?

ANSWER: In the event that a shorthanded team scores a goal against a full-strength team with a pending delayed penalty, the delayed penalty shall be recorded but not served and play shall resume 5 v. 4 (assuming this is the on-ice strength at the time of the goal).

QUESTION: Is there any established distance that a retiring player needs to be at in proximity to their bench to begin a line change with a player that is on the bench?

ANSWER: A retiring player must be “at the bench and removed from play” to be substituted for.

QUESTION: When a player is assessed a two minute minor and a 10 minute misconduct does the 10 minute misconduct start at the next puck drop or after the two minute penalty is served by another player?

ANSWER: Minor plus Misconducts are served concurrently (not consecutively), which means the player who received the penalties must serve the entire twelve minutes. The additional player is simply a player that can leave the penalty bench when the minor expires.

QUESTION: A goal was scored from the short side which I thought for sure I had covered (I was the goalkeeper). I turned around to see the net was actually off the goal line by about 4 inches. Am I wrong to think that this goal should have been disallowed? Is there a rule I am not seeing that is tied to this type of situation I am not aware of?

ANSWER: Strictly speaking USAH Rule 610(e) mandates that play must be stopped immediately when the goal is displaced from its normal position on the goal line. This means if the official is 100% sure the goal was knocked off the goal line before the puck completely crossed the goal line then the goal must be disallowed.