skip navigation

2014 NTDP Evaluation Camp Roster & Schedule Announced

By USA Hockey, 03/11/14, 2:45PM EDT


ANN ARBOR, Mich. - Fifty-two of the top American hockey players born in 1998 have been invited to USA Hockey's National Team Development Program Evaluation Camp it was announced today by team officials. The camp, which will help select the 2014-15 U.S. National Under-17 Team, will take place March 21-25, at the Ann Arbor (Mich.) Ice Cube. 

"We're excited to welcome another talented crop of players to our tryout camp," said Peter Ward, director of player personnel for the NTDP. "The entire scouting staff puts in days, months and years of hard work to identify what we believe are the nation's top players in this age group."

The 52 players, including 19 defensemen, 27 forwards and six goaltenders, will be divided into three teams - Red, White and Blue. The squads will participate in on-ice practices and off-ice training as well as four 30-minute practice sessions and two full games.

NTDP alumni Blake Geoffrion (Brentwood, Tenn./2004-06), Kyle Lawson (New Hudson, Mich./2004-05) and David Tanabe (White Bear Lake, Minn./1997-98) will serve as coaches at the camp. In addition, NTDP intern assistant coaches Josh Brown and Dan Naurato will also work behind the bench. 


The 52 players on the NTDP Evaluation Camp roster represent 17 different states. Minnesota leads the way with 12 natives on the roster, while Michigan is second with eight. Illinois and Missouri boast six players each followed closely by New York (4) ... Blake Geoffrion earned the Hobey Baker Memorial Award in 2010 as the top player in college hockey while skating with the University of Wisconsin. Prior to his time as a Badger, Geoffrion represented the U.S. with the NTDP, helping Team USA to a gold medal at the 2006 World Under-18 Championship. Geoffrion also appeared in two World Junior Championships (2007-08), capturing bronze in 2007 ... Kyle Lawson played in four seasons with the University of Notre Dame (2006-10). Before his days with the Fighting Irish, Lawson was a member of the gold-medal winning U.S. National Under-18 Team in 2005. The defenseman would go on to serve as alternate captain during Team USA's bronze-medal finish at the 2007 World Junior Championship ... David Tanabe was among the inaugural group of athletes to train at the NTDP in Ann Arbor, Mich., during the 1997-98 season. Tanabe was drafted in the first round by Carolina in 1999 and became the first NTDP alumnus to play in the NHL. He played in 449 NHL games with Carolina, Phoenix and Boston.

Update - March 18, 2014

Defenseman Hank Sorensen (Plymouth, Minn.) has been added to the camp roster.

Update - March 23, 2014

Defenseman Ryan Bederka (Brighton, Mich.) has been added to the camp roster.

2014 NTDP Evaluation Camp Game Schedule

Date Game Time (EDT)
Sat., March 22 Red vs. White* 10:45 a.m.
Red vs. Blue* 12:00 p.m.
White vs. Blue* 1:15 p.m.
Blue vs. White 7:00 p.m.
Sun., March 23 White vs. Red 10:15 a.m.
Red vs. Blue 5:45 p.m.
Mon., March 24 Blue vs. White* 4:30 p.m.
Red vs. White* 5:45 p.m.
Red vs. Blue* 7:00 p.m.

*30-minute sessions.

Popular News

2014 NTDP Evaluation Camp Invitees

Position Name Hometown 2013-14 Team
F Joey Anderson Roseville, Minn. Hill-Murray School (Minn.)
F Jamie Armstrong Warwick, R.I. Bishop Hendricken High School (R.I.)
F Kieffer Bellows Edina, Minn. Edina (Minn.) High School
F Logan Brown Chesterfield, Mo. Indiana Ice Midget Minor
F Hank Crone Cedar Hill, Texas Dallas Stars Midget Minor
F Grant Cruikshank Delafield, Wis. Milwaukee Admirals Midget Minor
F Josh Dunne O'Fallon, Mo. St. Louis Blues Midget Minor
F Trent Frederic St. Louis, Mo. St. Louis Blues Midget Minor
F Timothy Gettinger North Olmsted, Ohio Cleveland Barons Midget Minor
F Keeghan Howdeshell Brighton, Mich. Detroit Compuware Midget Minor
F Max Jones Rochester, Mich. Detroit Honeybaked Midget Major
F Clayton Keller Swansea, Ill. Shattuck-St. Mary's (Minn.)
F Patrick Khodorenko Walnut Creek, Calif. Detroit Honeybaked Midget Minor
F William Knierim Skokie, Ill. Chicago Mission Midget Minor
F Noah LaLonde Macomb, Mich. Detroit Honeybaked Midget Minor
F John Leonard Amherst, Mass. Springfield Cathedral (Mass.)
F William Lockwood Bloomfield Hills, Mich. Oakland Grizzlies Midget Minor
F Mitchell Mattson Grand Rapids, Minn. Grand Rapids (Minn.) High School
F Graham McPhee Bethesda, Md. Shattuck-St. Mary's (Minn.)
F Dominic Mersch Park Ridge, Ill. Chicago Mission Midget Minor
F Jacob Nielsen New Berlin, Wis. Milwaukee Admirals Midget Minor
F Nick Pastujov Bradenville, Fla. Detroit Honeybaked Midget Minor
F James Sanchez Northbrook, Ill. Chicago Young Americans Midget Minor
F Riley Tufte Ham Lake, Minn. Blaine (Minn.) High School
F Garrett Wait Edina, Minn. Edina (Minn.) High School
F Zach Walker Boise, Idaho Colorado Thunderbirds Midget Minor
F Kailer Yamamoto Spokane, Wash. LA Jr. Kings Midget Minor
D Ryan Bederka Brighton, Mich. Detroit Honeybaked Midget Minor
D Brett Callahan Westmont, Ill. Chicago Mission Midget Major
D Michael Campoli Pointe-Claire, Que. Lac St. Louis Lions
D Derek Daschke Troy, Mich. Oakland Grizzlies Midget Minor
D Cameron Dineen Toms River, N.J. NJ Rockets 19U
D Mitch Eliot Grosse Pointe, Mich. Detroit Honeybaked Midget Minor
D Tyler Farmer O'Fallon, Md. St. Louis Blues Midget Minor
D Adam Fox Jericho, N.Y. Long Island Gulls Midget Minor
D Alex Green Chicago, Ill. Chicago Mission Midget Minor
D James Greenway Potsdam, N.Y. Shattuck-St. Mary's (Minn.)
D Matthew Hellickson Rogers, Minn. Rogers (Minn.) High School
D Kenneth Johnson Ann Arbor, Mich. Shattuck-St. Mary's (Minn.)
D Matthew Kiersted Elk River, Minn. Elk River / Zimmerman High School
D Chad Krys Ridgefield, Conn. NJ Rockets 19U
D Ryan Lindgren Minneapolis, Minn. Shattuck-St. Mary's (Minn.)
D Griffin Luce Williamsville, N.Y. Salisbury (Conn.) Prep
D Luke Martin St. Louis, Mo. St. Louis Blues Midget Minor
D Luke McInnis Hingham, Mass. Hingham (Mass.) High School
D Andrew Peeke Parkland, Fla. Selects Academy Midget Minor
D Sam Rossini Inver Grove Heights, Minn. Burnsville (Minn.) High School
D Hank Sorensen Plymouth, Minn. Wayzata High School (Minn.)
G Stephen Dhillon Buffalo, N.Y. Buffalo Regals 15U
G Ryan Edquist Lakeville, Minn. Shattuck-St. Mary's (Minn.)
G Michael Latorella Macomb, Mich. Detroit Honeybaked Midget Major
G Jake Oettinger Lakeville, Minn. Lakeville (Minn.) North High School
G Dayton Rasmussen Eden Prairie, Minn. Holy Family Catholic High School
G Joseph Woll Dardenne Prairie, Mo. St. Louis Blues Midget Minor