skip navigation

2019-20 ATO Season: Week 10

By USA Hockey, 11/08/19, 6:00AM MST

Share

QUESTION: For off ice officials...mainly scorekeepers and penalty box attendants...the latest rules I have are from 2011. What are the rule around coaching players, complaining to refs, etc.

ANSWER: You may find a copy of the current USA Hockey Playing Rules either by going to the Rulebook & Resource page of the OFFICIALS section of USAHockey.com or by entering USAHockeyRuleBook.com into your computer or mobile device browser.


QUESTION: During play, a player whose team does not have possession of the puck trips an opponent. The referee shall signal a delayed penalty and assess it upon the player's team gaining possession and control of the puck. True or False?

ANSWER: If a player commits a penalty infraction and his/her team does not have possession and control of the puck, the referee shall signal a delayed penalty call by raise their arm. Once the offending team secures possession and control of the puck, play shall be stopped, and the penalty shall be assessed.


QUESTION: Adult, non-check hockey league. A goalie is playing in their crease. An opposing player, attempting to screen a shot from the goalie's view, establishes position between the goalie and the puck carrier. Also, the opposing player's skates are inside the goalie's crease. What action may the goalie take to "establish their position" in order to make the save?

ANSWER: A goalkeeper is not entitled to any type of body contact with an opponent just because that opponent enters his goal crease. The playing rules are strict that attacking players must stay out of the goal crease and may not instigate any contact with the goalkeeper. Otherwise an Interference, Charging or other type of penalty should be assessed to the attacking player, or the play should be stopped and the face-off shall be moved out to the neutral zone if a crease violation occurs.
 
The goalkeeper is held to the same standard in regard to body contact. Knocking an attacking player over or physically interfering with his ability to move should result in a penalty.



QUESTION: Player A1 receives his 5th penalty in the 2nd period. The officiating crew is unaware of this until he is assessed a minor penalty midway through the third period. Between the time he incurred his 5th and 6th penalties he assisted on a game tying goal. What should be done at this point?

ANSWER: In this case the goal shall stand due to the officials’ error in not noticing the fifth penalty. The player shall be assessed the proper Game Misconduct and removed from the game, and the team must place a non-penalized player in the penalty bench to serve the sixth minor penalty.


QUESTION: When a player receives a minor penalty plus a misconduct (i.e. hit from behind plus a 10 minute for head contact) does that count as 1 penalty against a team’s total or does it count at 2 penalties?

ANSWER: A “Minor plus Misconduct”, “Major plus Game Misconduct” or “Double Minor” all count as two penalties in regard to the Five Penalties or 15 Penalties rules (Rule 401) in the USA Hockey Rule Book.