QUESTION: Is there anywhere in the USA rule book that mentions a penalty for "spraying the goalie?
ANSWER: You will not find the term, “spraying the goalkeeper” in the USA Hockey Rule Book. However, this type of behavior would be penalized under Rule 601(a)2 (Taunting an opponent).
QUESTION: Team A and Team B each have one player in the penalty box for minor penalties, but they occurred at different times (so they are NOT coincidental minors). Teams are playing at equal strength (4 on 4). Team A scores a goal. Does this release the player in the penalty box for Team B? I am confused because while the minor penalties are not coincidental, the teams are skating at equal strength. I thought that meant no penalty can terminate.
ANSWER: Rule 402(c) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,
“If the opposing team scores a goal while a team is shorthanded (below the on ice numerical strength of its opponent at the time of the goal) by one or more minor penalties, one of such penalties shall automatically terminate. The penalty that terminates automatically is the first minor or bench minor penalty (non-coincidental) then being served by the “shorthanded” team. This rule shall not
apply when a goal is scored on a penalty shot or an awarded goal.”
4 v. 4 is not “shorthanded” on-ice strength.
QUESTION: A player has possession of the puck and is skating into the opponent’s zone but prior to entering the zone he transitions to skating backwards. He has possession of the puck but his skates and body enter (pass the blue line) the zone before the puck, is this off-sides?
ANSWER: A player is not off-side if they have “possession and control” of the puck and their skates cross the attacking blue line prior to the puck (bringing the puck into the attacking zone with them). However, they must have “possession and control” first before crossing the blue line.
QUESTION: In a youth game for goaltender substitution what if any signal is appropriate for use to signify that a goaltender change is happening.
ANSWER: The Rear Referee (Two-Official) or Rear Linesman (Three or Four-Official) should watch the goalkeeper substitution while pointing his/her non-whistle hand at the substituting goalkeeper. Once the legal substitution is complete, the official shall drop his/her arm. Please refer to Change of Players in the Basic Officiating Manual.
QUESTION: In an adult game. the puck is shot off the goalie into the glass and is now coming down in front of the goal. An offensive player puts his stick way above his shoulders in an attempt to play the puck. The referee says the puck hit his glove then his arm went to a teammate on the other side of the goal who puts it in the net. Goal, no goal?? High stick, hand pass, or or none of the above? Referee said goal, I said why were his stick and hands up there unless to direct the puck?
ANSWER: There is no real objective way for us to make this call without witnessing the play first hand.
That being stated, “directing” the puck is a result of a player moving the puck in a desired direction with intent. A “deflection” happens when the puck simply changes direction by striking some part of a player’s body.
Tag(s): Ask the Official