skip navigation

Week 12

By USA Hockey, 11/18/17, 8:45PM MST


QUESTION: If there is a delayed offsides and a player of the team who has the delayed offsides dumps the puck into the zone well clear of the goalie and the opposing player deflects the puck and it goes into the net, is it a good goal?

ANSWER: Strictly speaking a team cannot be awarded a goal during a delayed off-sides situation regardless of how the puck was shot, directed, or deflected into the goal.

QUESTION: Team A's goalie looses his stick and it slides in the corner. A Team B attacking player loses his stick in the slot at the top of the crease. Team A's goalie picks up Team B's players stick off the ice and proceeds to play his position with it until the puck clears the zone. Team B player skated to the bench and did not attempt to regain control of his stick at at point.

ANSWER: Assuming the Team B player who lost his stick does not try to retrieve it then this play would be considered legal (USAH Rule 625(a)6). However, Interference would apply if the player tries to retrieve their stick but the opposing goalkeeper takes it away.

QUESTION: Several times in this season, an attacking player on a breakaway has ended up crashing into my goalkeeper within the crease. In most cases the player is out of control and even loses control of the puck not even getting a shot on goal before contact. The first few times that I noticed it, I immediately thought a penalty should have been called for interfering with the goalkeeper. But there was no whistle, and I didn’t notice any of the other parents showing a concern.

ANSWER: An attacking player may not make any avoidable contact with the goalkeeper who is stationed in their crease. Therefore, an attacker cannot recklessly skate to the goal and knock the goalkeeper over as they attempt to score. Rule 607(c) is very clear about this rule.

Furthermore, if an injury results from this contact the attacking player must be assessed a major plus game misconduct.

QUESTION: It has recently come to my attention that a person claiming to be a coach of a particular program is not listing himself on the game sheet. I confirmed that he is NOT the one listed as the head coach, and not even listed as one of the four coaches on the game sheet. Is there any rule reference that needs to be applied here? Is this an issue for the League, Team program, or can a USA hockey rule be applied?

ANSWER: Rule 505(a) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,

“Prior to the start of the game, the Official Scorer shall obtain on the scoresheet the signatures of all coaches of each team, one of whom shall be designated as Head Coach, along with the CEP card number, CEP level and the year the CEP level was attained for each coach.”

In other words, all team officials should be properly registered with the USA Hockey Coaching Education Program prior to stepping behind the bench. This assures a properly registered coach is present to take control if the Head Coach must leave due to penalties, illness, or injury. If there is an unregistered coach behind the bench during a game, the game official should report the incident to his Local Supervisor of Officials who will work with the Local CEP support staff and Hockey Association to correct the problem.

QUESTION: What are the rules regarding running clock with each level?  Where do I find that information?

ANSWER: USA Hockey does not have any rules regarding “mercy rules” or “running clocks”. These types of rules are left to the local governing body (Local Hockey Association, Leagues, etc.) who schedules and pays for ice to decide. Therefore we strongly recommend contacting them.