ST. PAUL, Minn. – The U.S. Women’s National Team defeated Canada, 3-2, in a shootout this afternoon at the Xcel Energy Center. Hilary Knight (Sun Valley, Idaho) scored the decisive shootout goal and added a pair of assists to pace the team offensively. Goaltender Jessie Vetter (Cottage Grove, Wis.) made 37 saves and turned aside all three Canadian shootout attempts.
"We didn’t have the same intensity as before the break but we started getting our legs back and found a way to win,” said Katey Stone, head coach of the 2014 U.S. Olympic Women's Ice Hockey Team. “Fortunately, Jessie was a rock back there and she settled things down when we really needed it.”
Kelli Stack (Brooklyn Heights, Ohio) opened the scoring for Team USA at the 13:54 of the first period when Knight’s wrap-around attempt was stopped by Canadian goaltender Charline Labonte but the rebound came to Stack who was left alone in the slot with an open net.
With nine seconds remaining in the second period, Alex Carpenter (North Reading, Mass.) fought off a defender and picked up a rebound to score a power play goal and make it 2-0.
Canada would tie the score, 2-2, with a pair of goals in the third period but after a scoreless overtime, the U.S. would prevail in the shootout with Knight scoring the lone tally and Vetter denying three Canadian shooters in front of 9,012 fans in attendance.
For a complete box score, click here.
The win was Team USA’s third consecutive victory over Canada, knotting the rivals’ head-to-head pre-Olympic tour record at three wins apiece. The two teams will face each other at the Air Canada Centre in Toronto, Ontario, on Monday at 7 p.m. ET for the final time before the 2014 Olympic Winter Games.
QUESTION: The goalie makes contact with an attacking player standing outside the crease, preventing the goalie from making a save. Should a minor penalty for interference be assessed and/or a potential goal be disallowed? (In this situation, the goalie initiates the contact.)
ANSWER: A player cannot be penalized for interference with the goalkeeper if the goalkeeper initiated the contact. Assuming the attacking player was positioned outside the goal crease, that player has every right to the space they occupy, and the goalkeeper is not entitled to initiate any physical contact with him/her.
QUESTION: In Team B's end-zone. Team A forward passes the puck back to the defenseman at the blue line who wasn't there. Puck goes down the ice. Team B forward just coming off the bench is on the ice prior to the puck entering his attacking zone and plays the puck. What is the call?
ANSWER: Rule 603.b in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,
“Off-sides shall be waived if a player legally carries or passes the puck back into his own Defending Zone while a player of the opposing team is in the Defending Zone.”
QUESTION: With the opposing goalkeeper in net, a Team A player is fouled from behind (warranting a penalty shot) and a delayed penalty is signaled. The Team A player loses possession of the puck as a result from being fouled from behind and the puck goes into the corner. Before Team B gains possession, the Team B goalkeeper throws his stick at the puck in the corner. Since, by rule, both actions call for a penalty shot (or optional minor), can two penalty shots be awarded to team A in this instance?
ANSWER: Since the “spirit and intent” of a penalty shot is to replace a lost scoring opportunity, only one penalty shot can be awarded in this situation. The other offense would be assessed a minor penalty.
QUESTION: Can 10U players ice the puck to kill a penalty and not have it called as an infraction?
ANSWER: Rule 624.b in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states:
"Icing shall be nullified if any of the following conditions have been met:
(For Adults [male and female] and High School classifications only) The offending team is shorthanded (below the on-ice numerical strength of their opponent) when the puck is shot. The determination is made at the time the penalty expires and if the puck was shot prior to the penalty time expiration, regardless as to the position of the penalized player, no icing shall be called."
These two age groups (Adult & High School) do not include Youth (10U) players.
QUESTION: Can a rostered Tier I player play for a Tier II team for a tournament?
ANSWER: Unfortunately, we cannot answer this question since it does not specifically regard the USA Hockey Playing Rules.
We encourage you to contact your District or State Registrar (through your local hockey association) with this question. Registrars are responsible for tracking all team rosters and player eligibility in their respective areas.
The USA Hockey Playing Rules are now available as a mobile device app! Check your Apple, Android, or Windows app store to download this playing rule app free of charge.
Check out the USA Hockey mobile-friendly online rulebook application! Enter usahockeyrulebook.com into your mobile device’s web browser to gain instant access to the USA Hockey Playing Rules (must have mobile or internet service).
The USA Hockey Playing Rules Casebook and other educational material can be found under the OFFICIALS tab at USAHockey.com.