skip navigation

Julie Chu selected as Closing Ceremony flag bearer for 2014 U.S. Olympic Team

By USAHockey.com, 02/21/14, 5:15AM MST

Share

SOCHI, Russia – Women’s ice hockey forward Julie Chu was today selected to lead the 2014 U.S. Olympic Team into Sunday's (Feb. 23) Closing Ceremony as flag bearer, as announced today by the United States Olympic Committee. Chu was chosen by a vote of fellow members of Team USA.

A four-time Olympian and the most veteran member of the women’s hockey team, Chu has medaled with Team USA at every Olympic Winter Games dating back to 2002 – earning silver three times (2002, 2010, 2014) and once claiming bronze (2006). She is tied as the second most decorated U.S. female in Olympic Winter Games history.

Having joined the U.S. Women’s National Hockey Team in 2000, she captained the U.S. to the 2013 World Championship gold medal and back-to-back Four Nations Cup titles in 2011 and 2012. In total, she’s competed in nine world championships, winning gold five times.

“I'm completely humbled and kind of in shock; I never imagined that this would happen, especially knowing how strong the U.S. delegation is,” said Chu. “Our team has so many inspiring athletes who I've gotten a chance to root for. This is special and I don't take it lightly. Thank you for this great honor.”

“Today, Julie joins a distinguished group of athletes who have been selected to serve as flag bearer for Team USA, and I’m thrilled to congratulate her on this honor,” said USOC CEO Scott Blackmun. “She has been a tremendous ambassador for her sport and our athletes, and will continue to be a world-class representative of our nation at the Closing Ceremony and beyond."

Chu is the second ice hockey player to serve as flag bearer for Team USA. Cammi Granato first held the honor in 1998 after leading the U.S. women to the inaugural Olympic gold medal at the Nagano Games.  

U.S. OLYMPIC TEAM FLAG BEARERS – CLOSING CEREMONY
1960     Donald McDermott, Speedskating
1964     Jean Saubert, Alpine Skiing
1968     Tim Wood, Figure Skating
1972     Barbara Ann Cochran, Alpine Skiing
1976     Sheila Young, Speedskating
1980     Eric Heiden, Speedskating
1984     Phil Mahre, Alpine Skiing
1988     Bonnie Blair, Speedskating
1992     Bonnie Blair, Speedskating
1994     Dan Jansen, Speedskating
1998     Cammi Granato, Ice Hockey
2002     Brian Shimer, Bobsled
2006     Joey Cheek, Speedskating
2010     Bill Demong, Nordic Combined
2014     Julie Chu, Ice Hockey

Related News & Features

Popular This Week

2021-22 ATO | WEEK 17

By USA Hockey 11/26/2021, 6:15am MST

This week’s features: Stacked penalties...Puck out of play...Penalty shots...and more.

QUESTIONDuring a shootout, a player skating in front of the goaltender, anticipates the poke-check, steps around the goaltender’s stick & scores. The official by the net says the player moved slightly backward to avoid the poke-check & did not continue toward the net therefore no goal. After discussion I reluctantly agreed but I argued the player & puck were always moving forward & they are entitled to deke the goalie. Essentially, I equate this to a player using the “spin-o-rama” move.

ANSWER: Shooters are expected to stay in a fluid forward motion toward the opponent’s goal during a shoot-out attempt. They may turn to either side of the goal, or peel-off to cut across the front of the net, or stickhandle the puck forward and back, as long as they stay in motion toward the goal. The “spirit and intent” of the rule is a shooter may not stop or turn-back to repeat his/her approach toward the goal.

 

QUESTION: An attacking player attempts a wrap around which is stopped by the goaltender but not covered. During the ensuing scramble in front, while the puck is still loose the attacking player pushes both the goaltenders leg and the puck into the net. Should a goal be awarded?

ANSWER: An attacking player may not physically interfere with a goalkeeper in his/her crease. While a puck that is located in the crease is “in play”, an attacking player may not push or otherwise force the puck into the goal by making contact with the goalkeeper.

 

QUESTIONIs it OK for a referee to purposefully not make calls due to a personal issue with a coach? And to go as far as to telling the team captain such when he asks about a call?

ANSWERAll USA Hockey Officials are expected to follow the On-Ice Officials Code-of-Conduct which is listed in the 2021-25 Playing Rules,

http://www.usahockeyrulebook.com/page/show/1015129-codes-of-conduct

 

QUESTION: If a player takes a shot at the goal in the offensive zone and the shot goes directly out of play without touching anyone or anything is that a delay of game penalty?

ANSWER: A player may only be penalized for shooting the puck out of play if he/she did so intentionally.

 

QUESTION: Team A is short handed 3 v. 5. Penalties. Team B then has a breakaway. The Team B attacker is hooked, a delayed penalty is signaled, and then Team B scores. Is the delayed penalty recorded and stricken due to the goal, or does it become a stacked penalty?

ANSWERRule 409(b) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,

If the Referee signals an additional minor penalty(s) against a team that is already shorthanded (below the numerical strength of its opponent on the ice at the time of the goal) because of one or more minor or bench minor penalties, and a goal is scored by the non-offending team, the goal shall be allowed. The delayed penalty(s) shall be assessed and the first non-coincidental minor penalty already being served shall terminate automatically under Rule 402(c) (Minor Penalties).

Therefore, the first minor currently being served would terminate after the Team B goal, and the offending player during the breakaway would enter the penalty bench and immediately begin serving his/her Hooking minor.

Download the USA Hockey Mobile Rulebook App to your mobile device from your app store today!

Priskie is the first homegrown South Florida native to play for the Panthers

Associations around the country saw increases from past years