skip navigation

2018-19 ATO Season: Week 16

By USA Hockey, 12/21/18, 6:15AM MST


QUESTION: Team A is playing short handed. During play, the referee signals a further penalty to Team A which is a delayed call, but Team B scores before Team A can make possession of the puck. The referee dismisses the delayed penalty as coincidental with the goal and the player already sitting in the box remains in the box. The real question therefore being, why doesn't the penalty of the player in the box expire and the new offense go into the clock with 2 minutes?

ANSWER: Rule 409(b) in the USA Hockey Rulebook states,
“If the Referee signals an additional minor penalty(s) against a team that is already shorthanded (below the numerical strength of its opponent on the ice at the time of the goal) because of one or more minor or bench minor penalties, and a goal is scored by the non-offending team, the goal shall be allowed. The delayed penalty(s) shall be assessed and the first non-coincidental minor penalty already being served shall terminate automatically under Rule 402(c) (Minor Penalties).”

QUESTION: White #11 was assessed a Major and a Minor, during the same stoppage of play. My assessment was that a total of 7:00 should be put on the penalty clock, with the first 5 minutes (the Major penalty), to be served in its entirety. This is my understanding of Rule 402e. The other opinion(s) voiced a variation on the theme: 5:00 on one penalty clock, and 2:00 on the other (both White penalties), and White would skate 3v5 until the minor expired, and then 4v5 for the remaining time.

ANSWER: Rule 402(e) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,
“When a player receives a major penalty and a minor penalty at the same time, the major penalty shall be served first by the penalized player. However, if the major or match penalty is assessed under the coincidental major or match penalty rules, the minor penalty will be recorded and served first.”
Therefore, 7:00 minutes would go on the penalty clock and play would resume at 5 v. 4. The major would be served in its entirety, and the minor would be served in entirety or terminate on a power-play goal.

QUESTION: An altercation between players broke out after the end of a game. One bench cleared including the coaches entering the ice. The question here is the issue of the game being technically over. Is there no penalty because the game is over?

ANSWER: All violations of Rules 601, 615, and other USA Hockey Playing Rules must be penalized even if they occur before or after the game, whether on or in the vicinity of the playing surface.

QUESTION: Are the 10U teams allowed to play with body contact?

ANSWER: Rule 604(a) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,
“Body checking is prohibited in the 12 & under youth age classification and below and all Girls’/Women’s age classifications. 
These levels would be considered the Body Contact Category of play. Body checking is also prohibited in all non-check Adult classifications.
A local governing body may prohibit body checking in any classification.”

QUESTION: I check the rules and didn't see any prohibition on dressing three goalies.  Can you confirm?

ANSWER: Confirmed, assuming your team dresses no more than 17 skaters.