skip navigation

2014 U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team Announced

By, 07/24/13, 8:55AM MDT


COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - USA Hockey announced today the 18-player roster for the U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team. The team was selected following a two-day tryout last week (July 19-20) that included 67 players in Williamsville, N.Y. The roster features 10 forwards, six defensemen and two goaltenders.

The 2014 Paralympic Winter Games will take place March 7-16 in Sochi, Russia. All sled hockey games will be played at Shayba Arena.

"We're incredibly pleased with the roster we have built for the 2014 Paralympic Games," said Dan Brennan, general manager of the U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team. "The talent pool in the U.S. has expanded rapidly in recent years, which made the selection of players very difficult."

"I am excited about the players we have selected," said Jeff Sauer, head coach of the U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team, who is in his third season leading the U.S. National Sled Hockey Team. "We have a great mix of Paralympic veterans as well as some younger players who are ready to take the next step internationally. "

Nine players return from the 2010 U.S. squad that captured the gold medal at the 2010 Paralympic Games in Vancouver, B.C. The list includes goaltender Steve Cash (Overland, Mo.), who was voted top goaltender of the 2010 Paralympic Games after not allowing a single goal in five games, and defenseman Taylor Chace (Hampton Falls, N.H.), who was named the best defenseman in Vancouver. Additional Paralympic veterans include defensemen Nikko Landeros (Johnstown, Colo.), Josh Pauls (Green Brook, N.J.) and Andy Yohe (Bettendorf, Iowa); and forwards Taylor Lipsett (Plano, Texas), Adam Page (Lancaster, N.Y.), Alexi Salamone (Buffalo, N.Y.) and Greg Shaw (Merritt Island, Fla.). Cash, Chace, Lipsett, Salamone and Yohe also received bronze medals at the 2006 Paralympic Games in Torino, Italy.

Sixteen players on the Paralympic roster were members of the 2012-13 U.S. National Sled Hockey Team that earned the silver medal at the 2013 International Paralympic Committee Sled Hockey World Championship. That list includes Tyler Carron (Fort Collins. Colo.), Declan Farmer (Tampa, Fla.), Jen Lee (San Francisco, Calif.), Dan McCoy (Cheswick, Pa.), Kevin McKee (Davenport, Iowa), Rico Roman (Portland, Ore.), Paul Schaus (Buffalo, N.Y.) and Josh Sweeney (Phoenix, Ariz.), in addition to Cash, Chace, Landeros, Lipsett, Page, Pauls, Salamone and Shaw.

NOTES: Team USA's roster will be trimmed to 17 players by Jan. 1, 2014, to conform to the Paralympic Games roster limit ... The U.S. roster is subject to approval of the United States Olympic Committee ... The youngest player on the roster is Brody Roybal (Northlake, Ill.), who turned 15-years old in May and is making his debut on a U.S. National Team. Declan Farmer is also 15-years old and will turn 16 in November ... The oldest player on the squad is Andy Yohe at 35-years old ... Four members of the team have served in the U.S. military. Jen Lee is active duty in the U.S. Army. Rico Roman is a U.S. Army veteran, while Paul Schaus and Josh Sweeney served in the U.S. Marine Corps ... Dan Brennan (Colorado Springs, Colo.), director of sled and inline national teams for USA Hockey, is serving as the general manager of the 2014 U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team ... Guy Gosselin (Grafton, Wis.), American Development Model regional manager for USA Hockey, is in his third season as an assistant coach for the U.S. National Sled Hockey Team ... Additional staff members include team physician Mike Uihlein (Grafton, Wis.), athletic trainer Mike Cortese (Boynton Beach, Fla.) and equipment manager Joel Isaacson (Houghton, Mich.).

More Olympic News

2014 U.S. Paralympic Sled Hockey Team

Back Row: Mike Cortese, Jeff Sauer, Dan Brennan, Guy Gosselin, Mike Uihlein, Joel Isaacson
Middle Row: Greg Shaw, Dan McCoy, Josh Pauls, Taylor Lipsett, Josh Sweeney, Taylor Chace, Rico Roman, Adam Page, Kevin McKee, Brody Roybal.
Front Row: Steve Cash, Paul Schaus, Nikko Landeros, Andy Yohe, Declan Farmer, Tyler Carron, Jen Lee.


Captain: Andy Yohe
Alternate Captains: Taylor Chace, Josh Sweeney


No. Name Height Weight Date of Birth Hometown Current Team
34 Steve Cash 5-7 150 1989-05-09 Overland, Mo. Disabled Athlete Sports Association St. Louis Blues
1 Jen Lee 6-2 185 1986-07-26 San Francisco, Calif. San Antonio Rampage


No. Name Height Weight Date of Birth Hometown Current Team
11 Tyler Carron 6-0 165 1989-05-11 Fort Collins, Colo. Colorado Avalanche
19 Taylor Chace 6-1 205 1986-05-09 Hampton Falls, N.H. Northeast Passage Wildcats
15 Nikko Landeros 6-1 185 1989-04-28 Johnstown, Colo. Colorado Avalanche
9 Andy Yohe 5-10 175 1978-07-21 Bettendorf, Iowa Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago Blackhawks


No. Name Height Weight Date of Birth Hometown Current Team
6 Declan Farmer 6-0 135 1997-11-05 Tampa, Fla. Tampa Bay Lightning
7 Taylor Lipsett 5-4 160 1987-01-02 Plano, Texas Dallas Stars
14 Dan McCoy 5-4 145 1994-01-24 Cheswick, Pa. Pittsburgh Penguins
18 Kevin McKee 4-7 115 1990-02-11 Davenport, Iowa Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago Blackhawks
20 Adam Page 5-6 170 1992-03-10 Lancaster, N.Y. Buffalo Sabres
27 Josh Pauls 5-8 135 1992-12-31 Green Brook, N.J. Disabled Athlete Sports Assoc. St. Louis Blues
23 Rico Roman 5-9 180 1981-02-04 Portland, Ore. San Antonio Rampage
4 Brody Roybal 3-1 120 1998-05-25 Northlake, Ill. Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago Blackhawks
28 Paul Schaus 5-7 155 1988-11-08 Buffalo, N.Y. Buffalo Sabres
8 Greg Shaw 3-0 105 1990-02-28 Merritt Island, Fla. Tampa Bay Lightning/Space Coast Hurricanes
13 Josh Sweeney 5-8 150 1987-06-06 Phoenix, Ariz. San Antonio Rampage


Position Name
General Manager Dan Brennan (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Head Coach Jeff Sauer (Madison, Wis.)
Assistant Coach Guy Gosselin (Grafton, Wis.)
Team Doctor Mike Uihlein (Grafton, Wis.)
Athletic Trainer Mike Cortese (Boynton Beach, Fla.)
Equipment Manager Joel Isaacson (Houghton, Mich.)
Manager, Communications Matt Trevor (Ann Arbor, Mich.)