QUESTION: In a squirt game the puck is next to the goalie's leg pad and the other team is trying to hit it in but instead of hitting the puck they are hitting the goalie. Do you blow the whistle even though the puck is not covered?
ANSWER: The officials should stop play if they determine that the goalkeeper has control of the puck (or has covered the puck) while the attacking team is applying direct offensive pressure. If the puck is loose, play should be allowed to continue.
However, attacking players may not slash or make any type of illegal stick-contact with the goalkeeper just because they are "trying to play the puck". Players are expected to control their sticks at all times, and any type of dangerous, reckless, or illegal stick contact with goalkeepers should be penalized.
QUESTION: If both teams have players serving minor penalties that were awarded at different times (non-coincidental) and one of the teams scores, is the player from the team scored upon released from the penalty box, leading to 5 on 4 play, or do both players remain in the box to serve out their penalties?
ANSWER: A team is only granted relief from a minor penalty if the opposing team scores a power-play goal (i.e. they are playing short-handed due to a minor penalty at the time of the goal). Therefore, if both teams are playing with four players, then neither team is short-handed. Play resumes four-on-four.
QUESTION: A team gets 3 minor penalties in a row, each 15 seconds apart. So you have an extra man in the box so when the first penalty ends no one goes out. Assuming no stoppage of play and the second penalty expires does the first player in come out at this point? I have seen that the first player just gets told to wait for a whistle. I would think it is first in first out.
ANSWER: In the case of a "delayed" penalty (or a penalty that cannot start due to two other active penalties to the same team running on the clock) the third penalty cannot start until one of the others terminate.
When one penalty expires during play, the player must remain in the penalty bench and the third penalty immediately begins (the team stays at "three players"). The first player must wait until a stoppage, or until the second penalty expires at which point the first player may leave the penalty bench (the team is entitled to four players now).
The general rule is, "First in, first out". So players leave the penalty bench in the same order that they entered.
QUESTION: A coach receives a bench minor and continues the abuse and receives a game misconduct. Are both the bench minor and game misconduct recorded and served?
ANSWER: In the case where a team official receives a bench minor penalty and then a Game Misconduct for continuation, the coach is removed from the game and a player who was on the ice at the time of the penalties must enter the penalty bench to serve the bench minor. The Game Misconduct does not override the bench minor. Both are recorded on the game sheet and served.
QUESTION: A player receives an unsportsmanlike for disputing a call, and continues the abuse and receives a misconduct. Does he serve both the unsportsmanlike and misconduct or just the misconduct?
ANSWER: In the case where a player receives a minor penalty for unsportsmanlike conduct and then a misconduct for continuation, he/she must enter the penalty bench and serve the full twelve minutes he/she earned. The team will place an additional player in the penalty bench to be released when the minor expires.
Tag(s): Ask the Official