skip navigation

7th Annual Sled Classic, Presented by NHL, Begins Thursday

By, 11/14/16, 9:00AM MST


Nashville Predators To Host Record 24 NHL-Affiliated Teams

The seventh annual USA Hockey Sled Classic, presented by the NHL and hosted by the Nashville Predators, will take place Thursday through Sunday (Nov. 17-20) in Antioch, Tennessee, at Ford Ice Center. The facility is operated by the Nashville Predators to continue the growth of hockey and skating in Middle Tennessee.

2016 Sled Classic Schedule

Tournament play will include seven games on Thursday, 17 contests on Friday, 16 games on Saturday and six games – including the five championship games – on Sunday. Fans can attend all games free of charge. In addition, Hockey.TV will stream all games live at

A record 24-team field will feature 300-plus athletes, including 23 current or former members of the U.S. National Sled Hockey Team. Of those skaters, 11 helped the United States claim the gold medal at the 2015 International Paralympic Committee Sled Hockey World Championship in Buffalo, New York, and a total of 13 players skated on U.S. squads that claimed gold medals at the 2010 and 2014 Paralympic Winter Games.

Each of the 24 competing teams are affiliated with NHL clubs, including the Anaheim Ducks, Arizona Coyotes, Boston Bruins, Buffalo Sabres, Carolina Hurricanes, Chicago Blackhawks, Colorado Avalanche, Dallas Stars, Florida Panthers, Los Angeles Kings, Minnesota Wild, Nashville Predators, Philadelphia Flyers, Pittsburgh Penguins, St. Louis Blues and Tampa Bay Lightning. Each team will represent their affiliated NHL club by wearing official NHL licensed jerseys with local club marks and logos.

For full tournament results, statistics and game recaps, click here.

NOTES: Use the hashtag #SledClassic to join the tournament conversation on social media ... Five NHL clubs – the Boston Bruins, Buffalo Sabres, Chicago Blackhawks, Colorado Avalanche, and Pittsburgh Penguins – have two affiliated teams in this year's USA Hockey Sled Classic while the Nashville Predators will have three teams ... The Colorado Avalanche hosted the inaugural USA Hockey Sled Classic in 2010 in Denver, where the Colorado Avalanche Sled Hockey Team won the four-team tournament … In 2011, the Philadelphia Flyers held the event in Voorhees, New Jersey, where the Buffalo Sabres Sled Hockey Team took first place among nine teams … In 2012, the Buffalo Sabres put on the tournament in Williamsville, New York, with the Dallas Stars winning the ‘A’ Division and the Washington Capitals capturing the ‘B’ Division … In 2013, the Pittsburgh Penguins hosted the tournament in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and the Dallas Stars and Washington Capitals repeated as the ‘A’ and B’ Division champions, while the Nashville Predators won the inaugural ‘C’ Division … In 2014, the Washington Capitals hosted the tournament in Arlington, Virginia, where the Chicago Blackhawks captured the Tier I Division, the Philadelphia Flyers claimed the Tier II Division, and the Minnesota Wild won the Tier III division ... Last year, the Florida Panthers held the tournament in Sunrise, Florida, where the Florida Panthers captured the Tier I Division, the Columbus Blue Jackets claimed the Tier II crown, the Arizona Coyotes won the Tier III Division and the Buffalo Sabres captured the first-ever Tier IV title. For more information on the sport of sled hockey, click here.

Recent Sled News

Most Popular Articles

USA Hockey Announces Multi-Year Partnership With Athletix

By USA Hockey 07/06/2022, 10:00am MDT

Athletix becomes an official partner of USA Hockey and will serve as title sponsor of the U17 Five Nations Tournament.

Seattle Pride Classic Receives Rave Reviews in its Second Year

By Steve Drumwright 06/25/2022, 2:30pm MDT

The tournament more than doubled in size from last year.

3 Tips for Measuring Your Powders

By USA Hockey 04/11/2017, 11:00am MDT

Useful tips when getting ready to mix up a shake