skip navigation

Celebrate Anniversary of Paralympic Gold Medal

By, 03/15/15, 12:00AM MDT


One year ago today, Team USA won gold in Sochi

One year ago today, the U.S. Paralympic Ice Hockey Team shutout host-country Russia, 1-0, in the gold-medal game at the 2014 Paralympic Winter Games in Sochi.

With the victory, the U.S. became the first team to secure back-to-back sled hockey Paralympic gold medals. This was Team USA's third gold medal in four Paralympic Winter Games.

Josh Sweeney (Phoenix, Ariz.) scored the game-winning goal almost midway through the second period, and goaltender Steve Cash (Overland, Mo.) stopped all six shots he faced, helping claim the historic win.

Click the below link to watch the PBS documentary Ice Warriors: USA Sled Hockey and relive Team USA's 2014 Paralympic journey.

Paralympic Results

Date Result Opponent
Sat., March 8 W, 5-1 Italy
Sun., March 9 W, 3-0 South Korea
Tues., March 11 L, 1-2 Russia
Thurs., March 13 W, 3-0 Canada (Semifinals)
Sat., March 15 W, 1-0 Russia
(Gold Medal Game)

Popular Articles

2021-22 ATO | WEEK 32

By USA Hockey 03/11/2022, 6:15am MST

This week’s features: Suspended games...GoPro Cameras...Refusal to start play...and more.

QUESTION: Can I put a GoPro on the top of my helmet for a Bantam B game?

ANSWER: The USA Hockey Playing Rules do not permit any player or official to wear any type of camera during any USA Hockey sanctioned game.


QUESTIONI just wondered what the rule is on a coach following an official into the referee room after a game to dispute calls? Should this be tolerated?

ANSWER: Unless they are invited to enter, no non-officiating personnel should ever enter the Officials dressing room. This type of behavior should be reported to the Local Supervisor of Officials and Youth Hockey Association for proper discipline.


QUESTIONIf the goalie catches the puck but his own momentum carries his entire glove and forearm clearly across the goal line before he pulls it back out, is a goal still awarded even though the puck is not directly visualized across the line?

ANSWER: If the official determines the puck completely crossed the goal line while inside the goalkeeper’s glove, the goal should be awarded. This assumes there was no physical interference by the attacking team that caused the puck to cross the goal line.


QUESTIONHigh school hockey game suspended at 8:29 of the second period due to protective walls around rink being broken and not being able to be repaired. Score 2 to 1 at time. Game rescheduled for later date. Does game resume at 8:29 point or start over as less than half game played?

ANSWER: The USA Hockey National Office does not decide the outcome of suspended games. This decision is made by the local League or Youth Association hosting the game.


QUESTIONIn regards to Rule 633, when one team decides not to continue to play, does the ref have to follow the process (warn the Captain and allow the team 15 seconds , give a bench minor penalty, and if the same team refuses to continue play, the Referee shall suspend the game and assess a match penalty to the responsible Team Official(s).) Or can the ref decide not to speak to the coach and just submit an incident report for a match penalty?

ANSWER: Given the repercussions of a Match penalty (i.e. immediate suspension pending a hearing), it is very important that the game officials follow the correct procedure when managing a team that refuses to start play. This includes all steps listed in your question.

Download the USA Hockey Mobile Rulebook App to your mobile device from your app store today!

3 Tips for Measuring Your Powders

By USA Hockey 04/11/2017, 11:00am MDT

Useful tips when getting ready to mix up a shake

2021-22 ATO | WEEK 31

By USA Hockey 03/04/2022, 6:15am MST

This week’s features: Goalkeeper interference...Control of the puck...Injured players...and more.

QUESTION: I was reffing a game this past weekend and a player high sticked the puck "on goal". The puck deflected off the goalie's chest back to the player who shot the puck in the net. In the rule book, it says the player must have complete control of the puck in order to negate the high stick, but does a save count as complete control?

ANSWER: A rebound off a goalkeeper is not considered “control” of the puck for the purposes of negating a potential High-Stick or Hand-Pass offense.


QUESTIONI had a 8U player get penalized for embellishment related to a tripping call that went against him? So they called the trip but also called embellishment against my player, so we played 5 vs 5. I have looked in rule 601 for Abuse of Officials and found no language of embellishment being a makable call. Any insight would be appreciated.

ANSWER: There is no “Diving” rule in the USA Hockey Playing Rules.


QUESTIONDelayed minor penalty coming against the home team. Home team gains possession and control just outside of their defensive zone. In those two feet between the neutral zone dot and the blue line. Where is the ensuing face-off?

ANSWER: In this situation, the face-off would occur in the Home Team's defending end-zone.


QUESTION: A player from Team A has the puck behind their net. A player from Team B skates just inside the goalkeeper's crease towards the player behind the net. Team A goalie sticks his catching glove up waiving it around blocking Team B players vision and direct path to Team A player behind the net. Team A had clear possession of the puck during the play. Is the goalie allowed to wave their arms around and block Team B players from skating through the crease in this situation?

ANSWER: While attacking players are not permitted to skate through the opposing goalkeeper’s crease (unless the puck is located in the crease), goalkeepers are not permitted to physically interfere with attacking players who do not have possession of the puck.


QUESTIONCan an injured player be on the bench with his team wearing a helmet and his jersey?

ANSWER: Yes, a player who is unable to play due to injury or illness (i.e. not suspended) may stand on the team bench during a game provided he/she wears a helmet, face-mask and team jersey. He/she should not be listed on the game roster as a player or team official. 

Download the USA Hockey Mobile Rulebook App to your mobile device from your app store today!