skip navigation

U.S. National Sled Team Training Camp Underway in Missouri

By, 12/09/14, 10:58AM MST


2014-15 Team Will Train Wed.-Sat. (Dec. 10-13) at Lindenwood University Ice Arena

The 2014-15 U.S. National Sled Hockey Team will conduct a training camp from Wednesday-Saturday (Dec. 10-13) at Lindenwood University Ice Arena in Wentzville, Missouri.

Team USA will participate in six practices, all open to the public, commencing Wednesday. See below for the full practice schedule:

U.S. National Sled Hockey Team Practice Schedule

Date Time
Wed., Dec 10 7:00-8:00 p.m.
Thurs., Dec 11 10:00-11:30 a.m.
Fri., Dec 12 10:00-11:30 a.m.
3:30-5:00 p.m.
Sat., Dec 13 10:00-11:30 a.m.
3:30-5:00 p.m.

The first competition of the season for the U.S. will come at the 2015 World Sled Hockey Challenge in Leduc, Alberta, from Jan. 31-Feb. 8. Team USA will also host Canada in a three-game series in Charlotte, North Carolina, from March 24-29 and host the IPC Sled Hockey World Championship April 20-May 2 in Buffalo, New York.

Notes: Dan Brennan (Colorado Springs, Colo.), director of the sled and inline national teams for USA Hockey, is serving as the general manager of the 2014-15 U.S. National Sled Hockey Team ... Jeff Sauer (Madison, Wis.) is in his fourth year as head coach of the U.S. National Sled Hockey Team. Under his direction, Team USA won gold at the 2014 Paralympic Winter Games and the 2012 International Paralympic Committee World Sled Hockey Championship ... Guy Gosselin (Grafton, Wis.), American Development Model regional manager for USA Hockey, is in his third season as an assistant coach for the U.S. National Sled Hockey Team ... The U.S. has four top-three finishes in the previous four World Sled Hockey Challenges (2013, second place; 2012, first place; 2011, second place; 2011, third place). The World Sled Challenge is not held in Paralympic years (2014; 2010) and the inaugural tournament was held in 2007 ... Team USA has finished in the top three of the last four IPC Sled Hockey World Championships, including gold medal finishes in 2009 and 2012.

Recent News

Most Popular Articles

USA Hockey Announces 2018 Award Winners

By 05/22/2018, 11:00am MDT

Awards to be Presented During 2018 Annual Congress, June 6-9 in Colorado Springs

Will take over for the late Jim Johannson; To begin duties June 4

Fargo Force Break Late Ties to Win Clark Cup

By Tom Robinson 05/23/2018, 10:30am MDT

Fargo becomes the third team in a row to win its first Cup