skip navigation

4th Annual USA Hockey Sled Classic Underway

By, 11/19/13, 5:15PM MST


COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The fourth annual USA Hockey Sled Classic, presented by the National Hockey League and hosted by the Pittsburgh Penguins, will take place this weekend (Nov. 21-24) at Robert Morris University Island Sports Center and Blade Runners Ice Complex in Pittsburgh, Pa. Additionally, the Penguins' CONSOL Energy Center will be the venue for each of the three divisional championship games Sunday (Nov. 24).

The event is part of the third annual Come Play Hockey Month, a joint effort of USA Hockey and the NHL. All tournament games will be streamed live at

Among the 200-plus competitors at the USA Hockey Sled Classic will be 15 current members of the 2014 U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team. On Saturday (Nov. 23), Team USA will be signing autographs at RMU Island Sports Center from 5-7 p.m.

"The NHL and its member clubs have been tremendous supporters of the USA Hockey Sled Classic," said Jeremy Kennedy, manager of membership and disabled hockey for USA Hockey. "With the 2014 Paralympic Games just a few months away the interest in sled hockey is significantly increasing. This year's tournament in Pittsburgh includes the addition of two more teams and a third division."

Each of the 16 competing teams are affiliated with NHL clubs – Boston Bruins, Buffalo Sabres, Carolina Hurricanes, Chicago Blackhawks, Colorado Avalanche, Columbus Blue Jackets, Dallas Stars, Florida Panthers, Los Angeles Kings, Nashville Predators, New York Rangers, Philadelphia Flyers, Pittsburgh Penguins and Washington Capitals. Sled hockey teams will represent their affiliated NHL club by wearing official NHL licensed jerseys with local club marks and logos.

For full tournament results, statistics and game recaps, as well as photos and video content from the weekend, click here. All tournament games will be streamed live at Those interested in watching should sign up for a free account in advance at


The Colorado Avalanche hosted the inaugural USA Hockey Sled Classic in 2010. The Colorado Avalanche Sled Hockey Team won the four-team tournament … In 2011, the Philadelphia Flyers held the event in Vorhees, N.J., where the Buffalo Sabres Sled Hockey Team took first place among nine teams … A year ago, the Buffalo Sabres put on the tournaments in Williamsville, N.Y., with the Dallas Stars winning the 'A' Division and the Washington Capitals capturing the 'B' Division ... Participating teams in the tournament must have an official affiliation with an NHL member club … For more information about the 2014 U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team, click here ... For more information on the sport of sled hockey and to view a list of sled hockey teams in the U.S., click here.

Division A

Division B

Division C