skip navigation

Sled Team Edges Canada to Win Series

By USA Hockey, 02/19/13, 7:30AM MST

Share

ROCKLAND, Ont. – The U.S. National Sled Team defeated Canada, 2-1, today to win the three-game series at the Canadian International Hockey Academy Arena. Facing an early 1-0 deficit, Team USA responded with goals from Declan Farmer (Tampa, Fla.) and Joshua Sweeney (Phoenix, Ariz.) to take the lead by the end of the first period.

"We played a good all-around game, much like we did in Thursday's win," said Jeff Sauer, head coach of the U.S. National Sled Team. "We deserved to get the win. Steve Cash had two big saves for us, but besides that we limited Canada's scoring chances. Also, we stayed out of the penalty box."

Canada kicked off the scoring at 4:59 of the first period.

Farmer evened the game at a goal apiece less than three minutes after Canada's goal. He was assisted by Josh Pauls (Green Brook, N.J.) and Greg Shaw (Merritt Island, Fla.). At 11:41, Sweeney scored the game-winning goal on a feed from Paul Schaus (Buffalo, N.Y.).

Steve Cash (Overland, Mo.) made seven saves for the win, while his counterpart, Corbin Watson, stopped seven shots.

Team USA concludes the 2012-13 campaign at the 2013 International Paralympic Committee World Championship in Goyang City, Korea, April 12-20. The U.S. is the defending gold medalist from the 2012 IPC World Championship in Hamar, Norway.


Scoring By Period

Team    1    2    3    Total
USA    2    0    0    2
CAN    1    0    0    1
 
First Period – Scoring: 1, CAN, Rempel (Bridges), 4:59; 2, USA, Farmer (Pauls, Shaw), 7:28; 3, USA, Sweeney (Schaus), 11:41. Penalties: CAN, Block (interference), 0:50; USA, Salamone (roughing), 2:43.
Second Period – Scoring: None. Penalties: None.

Third Period – Scoring: None. Penalties: CAN, Bridges (roughing), 10:25.


Shots by Period

          1    2    3   Total
USA    3    2    4    9
CAN    5    1    2    8
                     
Goaltender (SH/SV)    1    2    3    Total
USA, Cash, 45:00    4/5    1/1    2/2    7/8
CAN, Watson, 44:34    1/3    2/2    4/4    7/9


Power Play: CAN 0-1; USA, 0-2
Penalties: CAN 2-4; USA, 1-2

Related News

Most Popular Articles

2022-23 ATO | WEEK 11

By USA Hockey Officiating Program 11/11/2022, 6:15am MST

THIS WEEK: High-Sticking...serving goalkeeper penalties...equipment...and more.

QUESTIONCan a referee call a High-Sticking penalty against a player if the player's stick hits the referee above the shoulder after the referee drops the puck during a face-off?

ANSWER: Officials cannot penalize accidental stick contact with a player, even if it results in an injury. However, any intentional attempt to injure an official or intentional injury of an official should result in a Match Penalty.

 

QUESTIONAre neck-guards and mouthpieces mandatory at 10U level?

ANSWER: Under the USA Hockey Youth Playing Rules, mouthpieces and neck-guards are not required equipment at the 10U level. However, leagues and hockey associations are entitled to strengthen equipment rules with approval by the local governing USA Hockey Affiliate. Therefore, we encourage you to check to see if any additional rules apply in your games.

 

QUESTION: Team A is shorthanded, and Team B is called for a penalty but play continues because Team B has not touched the puck. During this time, Team A scores. Is the penalty called on Team B wiped out as it would be if the teams were at even strength?

ANSWER: In this situation, the Team B penalty (assuming it is a minor) is recorded but not served. Play resumes 5 v. 4.

 

QUESTIONIn a U10 game, a penalty is assessed to the attacking team. Due ti an officials' error, the face-off is not moved outside the attacking zone. The attacking team scores, and the coach notifies officials of their error. The officials disallow the goal and have ensuing face-off in neutral zone. Is it correct for the goal to be disallowed on the officials error?

ANSWER: Due to the fact that this goal resulted after a face-off location error by the officials, the goal must be allowed.

 

QUESTIONIf a goalkeeper and an opposing player receive coincident minor penalties does someone have to serve the penalty time for the goalkeeper even though it’s a coincident minor?

ANSWER: The “spirit and intent” of the Goalkeeper Penalty rules (Rule 407) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules is the offending team must lose a player when a goalkeeper commits an infraction. Therefore, despite the fact that the two minors are coincidental and result in immediate substitution (play resumes 5 v. 5), the offending team must still place a substitute player (who must be one of the players on the ice at the time of the infraction) in the penalty bench to return at the first stoppage after two minutes.

 

The USA Hockey Playing Rules are now available as a mobile device app! Check your Apple, Android, or Windows app store to download this playing rule app free of charge.

Check out the USA Hockey mobile-friendly online rulebook application! Enter usahockeyrulebook.com into your mobile device’s web browser to gain instant access to the USA Hockey Playing Rules (must have mobile or internet service).

The USA Hockey Playing Rules Casebook and other educational material can be found under the OFFICIALS tab at USAHockey.com.

Bouncing Bullies From The Game Is A Team Effort

By Christie Casciano Burns (USA Hockey Magazine) 10/18/2022, 12:00pm MDT

October in National Bullying Prevention Month, a time to focus and raise awareness on bullying.

Skating a Mile in an Official's Stripes

By Michael Doyle 11/11/2022, 11:00am MST

How USA Hockey is bridging the gap between coaches and officials.