COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Taylor Lipsett (Mesquite, Texas) and Andy Yohe (Bettendorf, Iowa), gold medalists from the 2014 U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team, have retired from international competition, USA Hockey annouced today.
“It’s bittersweet to see Taylor and Andy move on, but I’m also extremely happy to have the ability to thank them for the tremendous contributions they have made to our team, USA Hockey, the U.S. Olympic Committee and their country,” said Dan Brennan, general manager of the 2014 U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team and USA Hockey’s director of sled and inline national teams. “We've enjoyed great success together, and they have Paralympic gold medals and world championship gold as well and they should be extremely proud of that.”
Lipsett, a forward, spent more than a decade as a member of the U.S. National Sled Hockey Team, making his debut in 2003-04 as a 16 year old. At his first Paralympic Winter Games in 2006, he helped Team USA collect a bronze medal. In 2009, Lipsett and the U.S. won their first International Paralympic Committee Ice Sledge Hockey World Championship in Ostrava, Czech Republic. At the 2010 Paralympic Winter Games in Vancouver, B.C., Lipsett won a gold medal while leading Team USA with five goals. En route to the gold medal at the 2012 IPC Ice Sledge Hockey World Championship, he spearheaded the U.S. offense with six goals and eight points. Lastly, Lipsett competed in the 2014 Paralympic Winter Games, helping Team USA win gold in Sochi, Russia.
Yohe’s rookie season with Team USA culminated in a bronze medal at the 2006 Paralympic Winter Games in Torino, Italy. After a year off in 2007-08, he returned to the squad to help it capture the gold medal at the 2009 IPC Ice Sledge Hockey World Championship. He switched from forward to defense during the 2009-10 season and captained Team USA to gold at the 2010 Paralympic Winter Games in Vancouver, B.C. After sitting out three years for family reasons, Yohe reclaimed the captaincy in 2013-14 and helped guide Team USA to the gold medal once again at the 2014 Paralympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia.
NOTES: Taylor Chace (Hampton Falls, N.H.), Rico Roman (Portland, Ore.) and Greg Shaw (Merritt Island, Fla.) have elected to take the year off and will not participate with the U.S. National Sled Hockey Team during the 2014-15 season...Tryouts for the 2014-15 U.S. National Sled Hockey Team are set for Sat.-Sun. (July 12-13) at The Northtown Center at Amherst in Williamsville, New York. The roster will be announced the week of July 21.
QUESTION: Can a referee call a High-Sticking penalty against a player if the player's stick hits the referee above the shoulder after the referee drops the puck during a face-off?
ANSWER: Officials cannot penalize accidental stick contact with a player, even if it results in an injury. However, any intentional attempt to injure an official or intentional injury of an official should result in a Match Penalty.
QUESTION: Are neck-guards and mouthpieces mandatory at 10U level?
ANSWER: Under the USA Hockey Youth Playing Rules, mouthpieces and neck-guards are not required equipment at the 10U level. However, leagues and hockey associations are entitled to strengthen equipment rules with approval by the local governing USA Hockey Affiliate. Therefore, we encourage you to check to see if any additional rules apply in your games.
QUESTION: Team A is shorthanded, and Team B is called for a penalty but play continues because Team B has not touched the puck. During this time, Team A scores. Is the penalty called on Team B wiped out as it would be if the teams were at even strength?
ANSWER: In this situation, the Team B penalty (assuming it is a minor) is recorded but not served. Play resumes 5 v. 4.
QUESTION: In a U10 game, a penalty is assessed to the attacking team. Due ti an officials' error, the face-off is not moved outside the attacking zone. The attacking team scores, and the coach notifies officials of their error. The officials disallow the goal and have ensuing face-off in neutral zone. Is it correct for the goal to be disallowed on the officials error?
ANSWER: Due to the fact that this goal resulted after a face-off location error by the officials, the goal must be allowed.
QUESTION: If a goalkeeper and an opposing player receive coincident minor penalties does someone have to serve the penalty time for the goalkeeper even though it’s a coincident minor?
ANSWER: The “spirit and intent” of the Goalkeeper Penalty rules (Rule 407) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules is the offending team must lose a player when a goalkeeper commits an infraction. Therefore, despite the fact that the two minors are coincidental and result in immediate substitution (play resumes 5 v. 5), the offending team must still place a substitute player (who must be one of the players on the ice at the time of the infraction) in the penalty bench to return at the first stoppage after two minutes.
The USA Hockey Playing Rules are now available as a mobile device app! Check your Apple, Android, or Windows app store to download this playing rule app free of charge.
Check out the USA Hockey mobile-friendly online rulebook application! Enter usahockeyrulebook.com into your mobile device’s web browser to gain instant access to the USA Hockey Playing Rules (must have mobile or internet service).
The USA Hockey Playing Rules Casebook and other educational material can be found under the OFFICIALS tab at USAHockey.com.