QUESTION: Face off Location - Team A has the puck in their attacking zone, a team A players is injured in a collision, team A has possession of the puck below the face-off circle when the whistle blows for the injured player. Is the face off a last played location or is it moved out to the neutral zone?
ANSWER: In this situation, the face-off would be moved to the neutral zone since Team A cased a stoppage in their Attacking end zone.
QUESTION: I am a 12U goalie parent. What is USA Hockey's policy and/or rules regarding goalie contact while in the crease? For example, if an attacking player goes hard to the net, but accidentally collides with goalie in the crease.
ANSWER: Rule 607(c) & (d) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,
“A minor plus a misconduct or a major plus a game misconduct penalty shall be assessed to a player who body checks or charges a goalkeeper while the goalkeeper is within his goal crease or privileged area.
(d) A goalkeeper is NOT “fair game” because he is outside his privileged area. A penalty for interference or charging should be called in every case where an opposing player makes unnecessary contact with a goalkeeper. Likewise, Referees should be alert to penalize goalkeepers for any infractions they commit in the vicinity of the goal.
(Note 1) For the purpose of this rule, any accidental or unavoidable contact that occurs with the goalkeeper shall be penalized under the Interference rule. Any deliberate body contact or check that is delivered to the goalkeeper shall be penalized as Charging.
(Note 2) The goalkeeper’s “Privileged Area” is an area outlined by connecting the end zone face-off spots with an imaginary line and imaginary lines from each face-off spot running perpendicular to the end boards.”
QUESTION: I have my 9 year old daughter signed up under Squirts and the local board is trying to force all girls to form a 10u girls team. This is not what I want for my daughter. I feel like we are being discriminated against and want to know our rights. This is the only age group they are doing this too. We also don't have any 10U teams around us and really limits our games if forced to play 10U.
ANSWER: Unfortunately, we cannot answer this question at this forum since it does not regard the actual Playing Rules of USA Hockey. We recommend contacting your ADM Regional Manager or USA Hockey Youth/Girls Department Staff with this question. Contact information can be found by using the National Staff Directory under the ABOUT tab at USAHockey.com.
QUESTION: Question about the player eligible to serve the minor on a 2+10 penalty call. As I read the rulebook it is unclear if the player who is designated to serve the minor must be a player who was on the ice at the time of the infraction or any player other than a goalie as designated by the coach. My read of the rule book leads me to believe the player designated to serve the minor does not need to be a player who was on the ice. Can you clarify?
ANSWER: If a player receives a Minor and Misconduct penalty he must serve the entire twelve minutes (2+10) consecutively. The additional player (who may be any non-penalized player who is not a goalkeeper) his team must place in the box is serving the shorthanded time (not the Minor itself). Since the Minor penalty must be served first (and posted on the penalty clock) the additional player is in the box so their team will have someone available to leave the penalty box and enter the game at the end of the Minor.
If the opposing team scores during the shorthanded Minor penalty time, the Minor is immediately terminated and the Misconduct penalty begins. In other words, the player who received the penalties will be released at the first whistle after ten minutes after the goal.
QUESTION: The puck is shot by the defending team from their defending half of the ice and is deflected off the stick of the of opposing team before the red line. Is icing still in effect?
ANSWER: Rule 624(b)4 in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,
“(b) Icing shall be nullified if any of the following conditions have been met:
Tag(s): Ask the Official