skip navigation

2018-19 ATO Season: Week 14

By USA Hockey, 12/07/18, 6:15AM MST

Share

QUESTION: Can the referee disallow a goal after awarding and then noticing the net dislodged?  We have had two instances of a referee awarding, pointing at the net, blowing their whistle, and then disallowing the goal after noticing the net was dislodged.

ANSWER: A dislodged goal must result in an immediate stoppage. Therefore, the officials should disallow any goal they believe entered the net after the goal was moved from its normal position.


QUESTION: I was taking a face-off today and in the process of trying to draw the puck back to a defenseman, I inadvertently hit the official with the butt of my stick. The next time I went to take a face-off with this referee, he told me that I would not be allowed to take any more face-offs for the rest of the game. Is an official allowed to ban a center from taking face-offs for this reason (or any reason)?

ANSWER: There is nothing in the USA Hockey Playing Rules that states a player may not participate in face-offs if they accidentally hurt the official through incidental stick or body contact.


QUESTION: I filed an incident report today and would like to amend the report if possible.  How can I amend the report?  The wrong player may have been identified as the player who committed the penalty.

ANSWER: You may reach out to your Local and State Supervisor of Officials to inform them of the mistake. These supervisors can work with the coordinator of game reports in your respective area to ensure the database is updated with correct information.


QUESTION: In a shootout, if a player skates the puck up then loses the puck from his stick which causes the player to stop, turn around and skate back towards center ice and pick up the puck and re-skate it toward the goalie for the shot....is this legal or should the shoot out shot be stopped as no good?

ANSWER: Once the penalty shot attempt has started (shooter touches the puck) the puck must be kept in forward motion toward the opponent’s goal line. Therefore, if the shooter momentarily loses control of the puck, but the puck does not stop “forward progress”, then the shot should be allowed to continue.

QUESTION: A referee gave a game misconduct (citing rule 601E) to a player on Sunday. After reviewing this rule, the players 'offense' does not match the criteria of this rule. How do we appeal?

ANSWER: Unfortunately we cannot answer this question since it does not deal specifically with the USA Hockey Playing Rules and the USA Hockey Officiating Program and USA Hockey Referees do not handle game suspensions.
 
We encourage you to contact your local disciplinary body (league, hockey association, USAH Affiliate, etc.) for more insight into your situation.