This week’s features: Team officials...Suspensions...Goalkeepers changing positions...and more.
QUESTION: If a game misconduct penalty is called during a single-elimination tournament and the penalized team advances to the next round, when should the one game suspension be imposed (the suspension should or should not be imposed during the next game of the tournament)?
ANSWER: If a player is assessed a game misconduct during a tournament, and the “next scheduled game” for that team is the “next round” game that they qualify for during the tournament, then that player must serve his/her suspension during the next game of the tournament. The “spirit and intent” of the game misconduct suspension rule is a team may not schedule a “placebo game” mid-schedule to allow a player to serve a suspension to avoid having to suspend him during the next “actual” game on the schedule.
QUESTION: Can managers be on the bench during games?
ANSWER: Rule 201.b in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states:
“A team may have up to four Team Officials on the players’ bench. Only players in uniform and properly rostered Team Officials may occupy the players’ bench.”
Therefore, a Team Manager may occupy the team bench as long as they are a registered member of USA Hockey, and they do count toward the total allowed team officials.
QUESTION: The play was in our defensive zone, when a player from the other team fell & stayed down. We started to break out of our end-zone but the ref blew the whistle because he saw the kid down. They stopped play, the kid jumped up, still wanted to play , but had to go to the bench. I felt that since we were breaking out of the zone (but not out of the zone yet) not impeded, the draw should have moved one zone. Where is the puck dropped for the draw?
ANSWER: Rule 612(c) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,
“When a stoppage of play occurs as the result of any action by the attacking team in the attacking zone, the ensuing face-off will take place at the nearest neutral zone face-off spot, unless the stoppage was a result of a shot going directly out of play off of the goal post or crossbar.”
If the puck was located in your defending zone when play was stopped for an injured attacking player, then the face-off should be located in the Neutral Zone. Otherwise, if the puck was in the Neutral Zone when play was stopped then it becomes a “last play” face-off situation (closest face-off spot).
QUESTION: I have a conflict of interest question: My son plays on the Santa Rosa Flyers Mites team. He would like to join the Vacaville Jets In House program to get extra ice time. Is there a conflict of interest if he starts to skate for the In House team?
ANSWER: Unfortunately, we cannot answer this question since it does not specifically regard the USA Hockey Playing Rules. We encourage you to contact your District or State Registrar (through your local hockey association) with this question. Registrars are responsible for tracking all team rosters and player eligibility in their respective areas.
QUESTION: During a game can a 10U goalie change pads between periods and play forward? For example: a goalie changed jersey numbers and gear to play in the third period after being in the net for the first two. When the game has begun do you need to stay in the same position for the entire game or can you go back and forth between goalie and playing out?
ANSWER: Strictly speaking, the USA Hockey Playing Rules (which were written in the spirit of top-level competition) do not allow a goalkeeper to switch to a skater position during a game. However, in the spirit of ADM Hockey and goalkeeper development programs at the grassroots level it’s possible for local hockey associations to allow this practice assuming your local USA Hockey Affiliate approves. We recommend you bring this question to your local hockey association and Affiliate for more information.
Download the USA Hockey Mobile Rulebook App to your mobile device from your app store today!
Tag(s): Ask the Official