skip navigation

U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Celebration Sold Out

By, 12/09/15, 9:00AM MST


ESPN's Steve Levy to Serve as Master of Ceremonies

U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Celebration Sold Out

ESPN's Steve Levy to Serve as Master of Ceremonies

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The 2015 U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Celebration, set for Thursday, Dec. 17, at the Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel, is sold out, USA Hockey announced today.

The Class of 2015 —including Ron DeGregorio, Chris Drury, Angela Ruggiero and MathieuSchneider — will be formally enshrined that night. The evening's festivities, which will begin at 7 p.m. ET, will also include the presentation of the Lester Patrick Trophy to Boston Bruins ownerJeremy Jacobs and former Boston University coach and longtime NHL scout Bob Crocker. Additionally, Emile Francis will be presented with the Wayne Gretzky International Award.

Steve Levy of ESPN will serve as the master of ceremonies for the event for the sixth consecutive year. Levy has been an anchor on SportsCenter since joining ESPN in August of 1993. In addition, he has handled play-by-play for NHL hockey, college football and two NCAA Frozen Four tournaments on the ESPN family of channels, as well as ABC Sports. Levy is also known for calling the three longest televised NHL Playoff games in history: the five-overtime game between Pittsburgh and Philadelphia on ESPN (May 2000), the five-overtime meeting between Anaheim and Dallas on ESPN (April 2003) and the four-overtime contest between Pittsburgh and Washington on ESPN2 (April 1996).

Full coverage of the 2015 U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, including a live stream of the event, will be available online at

Notes: USA Hockey took over responsibilities for the selection process and induction event associated with the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame in 2006 ... The U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame was incorporated in 1969 and inducted its first class in 1973. To date, there are 161 enshrined members in the Hall. For information on the members of the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame, visit ... The U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Museum, located in Eveleth, Minnesota, is open daily. For hours of operation and admission prices, visit or call 800-443-7825.

Class of 2015 News

Popular News & Features

2021-22 ATO | WEEK 31

By USA Hockey 03/04/2022, 6:15am MST

This week’s features: Goalkeeper interference...Control of the puck...Injured players...and more.

QUESTION: I was reffing a game this past weekend and a player high sticked the puck "on goal". The puck deflected off the goalie's chest back to the player who shot the puck in the net. In the rule book, it says the player must have complete control of the puck in order to negate the high stick, but does a save count as complete control?

ANSWER: A rebound off a goalkeeper is not considered “control” of the puck for the purposes of negating a potential High-Stick or Hand-Pass offense.


QUESTIONI had a 8U player get penalized for embellishment related to a tripping call that went against him? So they called the trip but also called embellishment against my player, so we played 5 vs 5. I have looked in rule 601 for Abuse of Officials and found no language of embellishment being a makable call. Any insight would be appreciated.

ANSWER: There is no “Diving” rule in the USA Hockey Playing Rules.


QUESTIONDelayed minor penalty coming against the home team. Home team gains possession and control just outside of their defensive zone. In those two feet between the neutral zone dot and the blue line. Where is the ensuing face-off?

ANSWER: In this situation, the face-off would occur in the Home Team's defending end-zone.


QUESTION: A player from Team A has the puck behind their net. A player from Team B skates just inside the goalkeeper's crease towards the player behind the net. Team A goalie sticks his catching glove up waiving it around blocking Team B players vision and direct path to Team A player behind the net. Team A had clear possession of the puck during the play. Is the goalie allowed to wave their arms around and block Team B players from skating through the crease in this situation?

ANSWER: While attacking players are not permitted to skate through the opposing goalkeeper’s crease (unless the puck is located in the crease), goalkeepers are not permitted to physically interfere with attacking players who do not have possession of the puck.


QUESTIONCan an injured player be on the bench with his team wearing a helmet and his jersey?

ANSWER: Yes, a player who is unable to play due to injury or illness (i.e. not suspended) may stand on the team bench during a game provided he/she wears a helmet, face-mask and team jersey. He/she should not be listed on the game roster as a player or team official. 

Download the USA Hockey Mobile Rulebook App to your mobile device from your app store today!

U.S. Olympic legend was recently hired as third female assistant GM in NHL history

Shortly after returning from Beijing, Compher attended a Try Hockey For Free event