skip navigation

2022-23 ATO | WEEK 15

By USA Hockey Officiating, 12/09/22, 6:00AM MST


QUESTIONThe goalie is out of position and has accidentally left his stick in the crease parallel to the goal line. The puck is lying in the crease between the goalie stick and the goal line. An attacking player hits the goalie stick with his stick, the goalie stick hits the puck, and the puck crosses the goal line and enters the net. The attacking player never touches the puck with his stick. Is this a legal goal?

ANSWERThis is obviously a very difficult question to ask without seeing the play firsthand. However, assuming the puck is located in the goal crease and the defending player’s stick is located near the puck, then the position you present would be a legal goal. The attacking team has every right to attempt to score and the fact that a defending player left a stick laying in the crease does not take away that right. Otherwise, what would prevent a goalkeeper from just dropping his stick during every scramble?

Conversely, if the stick is located somewhere in the slot area and an attacking player knocks the stick at the puck which then knocks the puck into the goal, then that goal would be disallowed.


QUESTION: After the game is over and players are doing the handshake line, are players and goalies required to keep their helmet on?

ANSWER: All players and officials are required to wear their helmets from the time they step onto the ice to the time they step off.


QUESTION: Team A #5 takes a shot, and a defending player a stops the shot with a high-stick but does not gain possession. The puck goes to Team A #8 who takes a shot and scores. Does Team A #5 get an assist for the goal?

ANSWER: In general, assists are awarded for plays that directly contribute to a goal (a pass, a shot that leads to a rebound, etc.). It’s difficult to answer your question without seeing the play first-hand, however a random shot that was blocked by a defending player (after which another attacker picked up the puck and scored) probably would not constitute an assist.


QUESTIONIn the case of Boarding (Rule 603), does the net (goal posts and netting) constitute the same area of the rink as the boards? For example, if a player deliberately propels a vulnerable opponent, not in possession of the puck, dangerously into the goal (post and netting) would this be considered to be "Boarding"?

ANSWER: Since the definition of Boarding actually includes the specific wording “into the boards”, the goal frame could not be included in this rule. However, a player that is checked in a way that dangerously sends them into the goal frame could be considered Charging depending on the degree of force.


QUESTIONCan you explain a warding penalty? I play in a men's no-check B league.

ANSWER: There are no “warding” penalties in the USA Hockey Playing Rules. However, all players at the Adult Level are expected to adhere to the USA Hockey Playing Rules pertaining to Body Contact vs. Body Checking.


The USA Hockey Playing Rules are now available as a mobile device app! Check your Apple, Android, or Windows app store to download this playing rule app free of charge.

Check out the USA Hockey mobile-friendly online rulebook application! Enter into your mobile device’s web browser to gain instant access to the USA Hockey Playing Rules (must have mobile or internet service).

The USA Hockey Playing Rules Casebook and other educational material can be found under the OFFICIALS tab at