After nearly five decades spent playing a significant role in the growth of hockey across the United States, it's easy to see why the sport has had such a profound effect on the everyday life of Tony Rossi.
"When life is over, I would hate to have a tombstone that said, 'He built a couple of nice buildings,' " Rossi told NHL.com.
"It was a surprise because you just go along doing what you do in life and, all of a sudden after all these years, you get a call from the Commissioner and he says you'll be awarded the Lester Patrick," Rossi, 70, said. "I've been to a number of these dinners and presentations for Ron DeGregorio and Art Berglund and you just never think of yourself in that category. But you realize you're getting to that age where you start to pick up an honor or two here or there."
Read the full article >>
QUESTION: In a game with two referees, during a stoppage both teams accidentally send six skaters out during the line change (both teams have their goalkeeper in). The ref dropping the puck does not notice both teams have too many players on the ice and drops the puck. The attacking team scores after the face-off and the goal stands. Is this the correct call?
ANSWER: A team cannot score a legal goal while having too many players on the ice. However, since it is the responsibility of the officials to ensure the proper number of players are on the ice prior to dropping the puck, the team with the extra players should not be penalized.
QUESTION: I’m allowed to have 18 skaters dress for a game, but can I have alternates that are allowed to practice and not play in games? My team is the lowest available level in our program for our age. I have two players that are on the bubble and would like them to continue to develop as an alternate on top of my 18 skaters and 1 goalie. Is this allowed?
ANSWER: The Ask the Official forum is dedicated to the Playing Rules of USA Hockey, which do not govern practices. Please submit your question to your local hockey association, USAH Affiliate Body, or District Registrar for an answer to this question. Contact information can be found in the USA Hockey Annual Guide.
QUESTION: After the whistle a player takes 4 - 6 strides towards an opponent, launching himself at him in a violent fashion but not making contact due to the opponent moving out of the way. What penalty would/should be called if any? Charging is not an option based on the wording of contact having to be made. Would Attempt to Injure be a valid in the situation?
ANSWER: Contact must be made to assess a player a penalty for Charging. However, if the game officials determine that the player was deliberately attempting to injure the opponent, then a Match penalty could be assessed.
QUESTION: When is the puck considered tied up and the whistle should be blown stopping play. Does it have to be covered up or can he have it frozen between his arm and chest.
ANSWER: Play should be stopped when the officials determine that the goalkeeper has possession and control of the puck.
QUESTION: Should players ineligible for the game be crossed off the scoresheet at the conclusion of the game?
ANSWER: The game-sheet team rosters should list all players who were present, dressed and eligible to participate in the game. All missing, sick or injured players should be removed the team roster after the game concludes.
The USA Hockey Playing Rules are now available as a mobile device app! Check your Apple, Android, or Windows app store to download this playing rule app free of charge.
Check out the USA Hockey mobile-friendly online rulebook application! Enter usahockeyrulebook.com into your mobile device’s web browser to gain instant access to the USA Hockey Playing Rules (must have mobile or internet service).
The USA Hockey Playing Rules Casebook and other educational material can be found under the OFFICIALS tab at USAHockey.com.
Tag(s): Lester Patrick Award