skip navigation

Jim Smith Elected President of USA Hockey

By USA Hockey, 06/06/15, 12:15PM MDT


Becomes Just 5th President in Organization's History

COLORADO SPRINGS – Jim Smith (Mount Prospect, Ill.) was unanimously elected president of USA Hockey here today at the organization’s Board of Directors meeting that culminated the four-day USA Hockey Annual Congress.
Smith succeeds Ron DeGregorio, who retired after 12 years in the position.
“I’m honored and humbled for the opportunity to serve as president of such a wonderful organization,” said Smith, who for the last 20 years has been a part of USA Hockey’s executive committee, first as secretary and since 2003 as treasurer. “To follow in the footsteps of Walter Bush and Ron DeGregorio is a difficult task, but with the help of our Board and everyone involved, I look forward to continuing to build on the solid foundation that is currently in place.”
Smith will also serve as president of the USA Hockey Foundation.
Over the last 30 years, Smith has been involved in nearly every facet of the organization, including 28 years as a member of the Youth Council.
John Beadle was re-elected as vice president and chair of the adult council
Dave Klasnick was re-elected as vice president and chair of the youth council
Donna Guariglia was elected as treasurer
Sarah Fraser and Phil Verchota were re-elected as athlete directors
Don Mulder and Mike Bonish were elected as director representatives to the executive committee
Shelley Looney was re-elected as athlete representative to the executive committee
NOTES: DeGregorio and longtime USA Hockey President Walter Bush were affirmed by USA Hockey’s Board of Directors as co-chairs of the Board … DeGregorio was honored with a lengthy standing ovation following his closing remarks at the Board  meeting … DeGregorio honored several individual with the President’s Awards throughout the four-day Annual Congress including Michele Amidon, Joe Bonnett, Guy Gosselin, Roger Grillo, Donna Guariglia, Ty Hennes, Casey Jorgensen, Donna Kauffman, Steve Laing, Shelley Looney, Bob Mancini, Dave Margenau, Ken Martel, Lee Meyer, Scott Paluch, and Kenny RauschRich Becker and Dennis Green were elected director emeritus … Jim Dewhirst was affirmed by the Board as chair of the officials section … Joe Bertagna was re-elected as NCAA Director; J.J. O’Connor was re-elected as chair of the disabled section; and Bob Mathson was re-elected chair of the high school section … Julie Chu and Jamie Hagerman Phinney were re-elected as athlete directors, while Craig Conroy, Molly Engstrom, Taylor Lipsett and Freddy Meyer were newly elected as athlete directors.

Recent News

Most Popular Articles

12U+: 3v3 Wrap-Around

By USA Hockey 01/23/2023, 1:30pm MST

2022-23 ATO | WEEK 22

By USA Hockey Officiating Program 01/27/2023, 6:30am MST

QUESTION: If you have a player with a suspension, and you tell the referee to record it on the scoresheet before a game because the player is sitting out, but the referee comes over before the game a tells you he talked to the league and said he can play what should you do?

ANSWER: All suspensions and other forms of discipline are managed by the local USAH Affiliate of the team, and referees cannot determine player eligibility. Ultimately, it is the responsibility of the Team Coach to make sure players serve their suspensions. Therefore, it would be wise to receive any disciplinary notice from the local Affiliate first-hand.


QUESTIONA player is in the penalty box serving a minor penalty. Play continues 5 v. 4 while the player complains about the call. Play is stopped when the referee assesses the penalized player a second minor penalty for Unsportsmanlike Conduct. Should two minutes be added to the time remaining on the scoreboard for the player's first penalty, or should a second penalty be placed on the scoreboard with play then continuing "5 v. 3"?

ANSWER: In this situation, the same player earned both penalties. Therefore, two minutes must be added to the remaining time on the player’s first penalty and play resumes 5 v. 4.


QUESTIONAttacking team in the attacking zone gets a delayed penalty for High-Sticking. The defensive team clears the puck out of the zone and the penalized team's goalie plays the puck. I would like to know where the ensuing face-off should take place.

ANSWER: Since play stopped due to the offending team’s goalkeeper securing possession and control of the puck, the face-off would be located at the nearest face-off spot (in the same zone) as where the goalkeeper played the puck.


QUESTIONIf a goalie kicks the net off, can a goal still be scored? Situation is a goal mouth pass came from left to right, goalie slid across, knocking the net off, and a pass was then sent back across to the for an open net goal. Ref called it a "goal" and then realized the net was off and called it "no goal".

ANSWERRule 610.e in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states:

“Play shall be stopped immediately when the goal frame has been displaced from its normal position.”

Therefore, if the officials are 100% certain that the goal frame was displaced before the puck entered the goal, they must disallow the goal.


QUESTION:  If a player of the opposing team swears at a coach, what is the punishment for that player?

ANSWERRule 601.c in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states:

“A misconduct penalty shall be assessed to any player who commits the following actions:

Persists in any conduct where they were previously assessed a minor penalty for unsportsmanlike conduct.

Using obscene, profane or abusive language to any person anywhere in the rink before, during or after the game.

Intentionally knocking or shooting the puck out of the reach of an official who is retrieving it during a stoppage of play.

Not proceeding directly and immediately to the penalty bench or to the dressing room, after being penalized and ordered to do so by the officials (equipment shall be delivered to him by a teammate, if necessary).

Entering or remaining in the Referee’s Crease, unless invited to do so.

Interfering in any non-physical manner with any Game Official including the Referee, Linesman, Timekeepers or Goal Judges in the performance of their duties.”


The USA Hockey Playing Rules are now available as a mobile device app! Check your Apple, Android, or Windows app store to download this playing rule app free of charge.

Check out the USA Hockey mobile-friendly online rulebook application! Enter into your mobile device’s web browser to gain instant access to the USA Hockey Playing Rules (must have mobile or internet service).

The USA Hockey Playing Rules Casebook and other educational material can be found under the OFFICIALS tab at

3 Tips for Measuring Your Powders

By USA Hockey 04/11/2017, 11:00am MDT

Useful tips when getting ready to mix up a shake