skip navigation

2017-18 Season: Week 24

By USA Hockey, 02/12/18, 1:15PM MST


QUESTION: Does A SOG have to pass the paint to be a SOG?

ANSWER: The basic definition that USA Hockey uses to define a Shot-on-Goal is any puck that is shot or otherwise directed at the net by an opponent that would have entered the goal if the goalkeeper did not block it.

QUESTION: What age does delayed offsides start in the US?

ANSWER: The USA Hockey Playing Rules enforce Immediate Off-sides at the 12 & Under level and below, and Delayed (Tag-up) Off-Sides at the 14 & Under level and above.

QUESTION: A forward is carrying the puck toward the offensive zone. A defender is skating backward in front of the forward. The defender reaches out and pokes the puck off of the forward's stick. The forward's next stride comes down on the defender's stick blade, and the forward falls. Is this tripping?

ANSWER: Rule 639(a) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,

“A minor or major penalty shall be assessed to any player who commits the following:

Uses his stick or any portion of his body and causes an opponent to trip or fall. (Note) However, no penalty shall be assessed under this rule if, in the opinion of the Referee, the player was clearly hook-checking or poke-checking the puck for the purpose of gaining possession.”

QUESTION: The attacking team dumps the puck into the corner creating a delayed offside situation.  One of the offsides players makes no effort to get onside and skates towards the corner to make a play on the defender despite clearly being made aware by the official that a delayed offside was in progress.  Play was correctly stopped (Offsides-Situation 41) and the official ruled it intentional offsides as there was “no effort made…of completing a legal play” as stated in Rule 630(c)(note).  Is this situation a correct application of this rule?

ANSWER: If an attacking player is off-side (assuming tag-up off-sides is in use) and is aware he/she is off-side and makes no attempt to clear the attacking zone (no attempt to make a legal play), then the officials should rule this as an Intentional Off-side play.

QUESTION: At a rink with an electronic scoreboard and buzzer managed by the Timekeeper, What denotes the end of period/end of game? Is it when the buzzer starts buzzing or when the scoreboard clock reaches "0:00" ?

ANSWER: Casebook Situation #4 under Rule 108 in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,

“The horn sounds to end a period; however, the clock shows two seconds remaining. Is the period over?

Yes. Rule Reference 108(e).

Whenever the timing device is equipped with an automatic sounding alarm that signifies the end of a period, the “sound” shall be considered the end of the period, even though the clock may show minimal time remaining.

Conversely, if play stops with 0:00 showing on the clock but the horn has not sounded, the game shall continue until the sound occurs or until it becomes obvious that the horn is not functioning properly.

It is critical for all on-ice officials to be aware of the time at the end of each period. It is also critical to follow proper officiating procedures to enable the officials to make the proper decision as to the puck crossing the goal line prior to or after the end of a period.”