skip navigation

2020-21 ATO SEASON: WEEK 5

By USA Hockey, 10/02/20, 6:00AM MDT

Share

QUESTION: Do high schools follow USA Hockey rules?

ANSWER: While USA Hockey does sanction many High School hockey teams, many teams are also governed by the National Federation of High Schools and your local state high school athletic association and would not fall under USA Hockey jurisdiction.

 

QUESTION: What is the rule for a referee, if they were to antagonize or have words with a spectator in the stands?

ANSWERUSA Hockey Officials are instructed to never interact with spectators. If an official in your area displayed poor behavior that falls outside the USAH Officiating Code-of-Conduct you may report the behavior to your Local Supervisor of Officials. Contact information can be found by using the Officiating Directory link under the OFFICIALS tab at USAHockey.com.

 

QUESTION: A 10U player gets five penalties in one game (4 tripping and 1 cross-check). Does he get a game misconduct penalty?

ANSWERRule 401(b) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,
 
“Any player, except in Adult age classifications, who receives five penalties in the same game shall be assessed a game misconduct penalty. Any Adult player who receives five penalties in the same game shall be immediately ejected for the remainder of the game with no further suspension.”

 

QUESTION: A team who is winning gets a power-play. They take the puck behind their own net and do not move the puck for the entire two minute penalty. I think play should have been stopped and a face-off called for failing to keep the puck in motion. What is the proper call?

ANSWERThere is no rule in the USA Hockey Playing Rules that mandates a team must advance the puck up the ice. However, there is also no rule that prevents a team from executing a fore-check to force a player to leave from behind their own goal.

 

QUESTION: A goalie makes a play to cover a loose puck in front of the net and a skater makes a play to poke the puck into the net. The goalie covers the puck and the player makes contact right as the goalie covers the puck. Should this be penalized as a slash or since it was almost simultaneous or is it just a stoppage? There was no significant force with the poke or violent nature in the player's motion.

ANSWERAn attacking player may not make contact with the goalkeeper who is positioned in the crease. While the contact may not be malicious, players are not allowed to slash or poke any other opponent and the goalkeeper is not an exception.