skip navigation

2019-20 ATO Season: Week 19

By USA Hockey, 01/10/20, 6:00AM MST

Share

QUESTION: Can an attacking player in the offensive zone wave his arms in front of the opposing goalie while a teammate shoots the puck from the point?

ANSWER: A player may not stand in front of the goalkeeper and waive his arms. A minor penalty for Unsportsmanlike Conduct should be assessed (USAH Rule 601(a)2).


QUESTION: A midget player is assessed a major-game misconduct for head contact. 5:00 minutes later while off the ice, the ejected player is telling the ref he sucks through the space of the board glass at the exit door. Can the team or the ejected player receive a penalty for this action?

ANSWER: A player may not continue to abuse the game officials after they have been ejected (USAH Rule 601(c)2). The Misconduct would quickly become a Game Misconduct (USAH 601(e)1).


QUESTION: Face-off Location? One team had position during dual-delayed penalty in O-zone Refs stop play for other team injury - RULE 206(a) Refs did Neutral Zone face-off & Later told me the face-off is based on the stoppage, and injury stoppage dictated neutral zone face-off. Afterwards I looked it up for more clarification - could not confirm their answer RULE612(b) tells me it should be a "last play" face-off along boards in o-zone Where is the face-off?

ANSWER: If there is a delayed penalty on the defending team, and play is stopped due to an injured attacking player. The face-off would be located in the neutral zone (USAH Rule 612(c))
 
If the team are reversed (attacking team penalty & defending team injury), the face-off is still located in the neutral zone (USAH Rule 612(c)).



QUESTION: Can a player be penalized for accidentally high-sticking an official?

ANSWER: No, unfortunately the High Sticking Rules do not provide a penalty option for accidental stick contact with an official.


QUESTION: An attacking player unintentionally enters the defending team's net (fully in the net, no contact with the crease or goal line). Immediately after, a shot is taken on net by the attacking team. The puck hits the goalie and lands in the crease. The attacking player comes out the net and into the crease, without making any contact with the goalie, and shoots the puck into the goal. Does the goal stand?

ANSWER: Assuming the attacking player does not interfere with the goalkeeper at any time during this sequence of events, this goal should be allowed. The goal crease does not extend into the actual goal area, and since the puck is located in the goal crease when the attacking player entered the goal crease, the player does not violate any rule.