skip navigation

U.S. Women's Natl Team Wins Four Nations Cup

By, 11/08/15, 8:30AM MST


U.S. Comes From Behind to Defeat Canada 3-2 in OT

SUNDSVALL, Sweden. – Hilary Knight (Sun Valley, Idaho) scored in overtime as the U.S. Women's National Team came from behind to claim its sixth Four Nations Cup Championship with a 3-2 victory over rival Canada here today. The U.S trailed 2-1 going into the third period but prevailed in a hard-fought final period and extra frame. Jessie Vetter (Cottage Grove, Wis.) stopped 30 of the 32 shots she faced to earn the victory.

"We came out and played a very complete game and did what we needed to do to win," said Ken Klee, head coach of the U.S. Women's National Team. "I'm proud of the team and all the effort they put in. We never gave up and it was a well deserved victory."

After a scoreless first period, Canada took a 1-0 lead on a power-play goal that was redirected in the slot off a point shot at 1:04 of the second frame. 

Brianna Decker (Dousman, Wis.) responded at 6:36 on the power play, picking up a loose puck and putting it past Canada's goaltender to even the score.

Canada added another goal at 14:15 and went into the second intermisison with a 2-1 lead.

The U.S. entered the third period on a power play and seconds after it expired, Decker notched her second goal of the game at 1:46 to make it 2-2. The score remained tied to send the game into overtime.

Just 36 seconds into the extra frame, Knight took a pass from Kelli Stack (Brooklyn Heights, Ohio) and skated in on a partial breakaway and buried a shot over the glove hand of Canada's goatender to seal the victory, 3-2.

For a complete box score, click here.

NOTES: Decker was named U.S. Player of the Game ... Stack was named the tournament's Best Forward and Monique Lamoureux was named Best Defensemean. Stack was the tournament's leading scorer with eight points and six assists. Jocelyne Lamoureux-Davidson registered the most goals with four and Monique Lamoureux led all defensemen with six points (2-4) ... The United States has now captured the title six times (1997, 2003, 2008, 2011-12, 2015).



Most Popular Articles

More than 750 players and 34 teams competed in the inaugural event.

60 Teams Will Compete For National Titles Across Nine Tiers; Live Streaming on

Six Teams Earn Top Warrior Hockey Honors in Wayne, N.J.