skip navigation

Tyler Johnson Added to 2014 Men's National Team

By, 04/25/14, 11:45AM EDT


Colorado Springs, Colo. - Forward Tyler Johnson (Spokane, Wash./Tampa Bay Lightning) has been added to the 2014 U.S. Men's National Team that will compete at the International Ice Hockey Federation Men's World Championship May 9-25 in Minsk, Belarus.

Johnson previously contributed to a pair of U.S. National Junior Teams. In 2010, he helped Team USA capture the gold medal at the IIHF World Junior Championship in Saskatoon, Sask. He notched three goals and two assists in seven games. He also played at the 2009 IIHF World Junior Championship in Ottawa, Ont., tallying one goal in six games.

Team USA's roster now has 12 forwards, seven defensemen and one goaltender. The maximum roster size is 25.

NOTES: Fifteen of 20 announced members of Team USA played U.S. college hockey ... Seven of the 20 players are products of USA Hockey's National Team Development Program, including Jimmy Hayes, Seth Jones, Jake McCabe, Peter Mueller, Connor Murphy, Drew Shore and Jacob Trouba ... Nine NHL teams are represented on the roster: Buffalo Sabres, Calgary Flames, Edmonton Oilers, Florida Panthers, Nashville Predators, New York Islanders, Phoenix Coyotes, Tampa Bay Lightning, Toronto Maple Leafs and Winnipeg Jets ... The staff and players of the 2014 U.S. Men's National Team are selected by the U.S. Men's National Team Advisory Group, led by Jim Johannson, assistant executive director of hockey operations for USA Hockey. Other members, all affiliated with National Hockey League teams, include Stan Bowman (Chicago), Brian Burke (Calgary), Paul Holmgren (Philadelphia), Dean Lombardi (Los Angeles), David Poile (Nashville), Ray Shero (Pittsburgh), Dale Tallon (Florida), and Don Waddell (Pittsburgh). Tom Kurvers (Tampa Bay) will be part of the advisory group for this year's championship ... USA Hockey's international council, chaired by Gavin Regan, vice president of USA Hockey, has oversight responsibilities for all U.S. national teams … Sixteen teams will compete at the 2014 IIHF Men's World Championship, split into two groups of eight. Teams will play a round-robin format among their group with the top four teams from each group advancing to quarterfinals … NBC Sports Network will televise all Team USA games in the 2014 IIHF Men's World Championship.

More News

Popular Articles & Features

Brock Nelson Bloodlines Are Golden

By USA Hockey 05/13/2015, 12:00pm MDT

Hard-Working Forward Relishes Olympic Accomplishments by Family Members

Smith's Trick Propels Team USA Past Finland

By 05/08/2013, 1:15pm MDT

Laviolette Named Head Coach of 2014 U.S. Men's National Team

By 04/15/2014, 9:45am MDT