skip navigation

2020-21 ATO SEASON: WEEK 1

By USA Hockey, 09/04/20, 6:00AM MDT

Share

QUESTION: Is there any infraction when after clearing the puck a defender has the shaft of his stick in contact with an attacker's stick and is keeping his stick on the ice. The attacker cannot easily move his stick due to the contact of the defender's stick. The attacker can skate unimpeded, but wants to move his stick.

ANSWER: Other than using strength and skating skills to legally gain position on the ice (i.e. in front of the goal), a player should not engage in any body contact with an opponent who does not have possession of the puck. Otherwise, Interference may be called.

 

QUESTION: How many online seminar video modules do you have to do?

ANSWERAll officials are required to complete Online Seminar Modules each season. When you sign into the system, the instructions indicate that there are several Course Categories to complete (General, Positioning, etc.) and each category has a certain number of modules within it to complete the category. In some cases, you must complete all modules, and in other categories you must complete a certain number of the menu (e.g. 5 of 8).
 
Once all Course Categories are complete, all the Category progress bars should be highlighted in green and a “Congratulations” message will appear at the Main Course page.

NOTE: All returning Level 3 and returning Level 4 officials may fast-forward through NON-REQUIRED video modules to access the quiz. If they pass the quiz, they are not required to watch the video.

 

QUESTIONPlease clarify the criteria for intentional off-sides when the puck is shot on net in an off-sides play.

ANSWER: Situation #30 in the USAH Playing Rule Case Book states,
 

"Team A has a power play and is passing the puck around in their Attacking Zone. The puck is passed back to the point and the Team A defenseman cannot handle it as the puck trickles completely outside the zone. The Team A defenseman, in a last ditch effort to keep the puck in the Attacking Zone, dives for the puck and hits it back into the Attacking Zone with three of his teammates deeper than the tops of the face-off circles. Is this situation an intentional off- sides?
 
No. Rule References 630(c & Note).
 
If the defenseman has made an honest effort to keep the puck in the Attacking Zone, but cannot, and in doing so happens to create an off-side infraction, intentional off-sides has not occurred and a normal delayed off-side shall be in effect."

 

QUESTION: An offensive player in possession of the puck is racing to the net with a defender trailing him. The offensive player makes a hard cut across the front of the goal immediately in front of the crease. The offensive player loses his edge (due to no action by the defensive player) and slides hard into the goalkeeper dislodging the goal (he did not get a shot off). Should a penalty for interference be called for an unavoidable collision with the goalkeeper?

ANSWERRule 607(c) & (d) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,
 
“(c) A minor plus a misconduct or a major plus a game misconduct penalty shall be assessed to a player who body checks or charges a goalkeeper while the goalkeeper is within his goal crease or privileged area.
 
(d) A goalkeeper is NOT “fair game” because he is outside his privileged area. A penalty for interference or charging should be called in every case where an opposing player makes unnecessary contact with a goalkeeper. Likewise, Referees should be alert to penalize goalkeepers for any infractions they commit in the vicinity of the goal.
 
(Note 1) For the purpose of this rule, any accidental or unavoidable contact that occurs with the goalkeeper shall be penalized under the Interference rule. Any deliberate body contact or check that is delivered to the goalkeeper shall be penalized as Charging.”
 
An attacking player is always responsible for maintaining control of themselves, and cannot make reckless contact with the goalkeeper.

 

QUESTION: How do I get an additional/replacement USA Hockey Referee Sweater Crest? I have another sweater I'd like to sew it onto.

ANSWERAll USA Hockey Officials may purchase an additional or replacement Crest by following the instructions posted below,
 
Please send a check or money order for five dollars ($5.00), payable to "USA Hockey Officiating Program" to:
 

USA Hockey Inc.
Attn: Helen Fenlon
1775 Bob Johnson Drive
Colorado Springs, CO  80906
 
Please add a letter of request that includes:

- Your USA Hockey Officiating Number

- Your mailing address​​​​​​​

- Contact information (email, phone #, etc.)

 
PLEASE DO NOT SEND CASH. Addition
ally, there is no online process and we will not accept credit card information. Once we receive your request and replacement fee we will be happy to send you a new Crest.