skip navigation

Week 13

By USA Hockey, 11/27/17, 9:30AM MST


QUESTION: Immediately after a game today, a player gets a slashing and 10 minute misconduct penalty.  Since the game is over, does the player serve the misconduct penalty in the next game?

ANSWER: Rule 404(a) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,

“A “MISCONDUCT” penalty involves the removal of a player, other than a goalkeeper, from the game for a period of 10 minutes with immediate substitution taking place on ice. A player whose misconduct penalty has expired shall remain on the penalty bench until the next stoppage of play.

Unless immediate substitution is permitted under the coincidental minor penalty rule 402(f), when a player receives a minor penalty plus a misconduct or game misconduct penalty at the same time, the penalized team shall immediately place an additional non-penalized player, other than a goalkeeper, on the penalty bench and such player may not be changed.”

Therefore, if a player is assessed a misconduct penalty at the end of a game the penalty is recorded but not served in any way (unless Rule 401(b) is a factor).

QUESTION: When does the penalty box door open? Does it open the moment when the penalty clock reads zero? Or does it open a moment before the penalty clock reads zero so the offender can get his skate on the ice just as the penalty clock reads zero?

ANSWER: A player may not return to the ice prior to the expiration (or termination) of his/her penalty. Strictly speaking this has very little to do with the door considering players used to hop over the boards many years ago. As long as the player does not return to the ice before the end of the penalty it really does not matter when the door opens.

QUESTION: During a delayed off sides the defending goalie deflects the puck into his own net. Goal or No Goal?

ANSWER: A goal cannot be scored if a puck is shot “off-sides” into the attacking zone. This means if an attacking player dumps the puck “off-sides” into the attacking zone and it enters the goal, the goal cannot be allowed. Even if the goalkeeper attempted a save, or if the attacking players “tag-up” prior to the puck entering the goal.

QUESTION: During a recent game the defending team shot the puck out of their end zone.  The attacking defender (at the blue line) attempted to play the puck.  The puck hopped over his stick, went through his legs and went the length of the ice.  The referee called Icing.  When the coach ask why he didn’t waive off icing he stated that the attacking player had not touched the puck, so it was icing. Is this true?

ANSWER: Situation #17 on Page 267 of the USA Hockey Playing Rules Casebook states,

“The puck, shot from behind the center red line, bounces over the stick of an opposing player who attempts to play the puck or rebounds off the boards and over his stick. Is icing still in effect?

Yes. Rule References 624(a & b.5).

The Official must make his decision based upon the proximity of the puck to the player, the speed of the puck, and whether or not the defending player had a reasonable opportunity to play the puck.”

QUESTIONWhat do you do if a ref verbally abuses a coach?

ANSWER: All USA Hockey Officials are expected to follow the USAH Officials Code of Conduct outlined in the USAH Playing Rules (there is one for players, coaches, and spectators too). If an official is behaving very unprofessionally you may report their behavior to the Local Supervisor of Officials or Game Assignor (might be the same person). Contact information can be found through your Local Hockey Association.