COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Twenty-two American officials are serving as referees or linesmen for major International Ice Hockey Federation events in 2015-16, USA Hockey announced today.
“We look forward to having this select group of officials represent USA Hockey on the international stage,” said Matt Leaf, director of USA Hockey’s officiating education program. “They’ve all worked extremely hard to get to the highest level and have earned this opportunity.”
American officials will take part in 12 IIHF events this season, including the the IIHF World Junior Championship in Helsinki, Finland, the IIHF Under-18 Women's World Championship in St. Catharines, Ontario, the IIHF Women's World Championship in Kamloops, British, Columbia, and the IIHF Under-18 Men's World Championship in Grand Forks, North Dakota.
Assignments for the 2016 IIHF Men's World Championship in Moscow and St. Petersberg, Russia will be determined in late February.
Officials assigned to the IIHF events this year include Chris Pitoscia (Edison, N.J.) and Brian Oliver (Rochester, N.Y.), who served at the 2015 IIHF Men’s World Junior Championship; Katie Guay (Dedham, Mass.) and Jamie Huntley (La Jolla, Calif.), who served at the 2015 IIHF Women’s World Championship; and Jerilyn Glenn (St. Paul, Minn.) and Jessica LeClerc (Old Orchard Beach, Maine) who officiated at the 2015 Under-18 Women’s World Championship. Nine officials will be making their first appearances at IIHF events.
|Andrew Wilk||Santa Rosa Valley, CA||World U20, Division IA||Vienna, Austrai||Dec 13-19|
|Chris Pitoscia||Edison, NJ||World U20||Helsinki, Finland||Dec 26-Jan 5|
|Brian Oliver||Rochester, NY||World U20||Helsinki, Finland||Dec 26-Jan 5|
|Melissa Szkola||Chestefield, MI||World Women’s U18||St. Catharines, CAN||Jan 8-15|
|Jessica LeClerc||Old Orchard Beach, ME||World Women’s U18||St. Catharines, CAN||Jan 8-15|
|Ryan Madsen||Loveland, OH||Continental Cup Finals||Rouen, France||Jan 8-10, 2016|
|Mackenzie Williams||Rome, NY||WW18 Div. I||Miskolc, Hungary||Jan 10-16|
|Jeremy Tufts||Brentwood, NH||World U20, Division III||Mexico City, Mexico||Jan 15-24, 2016|
|James Scarpace||West Bloomfield, MI||World U20, Division III||Mexico City, Mexico||Jan 15-24, 2016|
|Stephen Reneau||Sugar Creek, MO||WOG Qualification, Round 2||Sapporo, Japan||Feb 11-14, 2016|
|Dana Penkivech||Apple Valley, MN||WOG Qualification, Round 2||Sapporo, Japan||Feb 11-14, 2016|
|Samantha Hiller||Boulder, CO||Women’s Youth Olympic Games||Lillehammer, Norway||Feb 12-21, 2016|
|Katie Guay||Dedham, MA||World Women’s Division IA||Aalborg, Denmark||Mar 25-Apr 1, 2016|
|Jamie Fenstermacher||Hibbing, MN||World Women’s Division IA||Aalborg, Denmark||Mar 25-Apr 1, 2016|
|Jerilyn Glenn||St. Paul, MN||World Women’s||Kamloops, Canada||Mar 20-Apr 4, 2016|
|Jamie Huntley||La Jolla, CA||World Women’s||Kamloops, Canada||Mar 20-Apr 4, 2016|
|Michaela Frattarelli||Bristol, RI||World Women’s||Kamloops, Canada||Mar 20-Apr 4, 2016|
|Dina Allen||North Tonawanda, NY||World Women's Div. II Group A||Bled, Slovenia||Apr 2-8|
|Jodi Price||Rochester, NY||World Women's Div. I Group B||Asiago, Italy||Apr 4-10|
|Ryan Daisy||Mansfield, MA||World U18 Division IA||Minsk, Belarus||Apr 9-15, 2016|
|Stephen Thomson||Canandaigua, NY||World Men Division IIB||Mexico City, Mexico||Apr 9-15, 2016|
|William Hancock II||Huntington Woods, MI||World Men Division IIB||Mexico City, Mexico||Apr 9-15, 2016|
|Brett Sheva||Horsham, PA||World U18||Grand Forks, ND||Apr 14-24, 2016|
|Cameron Voss||Worcester, MA||World U18||Grand Forks, ND||Apr 14-24, 2016|
|Jake Davis||Wyandotte, MI||World U18||Grand Forks, ND||Apr 14-24, 2016|
|Stephen Reneau||Sugar Creek, MO||World Men's Div. I Group A||Katowice, Poland||April 23-29|
|Timothy Mayer||Okemos, MI||World Men's||Moscow/St. Petersberg, Russia||May 6-22|
|Fraser McIntyre||Amherst, NY||World Men's||Moscow/St. Petersberg, Russia||May 6-22|
|Judson Ritter||Bethlehem, PA||World Men's||Moscow/St. Petersberg, Russia||May 6-22|
This week’s features: Stacked penalties...Puck out of play...Penalty shots...and more.
QUESTION: During a shootout, a player skating in front of the goaltender, anticipates the poke-check, steps around the goaltender’s stick & scores. The official by the net says the player moved slightly backward to avoid the poke-check & did not continue toward the net therefore no goal. After discussion I reluctantly agreed but I argued the player & puck were always moving forward & they are entitled to deke the goalie. Essentially, I equate this to a player using the “spin-o-rama” move.
ANSWER: Shooters are expected to stay in a fluid forward motion toward the opponent’s goal during a shoot-out attempt. They may turn to either side of the goal, or peel-off to cut across the front of the net, or stickhandle the puck forward and back, as long as they stay in motion toward the goal. The “spirit and intent” of the rule is a shooter may not stop or turn-back to repeat his/her approach toward the goal.
QUESTION: An attacking player attempts a wrap around which is stopped by the goaltender but not covered. During the ensuing scramble in front, while the puck is still loose the attacking player pushes both the goaltenders leg and the puck into the net. Should a goal be awarded?
ANSWER: An attacking player may not physically interfere with a goalkeeper in his/her crease. While a puck that is located in the crease is “in play”, an attacking player may not push or otherwise force the puck into the goal by making contact with the goalkeeper.
QUESTION: Is it OK for a referee to purposefully not make calls due to a personal issue with a coach? And to go as far as to telling the team captain such when he asks about a call?
ANSWER: All USA Hockey Officials are expected to follow the On-Ice Officials Code-of-Conduct which is listed in the 2021-25 Playing Rules,
QUESTION: If a player takes a shot at the goal in the offensive zone and the shot goes directly out of play without touching anyone or anything is that a delay of game penalty?
ANSWER: A player may only be penalized for shooting the puck out of play if he/she did so intentionally.
QUESTION: Team A is short handed 3 v. 5. Penalties. Team B then has a breakaway. The Team B attacker is hooked, a delayed penalty is signaled, and then Team B scores. Is the delayed penalty recorded and stricken due to the goal, or does it become a stacked penalty?
ANSWER: Rule 409(b) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,
“If the Referee signals an additional minor penalty(s) against a team that is already shorthanded (below the numerical strength of its opponent on the ice at the time of the goal) because of one or more minor or bench minor penalties, and a goal is scored by the non-offending team, the goal shall be allowed. The delayed penalty(s) shall be assessed and the first non-coincidental minor penalty already being served shall terminate automatically under Rule 402(c) (Minor Penalties).”
Therefore, the first minor currently being served would terminate after the Team B goal, and the offending player during the breakaway would enter the penalty bench and immediately begin serving his/her Hooking minor.
Download the USA Hockey Mobile Rulebook App to your mobile device from your app store today!