skip navigation

2018-19 ATO Season: Week 2

By USA Hockey, 09/14/18, 6:15AM MDT


QUESTION: Are 2 and 10 penalties ( minor penalty,misconduct) cumulative throughout a season or just in a single game? If they are cumulative throughout a season, what is the rule?

ANSWER: The only cumulative penalty rule that involves minor and misconduct penalties is Rule 401(b),
“Any player, except in Adult age classifications, who receives five penalties in the same game shall be assessed a game misconduct penalty. Any Adult player who receives five penalties in the same game shall be immediately ejected for the remainder of the game with no further suspension.
Any Head Coach whose team, except in Adult age classifications, receives 15 or more penalties during one game shall be suspended for the next scheduled game of that team.”

In both cases, the minor plus misconduct penalties count as two penalties against the player or team official.

That being stated, your local hockey association may have additional rules that supplement this national playing rule, therefore we recommend contacting them.

QUESTION: If at the start of play (a face-off) there are six players and a goalie on the ice for one team. That team wins the draw and plays the puck to the player trying to leave the ice knowing they have too many men. Is that a penalty? I had an official blow it dead and say it's no penalty. He miscounted. To which I also ask. Shouldn't I always put six guys in if at worst it's a dead puck and face-off?

ANSWER: The officials are responsible for checking that the proper number of players are on the ice before they drop the puck. Therefore, if they start play with too many players they should immediately stop play and correct the line-up without a penalty.
In regard to your second question, you could put six players on the ice but you would just be wasting everyone’s time. Best case, the officials catch it before the face-off and correct the line-up (dragging out the stoppage). Worst case, play begins and then is stopped and everyone wonders what on earth the coach is doing deliberately putting six players on the ice (“doesn't he know the rules?”).

QUESTION: A player bats the puck with his hand to a teammate while both payers are in their defending zone. Is this a hand-pass violation?

ANSWER: A player may bat the puck with her hand to a teammate provided the pass is initiated and received in the team's defending zone. The location of the puck (not the player) will determine whether this is a legal play.

QUESTION: If a team elects to change their goalkeeper, are they allowed to take some warm-up shots before play resumes?

ANSWER: A team may substitute their goalkeeper during any stoppage, but they must use their time-out to warm the goalkeeper up. The only exception is if the team changes goalkeepers during the opposing team's time-out (in which case they may use that time-out for a warm-up).

QUESTION: My question relates to Unsportsmanlike conduct. If a player is upset that he did not score on a play and hits his stick on the ice in frustration after missing the shot. Is there a penalty for this behavior?

ANSWER: There is no rule in the USA Hockey Playing Rules that allows for a penalty if a player bangs the ice with their stick assuming the act did not present a threat of injury to any player.