skip navigation

Schleper Skates with Lightning (NHL)

By USAHockey.com, 10/13/14, 5:30PM MDT

Share

Anne Schleper (AN-nee SHLEPP-er), a silver-medalist from the 2014 U.S. Women's Olympic Ice Hockey Team, took part in practice with the Tampa Bay Lightning (NHL) on Monday, October 13 at the Amalie Arena (401 Channelside Drive, Tampa, Florida 33602). Schleper's participation on Monday concluded the Lightning's activities and support of the International Ice Hockey Federation World Girls’ Ice Hockey Weekend. Throughout the weekend, Schleper served as a special guest in a number of events being hosted by the Lightning. To learn more about the team's programming and all of Schleper's involvement, go to the Tampa Bay Lightning's website. Along with the recent participation of fellow Olympian Hilary Knight with the Anaheim Ducks, these unique and well-deserved opportunities continue to showcase women's ice hockey and build awareness for the growth of the sport among female players.

"If we can build the sport in any way. I've got twin daughters, and if they look at this and are like, 'You know what, I'd love to play hockey,' then it's paying off for us."

-Lightning Head Coach Jon Cooper on the importance of Schleper's skate for the future of the sport.

Recent News


Bolts TV

Most Popular Articles

2021-22 ATO | WEEK 25

By USA Hockey 01/21/2022, 1:30pm MST

This week’s features: Kicking the stick...Vaping...Illegal contact...and more.

QUESTIONIf a child is caught vaping non-narcotic juice what is the policy of USA Hockey?

ANSWER: USA Hockey Playing Rule 601.f states:

"The use of tobacco products, vaping products or alcoholic beverages by any player or team official is prohibited in the rink area, including the bench areas and off-ice official area. A warning shall be issued by the Referee for the first offense by any participant and any subsequent violations by the same team shall result in a game misconduct penalty being assessed."

 

QUESTIONWhen play is in an end-zone and coming from behind the net up along the boards, the referee is stated to keep moving backwards along the boards out towards the blue line until play moves away. Is it okay to step off the boards and let a player with the puck pass or pivot out and around multiple players if going up the boards will inevitably lead to being in the way and possible contact?

ANSWER: For guidance on proper referee positioning in the end-zone, please consult the USA Hockey Basic Officiating Manual (pg. 17).

 

QUESTION: An attacking player is on a breakaway. They take a shot on goal and score, but lose control and slam into the goalie within the crease. Is the goal still awarded even though a penalty will be given for goalie interference? If the puck crossed the goal line immediately after making contact with the goalie in the crease would this change whether or not a goal is awarded?

ANSWER: An attacking player may not make contact with the goalkeeper who is positioned in his/her goal crease, and the attacking player may not push the goalkeeper who has possession of the puck into the goal to score a goal. If this happens, the goal must be disallowed and the attacking player should be assessed a penalty for interference or charging depending on the degree of contact (seeUSAH Rule 607(c) & (d) – Charging).
 
That being said, if the puck is shot into the goal prior to the illegal goalkeeper contact then the goal should be awarded. The resulting illegal contact after the goal should be penalized as normal.
 
If the puck enters the goal AFTER the illegal goalkeeper contact, then the goal should be disallowed.

 

QUESTIONWhat are the actions taken by the referee following a “kick shot”?

ANSWER: USA Hockey Playing Rule 627.c states:

"Kicking the puck shall be permitted provided the puck is not kicked by an attacking player and entered the goal either directly or after deflecting off any player including the goalkeeper. However, the puck may not be played by the so called “kick shot,” which combines the use of the leg and foot driving the shaft and blade of the stick and producing a very dangerous shot."

If the puck enters the goal through use of a "Kick Shot", the goal must be disallowed. If the puck doesn't enter the goal, play should be stopped. In both situations, the face-off should be located at the nearest neutral zone spot.

Download the USA Hockey Mobile Rulebook App to your mobile device from your app store today!

Santa Fe Hockey Finding Success with Little Howlers Program

By Stephen Kerr 01/27/2022, 11:00am MST

Enthusiasm is at an all-time high for youth hockey in New Mexico.

2021-22 ATO | WEEK 24

By USA Hockey 01/14/2022, 6:15am MST

This week’s features: Kicking the puck...Penalties and on-ice strength...Punctuality...and more.

QUESTIONWhat is the rule for matching hitting from behind penalties? Do each of the offending players serve the minor as they were coincidental or does another player serve them? Does the misconduct run concurrently to the minor or does it begin at the conclusion of the minor?

ANSWER: In the situation where two opposing players are assessed “matching” minor plus misconduct penalties (Charging, Boarding, Checking-from-behind, etc.), both players enter the penalty bench and are substituted for on the ice (play resumes 5 vs. 5). Both players will serve twelve minutes (2 + 10) and return to play at the first stoppage after twelve minutes. There is no need to place additional players in the penalty bench.

 

QUESTIONIf there is a hand pass in the attacking or neutral zone, where is the next face-off?

ANSWER: Rule 618(b) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,

“A player or goalkeeper shall not be allowed to “bat” the puck in the air, or push it along the ice with his hand, directly to a teammate unless the “hand pass” has been initiated and completed in his defending zone, in which case play shall be allowed to continue. If the “hand pass” occurs in the neutral or attacking zone, a stoppage of play will occur and a face-off will take place according to last play face-off rules provided no territorial advantage has been gained.”

Furthermore, Rule 612(c) states,

“When a stoppage of play occurs as the result of any action by the attacking team in the attacking zone, the ensuing face-off will take place at the nearest neutral zone face-off spot, unless the stoppage was a result of a shot going directly out of play off of the goal post or crossbar.“

 

QUESTION: My son of 11 has UHWK camera on his helmet. The helmet has not been modified. The UHWK is designed to fit on a hockey or lacrosse helmet. When the rules were change last year is when we bought one and told it was legal now. We have heard the GO pro is not since it protrudes the helmet and you sometimes have to modify the helmet.

ANSWER: The USA Hockey Playing Rules do not allow players to wear ANY type of camera during a game. The 2021-25 Playing Rule Changes did not change this rule.

 

QUESTIONPlayer A scores a goal off of teammate's skate Player B. Player B did not kick or intentionally redirect puck. Does the goal count and is Player A awarded a goal and is Player B awarded an assist?

ANSWER: A puck that enters the goal after a “deflection” (not “directed” or kicked) off an attacking player’s skate should count as a legal goal. The player the puck last touched shall be credited with the goal.

 

QUESTIONWhat is the game officials responsibility to be on time for a game? Where does it state their responsibility in a code of conduct? What are the codes of conduct for game officials? Can teams take to the ice prior to the game officials entering the rink before game? Who is responsible for reviewing unsafe officiating practices of officials?

ANSWER: Game officials are always expected to enter the ice surface on time, and before the teams. You will find a copy of the USA Hockey Game Officials Code-of-Conduct in the preface of the USA Hockey Playing Rules.

Download the USA Hockey Mobile Rulebook App to your mobile device from your app store today!