skip navigation

2013 U.S. Junior Select Team Named

By, 10/17/13, 1:00PM MDT


COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – USA Hockey today announced the 22 players that will make up the roster for its entry in the 2013 World Junior A Challenge. The tournament will take place Nov. 4-10 in Yarmouth, Nova Scotia. Team USA has won four of the last five tournaments (2008-10, '12).

All players on the U.S. roster, which includes 13 forwards, seven defenseman and two goaltenders, compete in the United States Hockey League. For the complete roster, click here.

Three players that are part of the roster were chosen in the 2013 NHL Entry Draft. The Buffalo Sabres picked forward Connor Hurley (Eagan, Minn.) in the second round (38th ovr.) and goalie Cal Petersen (Waterloo, Iowa) in the fifth round (129th ovr.), while defenseman Teemu Kivihalme (Savage, Minn.) was chosen by Nashville (5th rd., 140th ovr.). Seventeen players are eligible for the 2014 NHL Entry Draft. 

In addition, five players competed in the 2013 CCM/USA Hockey All-American Prospects Game, including defensemen Ryan Mantha (Clarkston, Mich.) and Josh Jacobs (Shelby Twp., Mich.); and forwards Shane Eiserman (West Newbury, Mass.), Seamus Malone (Naperville, Ill.) and Nick Schmaltz (Verona, Wis.). Goalie Cal Peterson played in the inaugural CCM/USA Hockey All-American Prospects Game in 2012, an event that annually features 40 of the top American players eligible for the next NHL Entry Draft.

Team USA faces Canada West in an exhibition game Nov. 2 at 7:00 p.m. ADT. Tournament play begins for the U.S. Nov. 5 vs. Russia at 8:00 p.m. AST. The complete schedule is listed below. will provide live streaming coverage for all tournament games. Those interested in watching should sign up for a free account in advance at

NOTES: The 22 players represent 10 states. Eight players hail from Minnesota, while Michigan has four players and California and New Jersey have two apiece. Other states include Illinois, Iowa, Massachusetts, Missouri, South Dakota and Wisconsin ... Two players on the roster are eligible for the 2015 NHL Entry Draft, including goaltender Chris Birdsall (Glen Rock, N.J.) and forward Kyle Connor (Shelby Twp, Mich.) ... All 22 players are verbally committed to attend NCAA Division I hockey programs in the future ... Thirteen USHL teams are represented. Leading the way are the Cedar Rapids RoughRiders, Dubuque Fighting Saints, Green Bay Gamblers and Sioux Falls Stampede, which have three players each ... The World Junior A Challenge is in its eighth year and the United States will be competing for the seventh time. The 2013 field includes the Canada East, Canada West, Czech Republic, Russia, Switzerland and the United States. The official event website is available here ... Derek Lalonde (Brasher Falls, N.Y.), head coach and general manager of the USHL's Green Bay Gamblers, is the head coach for the 2013 U.S. Junior Select Team ... The assistant coaches are Anthony Noreen (Chicago, Ill.) and Mark Abalan (Green Bay, Wis.). Noreen is the head coach and general manager for the USHL's Youngstown Phantoms, while Abalan is an assistant coach for the USHL's Sioux City Musketeers. Additional team staff includes Team Manager Marc Boxer (Colorado Springs, Colo.) of USA Hockey, Equipment Manager Darrin Flinchem (Indianapolis, Ind.) of the Indiana Ice, and Team Physician Dr. Alan Ashare (Boston, Mass). 

Date Opponent Time/Result
Sat., Nov. 2 Canada West (ex.) W, 4-3
Tues., Nov. 5 Russia W, 8-3
Wed., Nov. 6 Canada East W, 4-2
Fri., Nov. 8 Semifinal: Switzerland W, 7-4
Sun., Nov. 10 Championship: Russia W, 4-1