skip navigation

Blackhawks, Flyers and Wild Crowned Champs in Sled Classic

By, 11/26/14, 10:00AM MST


Chicago, Philadelphia and Minnesota each earned titles at the fifth annual USA Hockey Sled Classic, presented by the NHL

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The Chicago Blackhawks, Philadelphia Flyers and Minnesota Wild each earned titles on Sunday (Nov. 23) at the fifth annual USA Hockey Sled Classic, presented by the National Hockey League. 

The four-day event that commenced last Thursday (Nov. 21) was hosted by the Washington Capitals and staged at the Kettler Capitals Iceplex in Arlington, Virginia. The field included 16 teams, each affiliated with an NHL club.

In the Tier I championship game, the Chicago Blackhawks beat the Colorado Avalanche, 3-2, scoring three unanswered goals in the third period. The Philadelphia Flyers topped the Boston Bruins, 2-1, to earn the Tier II title, while the Minnesota Wild won Tier III, defeating the Arizona Coyotes, 4-2.

Additional NHL clubs that sponsored teams included the Carolina Hurricanes, Columbus Blue Jackets, Florida Panthers, Nashville Predators, Ottawa Senators, Pittsburgh Penguins and Washington Capitals. Each sled hockey team represented its affiliated NHL club by wearing official NHL licensed jerseys with local club marks and logos.

NOTES: The Buffalo Sabres had four teams set to compete in this year's Sled Classic, however, due to record snowstorms, their teams were unable to particiapte in the tournament ... The Colorado Avalanche hosted the inaugural USA Hockey Sled Classic in 2010. The Colorado Avalanche Sled Hockey Team won the four-team tournament … In 2011, the Philadelphia Flyers held the event in Vorhees, New Jersey, where the Buffalo Sabres Sled Hockey Team took first place among nine teams … In 2012, the Buffalo Sabres put on the tournament in Williamsville, New York, with the Dallas Stars winning the 'A' Division and the Washington Capitals capturing the 'B' Division ... Last year the Pittsburgh Penguins hosted the tournament in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and the Dallas Stars and Washington Capitals repeated as the 'A' Division and 'B' Division champions, respectively. The Nashville Predators won the inaugural 'C' Division ... Participating teams in the tournament must have an official affiliation with an NHL member club.

Related News

Team USA forward Malik Jones looks out on the ice.
Declan Farmer shoots the puck on net

Most Popular Articles

Natalie Darwitz Enshrined Into IIHF Hall of Fame

By USA Hockey 05/26/2024, 4:45am MDT

Minnesota native starred for U.S. in three Olympics and eight world championships

3 Tips for Measuring Your Powders

By USA Hockey 04/11/2017, 11:00am MDT

Useful tips when getting ready to mix up a shake