skip navigation

Seventh Annual Strelow Goalie Camp Opens Thursday in Ann Arbor

By USA Hockey, 05/07/14, 9:45AM EDT


ANN ARBOR, Mich. - The seventh annual Warren Strelow National Team Goaltending Camp, which features many of the top U.S. goaltenders eligible for international play within select age groups, opens Thursday (May 8), in Ann Arbor, Mich. The camp is named after the former National Hockey League goalie coach who served in the same capacity for the 1980 U.S. Olympic Men's Ice Hockey Team.

The elite four-day camp will cover both physical and mental aspects of goaltending, helping each player master the fundamentals of the position while developing a personal identity that translates to in-game success.

The camp will be led by Kevin Reiter, Warren Strelow mentor and U.S. National Team goaltending coach, and regional mentors Adam Berkohoel, Justin Goldman and Jared Waimon. In addition, assistant mentors Mike Ayers, Joe Exter, Bob Janosz, David Lassonde, Matt Millar, Nick Petraglia and Alison Quandt will be on hand for instruction, as well as several guest coaches, including: Shane Clifford, former NHL goalie coach and current goalie coach for the United States Hockey League's Youngstown Phantoms; Brianne McLaughlin, U.S. Olympic Women's Ice Hockey Team goalie (2010, 2014); Phil Osaer, assistant and goalie coach for the USHL's Cedar Rapids RoughRiders; Robb Stauber, U.S. Women's National Team goalie coach; John Vanbiesbrouck, former NHL and Olympic goaltender; and Jessie Vetter, U.S. Olympic Women's Ice Hockey Team goalie (2010, 2014).

A full list of camp attendees can be found below.


NOTES: Fourteen of this year's attendees also participated in the 2013 camp, including Kaitlin Burt (Lynn, Mass.), Ryan Edquist (Lakeville, Minn.), Nicole Hensley (Lakewood, Colo.), Matt Jurusik (La Grange, Ill.), Ryan Larkin (Clarkston, Mich.), Michael Latorella (Washington, Mich.), Edwin Minney (Wind Gap, Pa.), Liam Moore (Syracuse, N.Y.), Conor O'Brien (Pinellas Park, Fla.), Luke Opilka (St. Louis, Mo.), Evan Sarthou (Black Diamond, Wash.), Alexis Shaw (Troy, Mich.), Nic Sorgio (West Hartford, Conn.) and Blake Weyrick (Ojai, Calif.).

Popular News

Popular Articles & Features

NTDP Announces 2024-25 U.S. National Under-17 Team

By USA Hockey's NTDP 04/10/2024, 9:00am MDT

Roster includes 23 players who will compete for USA Hockey's National Team Development Program

U17s Close 2023-24 NTDP Domestic Schedule

By USA Hockey's NTDP 04/11/2024, 1:45pm MDT

U17s to play home-and-home vs. Youngstown

2024 NTDP Evaluation Camp Roster Announced

By USA Hockey's NTDP 03/13/2024, 10:00am MDT

Camp to be held March 19-23 at USA Hockey Arena

2014 Warren Strelow National Goaltending Camp Invitees

Group Name Hometown 2013-14 Team
Boys Ryan Bednard Macomb, Mich. Victory Honda Midget Major (Mich.)
Stephen Dhillon Buffalo, N.Y. Buffalo Regals Midget Minor
Ryan Edquist Lakeville, Minn. Shattuck-St. Mary's (Minn.)
Logan Halladay Cary, N.C. Janesville Jets (NAHL)
Brandon Halverson Traverse City, Mich. Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds (OHL)
Tyler Johnson Amherst, N.Y. TPH Thunder Midget Minor
Matt Jurusik La Grange, Ill. Cleveland Barons Midget Major
Jake Kielly Eden Prairie, Minn. Victory Honda Midget Major (Mich.)
Michael Lackey Washington, D.C. U.S. National Under-17 Team
Ryan Larkin Clarkston, Mich. Honeybaked Midget Major (Mich.)
Michael Latorella Washington, Mich. Honeybaked Midget Major (Mich.)
Edwin Minney Wind Gap, Pa. U.S. National Under-18 Team
Liam Moore Syracuse, N.Y. The Governor's Academy (Mass.)
Garrett Nieto Yorba Linda, Calif. LA Kings Midget Minor
Conor O'Brien Pinellas Park, Fla. Northfield Mount Hermon (Mass.)
Jake Oettinger Lakeville, Minn. Lakeville (Minn.) North High School
Kris Oldham Anchorage, Alaska Kenai River Brown Bears (NAHL)
Luke Opilka St. Louis, Mo. U.S. National Under-17 Team
Dayton Rasmussen Eden Prairie, Minn. Holy Family High School (Minn.)
Evan Sarthou Black Diamond, Wash. Tri-City Americans (WHL)
Eric Schierhorn Anchorage, Alaska Muskegon Lumberjacks (USHL)
Nic Sorgio West Hartford, Conn. Salisbury (Conn.) Prep
Blake Weyrick Ojai, Calif. U.S. National Under-18 Team
Joseph Woll Dardenne Prairie, Mo. St. Louis Blues Midget Minor
Girls Shelby Amsley-Benzie Warroad, Minn. University of North Dakota
Liz Auby Stoughton, Wis. Stoughton (Wis.) High School
Corinne Boyles Wheaton, Ill. Boston College
Brittany Bugalski Lake Worth, Fla. Loomis Chaffee School (Conn.)
Kaitlin Burt Lynn, Mass. Buckingham Browne & Nicols (Mass.)
Julie Friend Minnetonka, Minn. St. Cloud State University
Alex Gulstene Evanston, Ill. Collingwood School (West Vancouver)
Nicole Hensley Lakewood, Colo. Lindenwood University (Mo.)
Chelsea Laden Lakeville, Minn. Quinnipiac University
Erin O'Neil Minnetonka, Minn. Hopkins (Minn.) High School
Maddie Rooney Andover, Mass. Andover (Mass.) High School
Alexis Shaw Troy, Mich. University of North Dakota