skip navigation

Daly, Holmgren to Receive 2014 Lester Patrick Trophy

By USAHockey.com, 09/16/14, 9:15AM MDT

Share

LISTEN: Paul Holmgren Interview

NEW YORK – Accomplished NHL executive Bill Daly and former player, coach, current Flyers executive Paul Holmgren have been named recipients of the 2014 Lester Patrick Trophy for outstanding service to hockey in the United States.

The award, one of the most prestigious in hockey, was presented to the National Hockey League by the New York Rangers in 1966. It honors the memory of Lester Patrick, who spent 50 years in hockey as a player, coach and general manager and was a pioneer in the sport’s development.

The recipients will be honored as part of the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Dinner on Thursday, December 4, in Minneapolis. Tickets are on sale and can be purchased at http://www.ushockeyhalloffame.com/.

Named the first-ever deputy commissioner of the National Hockey League on July 22, 2005, Bill Daly serves as the chief consultant to NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman on all issues that impact the League’s operation and overall business. In addition, he is instrumental in administering the League’s collective bargaining agreements and relationships with the NHL Players’ Association and the NHL Officials’ Association. His role in collective bargaining with the players in 2004-05 led to a revolutionary change to the League’s economic operating system.

Daly is the point person for the NHL’s dealings with USA Hockey, College Hockey Inc., the American Hockey League and United States Hockey League and is responsible for negotiating and administering the necessary working agreements related to those relationships. He oversees the NHL’s participation in all international hockey competitions, including the Olympics, World Cup of Hockey, and the International Ice Hockey Federation Men’s World Hockey Championships. Daly also serves as president of the NHL Foundation, an organization responsible for administering and directing charitable dollars and initiatives for the League and its clubs. He has played a major role in helping shape the NHL’s identity on the global sports landscape.

Paul Holmgren, president of the Philadelphia Flyers, played 10 seasons for the Flyers and the Minnesota North Stars. Drafted 108th overall in 1975 by the Flyers, his achievements as a player were highlighted by scoring three goals in Game 2 of the Stanley Cup Final in 1980 - the first time a U.S.-born player scored a hat trick in a Cup Final game. He was also a 1981 NHL All-Star. He went on to serve as assistant coach, head coach, assistant general manager, and general manger of the Flyers before assuming his current position this summer.

Holmgren has been widely involved in furthering the sport throughout his career in various roles for USA Hockey. He has served on the U.S. Men’s National Team Advisory Group since 2009 and was the assistant general manager of the 2006 U.S. Olympic Men’s Ice Hockey Team. In addition, he served as the general manager of the 2006 U.S. Men’s National Team and was an assistant coach for Team USA at the 1998 Olympic Winter Games and the 1996 World Cup of Hockey. As a player, Holmgren competed for the U.S. at the 1974 IIHF World Junior Championship and was invited to play on Team USA for the 1981 Canada Cup, but could not due to injury.

Recent News

Most Popular Articles

2022-23 ATO | WEEK 3

By USA Hockey Officiating Program 09/16/2022, 6:45am MDT

QUESTIONI was a timekeeper at my daughter’s game where the referee disagreed with a "running clock" rule. I was not rude to the ref, however he ejected me from the timekeeper position. The question I have is whether an on-ice official can eject an off-ice official?

ANSWER: The on-ice officials can remove an off-ice official if they feel they are not acting professionally or within the Game Officials’ Code of Conduct of USA Hockey.

 

QUESTION: During a Two-Official System game, the Front Official mistakenly waves off an icing believing because the goalie left the crease then icing is nullified. The Back Official doesn't blow his whistle as he's unsure why an otherwise obvious icing is waved off. The puck never leaves the end-zone, and a goal is scored. Referees convene and decide the icing rule was misinterpreted. The goal is disallowed. Is this correct call?

ANSWER: If the goal is the result of a missed icing call (officials are 100% certain), and the puck never left the end-zone the goal was scored in, and there are no play stoppages between the missed icing and the goal, then the goal should be disallowed.

 

QUESTIONIf a player's jersey number is listed incorrectly on the game-sheet, is there a penalty or even a forfeit of the game if the mistake is found after the game? The player is legally rostered, and listed in the playing line-up. The roster label had wrong jersey number listed.

ANSWER: This type of roster clerical issue must be brought to the local governing body of the game (league, hockey association, tournament committee, etc.) to decide upon. Generally, there are no penalties for small clerical errors as long as the player is listed on the game roster.

 

QUESTION: During a game, a player used the inside of her skate blade to keep the puck under her control (by kicking the puck) and move it ahead. I wondered if that was a legal move? No one else commented on it.

ANSWERRule 627.c in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states:

Kicking the puck shall be permitted provided the puck is not kicked by an attacking player and entered the goal either directly or after deflecting off any player including the goalkeeper.

However, the puck may not be played by the so called "kick shot," which combines the use of the leg and foot driving the shaft and blade of the stick and producing a very dangerous shot.”

 

QUESTIONAn incident occurred recently in a game where a player in the offensive zone had their feet pushed forward by a defender positioned behind them, as a result the offensive player lost his balance and while falling clipped the defender in the face with his stick drawing blood. What should the call be?

ANSWERPlayers are always accountable for controlling their stick at all times. Therefore, if a player recklessly endangers an opponent as a result of illegal stick contact (even if accidental) then they must be assessed a major plus game misconduct. However, any illegal action of an opponent that causes the illegal stick contact by the player who recklessly endangers the opponent should be penalized too.

 

The USA Hockey Playing Rules are now available as a mobile device app! Check your Apple, Android, or Windows app store to download this playing rule app free of charge.

Check out the USA Hockey mobile-friendly online rulebook application! Enter usahockeyrulebook.com into your mobile device’s web browser to gain instant access to the USA Hockey Playing Rules (must have mobile or internet service).

The USA Hockey Playing Rules Casebook and other educational material can be found under the OFFICIALS tab at USAHockey.com.

Grants from the fund will benefit Hispanic girls at the 8U and 10U levels

Juan Ruelas has Dedicated his Life to Youth Hockey in Kalamazoo

By Steve Drumwright 09/20/2022, 2:00pm MDT

The 51-year-old grew up playing in Kalamazoo and has coached youth hockey there for over a decade