skip navigation

Hometown Florida Panthers Claim Tier I Division Title in Sled Classic

By, 11/23/15, 9:00AM MST


Blue Jackets, Coyotes and Sabres Also Crowned Champs

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Florida Panthers, Columbus Blue Jackets, Arizona Coyotes and Buffalo Sabres each earned titles on Sunday (Nov. 22) at the sixth annual USA Hockey Sled Classic, presented by the NHL.

The four-day event that commenced last Thursday (Nov. 19) was hosted by the Florida Panthers and staged at the Florida Panthers IceDen in Coral Springs, Florida. The field included a record 20 teams, each affiliated with an NHL club.

In the Tier I championship game, the Florida Panthers edged the Colorado Avalanche, 4-3, while the Columbus Blue Jackets blanked the Minnesota Wild, 7-0, to claim the Tier II crown. In the Tier III Division, the Arizona Coyotes defeated the Colorado Avalanche, 5-0, while the Buffalo Sabres shut out the Nashville Predators, 2-0, for the Tier IV title.

Other NHL clubs that sponsored teams included the Anaheim Ducks, Boston Bruins, Carolina Hurricanes, Chicago Blackhawks, Ottawa Senators, Philadelphia Flyers, Pittsburgh Penguins and St. Louis Blues. Each sled hockey team represented its affiliated NHL club by wearing official NHL licensed jerseys with local club marks and logos.

NOTES: The event is part of the fifth annual Come Play Hockey Month, a joint effort between USA Hockey and the NHL ... Five NHL clubs – the Buffalo Sabres, Chicago Blackhawks, Colorado Avalanche, Nashville Predators and Pittsburgh Penguins – represented two separate teams in this year's USA Hockey Sled Classic ... The Colorado Avalanche hosted the inaugural USA Hockey Sled Classic in 2010 in Denver, where the Colorado Avalanche Sled Hockey Team won the four-team tournament … In 2011, the Philadelphia Flyers held the event in Voorhees, New Jersey, where the Buffalo Sabres Sled Hockey Team took first place among nine teams … In 2012, the Buffalo Sabres put on the tournament in Williamsville, New York, with the Dallas Stars winning the ‘A’ Division and the Washington Capitals capturing the ‘B’ Division … In 2013, the Pittsburgh Penguins hosted the tournament in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and the Dallas Stars and Washington Capitals repeated as the ‘A’ and B’ Division champions, while the Nashville Predators won the inaugural ‘C’ Division … A year ago, the Washington Capitals hosted the tournament in Arlington, Virginia, where the Chicago Blackhawks captured the Tier I Division, the Philadelphia Flyers claimed the Tier II Division, and the Minnesota Wild won the Tier III division ... For more information on the sport of sled hockey, click here.

Recent News

  • Changing On The Fly

  • By Harry Thompson 02/06/2020, 8:00pm MST
  • USA Hockey Doesn’t Miss A Beat In Moving Pond Hockey Event To New Location
  • Read More

Most Popular Articles

Buckle Down on Defense with These 5 Tips

By USA Hockey 02/13/2020, 11:45am MST

5 Tips for Tighter, Smarter Defense (and More Puck Possession)

Massachusetts program’s success with ADM principles earned it Model Association status in 2016

Justin Perron Putting Physics on Ice

By Dave Pond 02/13/2020, 10:30am MST

Physics Professor Building Bonds Through Hockey