skip navigation

Florida Panthers To Host 2015 Sled Classic, Presented by NHL

By, 07/13/15, 1:00PM MDT


Tournament will take place in Coral Springs, Florida, November 19-22

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – USA Hockey announced today that the sixth annual USA Hockey Sled Classic, presented by the National Hockey League, will be hosted by the Florida Panthers and Florida Sled Hockey Association. The four-day event will take place November 19-22, 2015, at the Florida Panthers IceDen, the official practice facility of the Florida Panthers, in Coral Springs, Florida.

First staged in 2010, the USA Hockey Sled Classic is an annual round-robin format tournament between NHL-affiliated sled hockey teams. All competing teams represent their affiliated NHL club by wearing official NHL licensed jerseys with local club marks and logos. 

Twenty NHL sled teams are expected to play in this year’s tournament and will feature three divisions: A division, B division, and C division. Last year, the event featured 16 teams affiliated with NHL clubs and culminated in the Chicago Blackhawks winning the Tier I Division, the Philadelphia Flyers claiming the Tier II Division, and the Minnesota Wild capturing the Tier III Division.

Full details surrounding the tournament will be released at a later date. 

NOTES: Select games may be played at the BB&T Center, the home of the Florida Panthers … The Colorado Avalanche hosted the inaugural USA Hockey Sled Classic in 2010 in Denver, Colorado, where the Colorado Avalanche Sled Hockey Team won the four-team tournament … In 2011, the Philadelphia Flyers held the event in Voorhees, New Jersey, where the Buffalo Sabres Sled Hockey Team took first place among nine teams … In 2012, the Buffalo Sabres put on the tournament in Williamsville, New York, with the Dallas Stars winning the ‘A’ Division and the Washington Capitals capturing the ‘B’ Division … In 2013, the Pittsburgh Penguins hosted the tournament in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and the Dallas Stars and Washington Capitals repeated as the ‘A’ and B’ Division champions, respectively, while the Nashville Predators won the inaugural ‘C’ Division … A year ago, the Washington Capitals hosted the tournament in Arlington, Virginia, where the Chicago Blackhawks captured the Tier I Division, the Philadelphia Flyers claimed the Tier II Division, and the Minnesota Wild won the Tier III division … Participating teams in the tournament must have an official affiliation with an NHL member club … For more information on the sport of sled hockey and to view a list of sled hockey teams in the U.S., click here.

Recent News

Most Popular Articles

The organization saw nine players excel at the 2023 Amerigol LATAM Cup in southern Florida

Disabled Hockey Event Calendar Set For 2023-24

By USA Hockey 08/15/2023, 11:45am MDT

Inaugural Toyota USA Hockey Warrior National Championship Set For April

Merchandise will ONLY be available via Pre-Sale

This year the only way to purchase event merchandise is to pre-order it prior to getting to the event.


Some of the merchandise items available for pre-order include a hat, t-shirts, sweatshirts, polo shirts, and jackets.  

All pre-sale merchandise purchased will be billed at the time of purchase. No Shipping charges will apply on pre-sale orders if you use the promo code sledhockey2015 at check out. All pre-sale merchandise must be ordered by October 15, 2015 to be available for picked up at the rink, at or near the check-in table on-site at the Sled Classic.

Please have receipt and or proper ID for merchandise pick up at rink.

To view all items and place a pre-order, click here