skip navigation

Minnesota Wild to Host 2017 Sled Classic, Presented by NHL

By, 02/27/17, 7:45AM MST


Eighth Annual Four-Day Event to be Held Nov. 16-19

USA Hockey announced today that the Minnesota Wild and Minnesota Hockey will host the eighth annual USA Hockey Sled Classic, presented by the NHL. The four-day event will take place Nov. 16-19, 2017, at the Plymouth Ice Center in Plymouth, Minnesota.

First staged in 2010, the USA Hockey Sled Classic is an annual round-robin format tournament between sled hockey teams associated with certain NHL clubs.

Over 20 NHL sled teams are expected to play in this year’s tournament and will feature five divisions. Last year, the event featured a record 24 teams that competed in five divisions. The Colorado Avalanche program claimed both the Tier I and Tier IV divisions while the Pittsburgh Penguins were crowned Tier II champions, the Nashville Predators won the Tier III division and the Carolina Hurricanes claimed the Tier V division.

Full details surrounding the tournament will be released at a later date.

Sled Classic History

NOTES: The Colorado Avalanche hosted the inaugural USA Hockey Sled Classic in 2010 in Denver, Colorado, where the Colorado Avalanche won the four-team event … In 2011, the Philadelphia Flyers held the event in Voorhees, New Jersey, where the Buffalo Sabres took first place among nine teams … In 2012, the Buffalo Sabres put on the tournament in Williamsville, New York, with the Dallas Stars winning the ‘A’ Division and the Washington Capitals capturing the ‘B’ Division … In 2013, the Pittsburgh Penguins hosted the tournament in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and the Dallas Stars and Washington Capitals repeated as the ‘A’ and B’ Division champions, respectively, while the Nashville Predators won the inaugural ‘C’ Division … In 2014, the Washington Capitals hosted the tournament in Arlington, Virginia, where the Chicago Blackhawks captured the Tier I Division, the Philadelphia Flyers claimed the Tier II Division, and the Minnesota Wild won the Tier III Division … Two years ago, the Florida Panthers held the tournament in Sunrise, Florida, where the Florida Panthers captured the Tier I Division, the Columbus Blue Jackets claimed the Tier II crown, the Arizona Coyotes won the Tier III Division and the Buffalo Sabres captured the first-ever Tier IV title … Participating teams in the tournament must have an official association with an NHL member club … For more information on the sport of sled hockey and to view a list of sled hockey teams in the U.S., click here.


U.S. National Sled Team Players reflect on growth of the USA Hockey Sled Classic, Presented by the NHL

Disabled Hockey Festival

National Sled Teams

About Sled Hockey

Sled Hockey News

Team USA forward Malik Jones looks out on the ice.

Most Popular Articles

USA Hockey Announces 2024 Annual Award Winners

By USA Hockey 05/29/2024, 10:00am MDT

12 Standouts From the Hockey Community Honored

The 58-year-old has been playing on the same rec team for more than 30 years.

Inaugural USA Hockey National Goaltending Symposium bringing together top goalie minds and legends of the sport