skip navigation

National Inline Team Moves To Semifinals With 4-1 Victory Over Germany

By USAHockey.com, 06/05/14, 12:15PM MDT

Share

PARDUBICE, Czech Republic - Matt White (Whittier, Calif.) scored twice and goaltender Jerry Kuhn (Southgate, Mich.) stopped 14 shots to help the U.S. National Inline Team to a 4-1 victory over Germany and in a spot in the semifinals at the 2014 International Ice Hockey Federation Inline Hockey World Championship.

"It was a tough game, Germany played very well," said head coach Joe Cook. "We had to fight for every goal we scored. Moving forward we're going to have to bury our chances, but I'm certainly happy with the victory. It was a good team effort."

White and Tyler Spezia (Clinton Township, Mich.) connected for the only goal of the first half just 4:28 into the opening frame.

Team USA built a 3-0 lead with two third-quarter goals. Kyle Novak (O'Fallon, Mo.) made it 2-0 at 2:21 of the stanza with help from Travis Noe (Thousand Oaks, Calif.). Then, just six minutes later, Noe finished a play from Pat Lee (Schaumburg, Ill.) to give the U.S. a comfortable lead.

Germany cut into the Team USA lead 56 seconds into the fourth frame, but White answered with 1:10 remaining in the game to close the scoring.

Raf Rodriguez (Oceanside, Calif.) and Junior Cadiz (Los Angeles, Calif.) also notched assists in the contest.

The U.S. National Inline Team will play in the semifinals tomorrow (June 6). Opponent and game time will be announced later today.

Date Opponent Result
Sun., June 1 Great Britain W, 10-3
Mon., June 2 Czech Republic W, 5-4
Tues., June 3 Slovakia W, 6-0
Thurs., June 5 Germany (Quarterfinals) W, 4-1
Fri., June 6 Canada (Semifinals) L, 5-6 (SO)
Sat., June 7 Sweden (Bronze-Medal Game) W, 12-5

Links & Info:

Recent News

Popular Articles & Features

Connecticut hockey community celebrates the life of Tyler Palmer after the 14-year old tragically passed away last summer

2019-20 ATO Season: Week 19

By USA Hockey 01/10/2020, 6:00am MST

QUESTION: Can an attacking player in the offensive zone wave his arms in front of the opposing goalie while a teammate shoots the puck from the point?

ANSWER: A player may not stand in front of the goalkeeper and waive his arms. A minor penalty for Unsportsmanlike Conduct should be assessed (USAH Rule 601(a)2).


QUESTION: A midget player is assessed a major-game misconduct for head contact. 5:00 minutes later while off the ice, the ejected player is telling the ref he sucks through the space of the board glass at the exit door. Can the team or the ejected player receive a penalty for this action?

ANSWER: A player may not continue to abuse the game officials after they have been ejected (USAH Rule 601(c)2). The Misconduct would quickly become a Game Misconduct (USAH 601(e)1).


QUESTION: Face-off Location? One team had position during dual-delayed penalty in O-zone Refs stop play for other team injury - RULE 206(a) Refs did Neutral Zone face-off & Later told me the face-off is based on the stoppage, and injury stoppage dictated neutral zone face-off. Afterwards I looked it up for more clarification - could not confirm their answer RULE612(b) tells me it should be a "last play" face-off along boards in o-zone Where is the face-off?

ANSWER: If there is a delayed penalty on the defending team, and play is stopped due to an injured attacking player. The face-off would be located in the neutral zone (USAH Rule 612(c))
 
If the team are reversed (attacking team penalty & defending team injury), the face-off is still located in the neutral zone (USAH Rule 612(c)).



QUESTION: Can a player be penalized for accidentally high-sticking an official?

ANSWER: No, unfortunately the High Sticking Rules do not provide a penalty option for accidental stick contact with an official.


QUESTION: An attacking player unintentionally enters the defending team's net (fully in the net, no contact with the crease or goal line). Immediately after, a shot is taken on net by the attacking team. The puck hits the goalie and lands in the crease. The attacking player comes out the net and into the crease, without making any contact with the goalie, and shoots the puck into the goal. Does the goal stand?

ANSWER: Since attacking players are not allowed to enter the Goalkeeper’s Crease and there is no possible way for an attacking player to enter the goal without crossing through the crease, there is no possible way for this goal to count.

5 Tips to Develop a Scorer’s Mentality

By Mike Doyle 12/17/2019, 2:30pm MST

Going beyond improving technique and shooting buckets of pucks in the driveway