skip navigation

USA Hockey Sled Classic Underway in D.C.

By, 11/21/14, 11:45AM MST


Fifth Annual USA Hockey Sled Classic, Presented by the NHL, Boasts Largest Field Ever

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The fifth annual USA Hockey Sled Classic, presented by the National Hockey League and hosted by the Washington Capitals, will take place Thursday through Sunday (Nov. 20-23) at Kettler Capitals Iceplex in Arlington, Virginia.

The event is part of the fourth annual Come Play Hockey Month, a joint effort between USA Hockey and the NHL.

The record 18-team field will include 200-plus athletes. Ten members of the 2014 U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team that won gold earlier this year in Sochi, Russia, as well as 11 current members of the 2014-15 U.S. National Sled Team will participate in the tournament. 

"The NHL and its member clubs have been great supporters of the USA Hockey Sled Classic," said Jeremy Kennedy, manager of membership and disabled hockey for USA Hockey. "With the success our team had at the 2014 Paralympic Games, the interest in sled hockey continues to increase, and this year's tournament in Washington, D.C., includes two additional teams and a fourth tier."

Each of the 18 competing teams are affiliated with NHL clubs: Arizona Coyotes, Boston Bruins, Buffalo Sabres, Carolina Hurricanes, Chicago Blackhawks, Colorado Avalanche, Columbus Blue Jackets, Florida Panthers, Minnesota Wild, Nashville Predators, Ottawa Senators, Philadelphia Flyers, Pittsburgh Penguins and Washington Capitals. Sled hockey teams will represent their affiliated NHL club by wearing official NHL licensed jerseys with local club marks and logos.

NOTES: The Colorado Avalanche hosted the inaugural USA Hockey Sled Classic in 2010. The Colorado Avalanche Sled Hockey Team won the four-team tournament … In 2011, the Philadelphia Flyers held the event in Vorhees, New Jersey, where the Buffalo Sabres Sled Hockey Team took first place among nine teams … In 2012, the Buffalo Sabres put on the tournament in Williamsville, New York, with the Dallas Stars winning the 'A' Division and the Washington Capitals capturing the 'B' Division ... Last year the Pittsburgh Penguins hosted the tournament in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and the Dallas Stars and Washington Capitals repeated as the 'A' Division and 'B' Division champions, respectively. The Nashville Predators won the inaugural 'C' Division ... Participating teams in the tournament must have an official affiliation with an NHL member club.

Most Popular Articles

34 Teams Will Compete For National Titles Across Six Tiers; Live Streaming on

The logo is rooted in the region’s Native American history

Disabled Hockey Event Calendar Set For 2023-24

By USA Hockey 08/15/2023, 11:45am MDT

Inaugural Toyota USA Hockey Warrior National Championship Set For April