SOCHI, Russia – Meghan Duggan (Danvers, Mass.) and Alex Carpenter (North Reading, Mass.) scored and goaltender Jessie Vetter (Cottage Grove, Wis.) turned away 28 shots, but the U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team fell to Canada, 3-2, in overtime of the gold-medal game at the Olympic Winter Games.
Team USA held an 11-9 shots advantage in a back-and-forth first period, but neither team was able to break through for the game’s first score until Duggan converted midway through the middle frame.
After a turnover in the neutral zone, Jocelyne Lamoureux (Grand Forks, N.D.) wheeled into the zone and tried to drive the puck towards the net, but it was knocked off her stick in the left circle. Duggan swooped in, retrieved the puck and fired a hard wrister through traffic over Canadian goaltender Shannon Szabados’ glove.
Carpenter doubled the U.S. lead at 2:01 of the third stanza with a power-play marker. After gaining possession of the puck and setting up in the offensive zone, Hilary Knight (Sun Valley, Idaho) threaded a pass from the far circle to Carpenter sitting on the backdoor. Carpenter one-timed the puck over the left leg of Szabados, off the pipe and in. Kelli Stack (Brooklyn Heights, Ohio) tallied the second assist on the play.
Team Canada cut the U.S. lead to 2-1 at 16:34 of the period when Brianne Jenner slipped to the middle of the ice, shot a puck off an American defender and past Vetter. Marie-Phillip Poulin knotted the score with 55 seconds remaining in regulation before winning the game on a power play at 8:10 of the extra session.
The 2014 U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team won its third silver medal in Olympic competition and finished the 2014 Olympic Winter Games with a record of 3-0-1-1 (W-OTW-OTL-L).
Notes: The U.S. Olympic Women's Ice Hockey Team has medaled in all five Olympic appearances (gold-1998, silver-2002, 2010 and 2014, bronze-2006) ... Defenseman Megan Bozek and forwards Amanda Kessel and Hilary Knight were voted to the All-Star Team, as selected by the media ... Kessel (3-3--6), Knight (3-3--6), Kendall Coyne (2-4--6) and Brianna Decker (2-4--6) tied for the team lead with six points apiece in the tournament.
This week’s features: Face-off locations...Goalkeeper sticks...Penalty termination...and more.
QUESTION: Team B is on the power play (5 v. 4), and takes a penalty. The penalty is placed on the game clock, but Team B does not become shorthanded (play resumes 4 v. 4). Where is the face-off located in this situation?
ANSWER: The resulting on-ice strength when play resumes does not affect where the face-off should be located. The face-off is determined by the penalty(ies) being assessed at the stoppage. So, in the situation below:
|GAME CLOCK||TEAM A||TEAM B|
|12:30||#8 - Minor Penalty|
|11:45||#17 - Minor Penalty|
The face-off is located in the Team B defending end-zone despite the fact that play will resume at even-strength. The “shorthanded” term is included in the playing rule (Rule 612) to dismiss misconducts and coincidental penalties which are not subject to this rule.
QUESTION: For goalie sticks, is there a minimum thickness that the knob of the stick has to be, and does the knob have to be done in white tape?
ANSWER: Under the current USA Hockey Youth & Adult Playing Rules, there are no rules that mandate the butt-end of a goalkeeper’s stick must be taped, nor that white tape must be used.
QUESTION: Team A had at Penalty at 5:00 (2:00 on Clock - 1 in box - 5 on 4). Team A gets another Penalty at 4:00 (2:00 on Clock - 2 in box - 5 on 3). Team A and Team B get coincidental penalties at 3:30. What happens? How does that work with Team A having stacked penalties?
ANSWER: Since coincidental penalties do not affect the on-ice strength of the game, play would resume 5 vs. 3 with all current penalties continuing and expiring as normal.
The players with coincidental penalties would enter the penalty box immediately and return to the play at the first stoppage after two minutes (just like normal coincidental penalties).
QUESTION: Is the act of placing my stick-blade onto an opponent's stick-blade, ONLY to stop the puck carrier from stick handling, considered hooking? Assume I am next to or slightly behind puck carrier, and no part of my body or stick is touching any part of his body or stick anywhere above the blade. I would also be leaning heavily on my stick to prevent him from lifting or moving his stick only. Consider both my stick blade firmly on top of his turned upside-down or also upright on the ice.
ANSWER: Stick-presses” and “stick-lifts” are considered legal plays as long as the contact is restricted to the lower-portion (blade area) of the opponent’s stick and does not restrict the movement (hook, hold, etc.) of an opponent who is skating. In other words, the stick can be used to briefly lift or press and opponent’s stick for purposes of gaining possession of the puck. However, these actions should be quick and temporary, and should not interfere with the movement of the opponent.
QUESTION: If the puck goes out of play after hitting the base of the net is the face-off in the attacking zone or in the neutral zone? Rule 612 (c) mentions the "post" and "crossbar" but doesn't say anything about the base of the net. I've seen different officials interpret this rule as differently so I'm curious who is right.
ANSWER: The interpretation of this rule is the puck must strike the goal-frame, glass or boards as the result of a "shot" and leave the playing surface for the face-off to remain inside the attacking zone. A pass or errant shot that strikes the back of the goal frame (i.e. the white-painted part) and leaves the playing surface results in a neutral zone face-off.
QUESTION: With 13:00 left in a game, Blue has one team in the penalty box with :22 left on a minor penalty. Blue and White each receive coincidental minor penalties for roughing. The Blue player receiving the coincidental minor also receives a 2/10 for head contact. When does the head contact minor penalty start/end? When does the misconduct begin? Does Blue need to add additional player to the box to serve any of the penalties? What happens if a goal is scored with 12:00 left? 10:00 left?
ANSWER: To start...
- #7 Blue is currently serving a minor penalty (with 0:22 remaining) and play is 5 vs. 4 in favor of White.
- At 13:00, #10 Blue and #5 White receive coincidental minors (roughing), but #10 Blue also receives an additional minor plus misconduct for Head Contact. At this point both #10 Blue and #5 White enter the penalty bench. #10 Blue must serve 14 minutes (his entire earned penalty time) and #5 White must serve two minutes, and both will leave the penalty bench at the first stoppage after their penalty time elapses.
- Since #10 Blue earned an additional off-setting minor, Team Blue must place an additional player (#21) in the penalty bench. #21 is there to serve the shorthanded time of the additional penalty, and play will resume 5 vs. 3 in favor of White.
- If Team White scores a goal at 12:00, #10 Blue’s additional off-setting minor terminates and #21 may leave the penalty bench (#7 Blue’s minor only had 22 seconds remaining at 13:00 and has now expired). Play now starts back at full-strength.
- If Team White scores a goal at 10:00, all minors have expired (both #7 and #21 Blue have already left the penalty bench), and assuming #5 has not had a chance to leave the penalty bench since his minor penalty started he may now leave the box. #10 Blue will still be sitting tight for a while.
Download the USA Hockey Mobile Rulebook App to your mobile device from your app store today!